Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline

Random House, Inc Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline

Three years ago, author Janet Holm McHenry, suffered from depression, weight gain, and exhaustion. Then she began a prayerwalk routine that not only transformed her life but also profoundly impacted the lives of those around her. Learn how you, too, can set out on a journey to increased energy, better health, and greater joy - and experience a rich, full prayer ministry that will have a lasting impact on your loved ones and community - in PrayerWalk.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Review 1 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

New Motivation

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MLE
Location:WY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Are you a "walker" who has lost your "get-up-and-go" spirit? Maybe the motivation you are seeking is combining your prayer life with that time spent walking! Janet Holm McHenry's chronicle of her own journey to a stronger life of prayer has helped make my own walking time more enjoyable and productive. As God leads me deeper in my relationship with Him, I want to take every opportunity to strengthen my prayer life and this book has definitely been a tool to help me do just that!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Let's Get Moving!

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Reader
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let's get moving! If you enjoy walking in the Spirit (literally) you will enjoy this book. This book combines two of my favorite activities: being in the presence of God and exercising. What a joy it is learn ways to combine these two activities for a richer and stronger faith life. You will learn the basics of how to get started in developing a prayer walking routine. It is both informative and encouraging to all levels of athletes. Be inspired to be the Prayer Warrior that you have always wanted to be...read this book today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A guide to PrayerWalking

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Struggling to find time to prayer? Getting distracted by your everyday list of things you need to do? Feeling bad because you aren't active enough, wanting to stay healthy and fit? Janey Holm McHenry has the perfect combination, start Prayer-Walking. Taking the time out of your day to walk and enjoy nature and at the same time pray and strengthen your Christian walk.
In the book PrayerWalk, McHenry has created a guide on how to go about starting to prayerwalk. Everything from stretching, considering a partner, where to prayerwalk to what to pray for and how to determine the best time for you to get away. McHenry has also added stories of personal experience and stories from others who have joined her in prayer-walking.
I really liked the idea of this book, but was looking for something a little more in depth and how to become a women of prayer and strength. This book felt more like a health book at times, although your heart rate and to not over exert yourself physically and making sure you are stretching are all important aspects of prayerwalking I was hoping for more of a focus on the prayer part of the exercise.
However, the newer edition of this book includes a thirty day fitness challenge, guides to organizing a community prayer walk as well as a Bible Study and discussion guide I was hoping these would be more of the focus of the book rather than an addendum attached to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring!

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How many of us have made New Year's resolutions that we didn't keep with regards to eating healthier, losing weight and praying more? I know I am guilty as charged. Well, if you are like me, then this book is definitely for you.
This book can be called an instruction guide on praying and walking. Janet Holm McHenry really does a superb job in thoroughly describing the benefits of praying and walking in her book.
She begins with a motivating, "If I Can Do It, You Can Do it." She describes her personal struggle with depression and her overall health. She explains that she needed to make a change, by exercising and also spending more time in prayer. So she decided to incorporate both by ''Prayer Walking".
She then tackles the old adage, "I have no time or there isn't enough time..." This really stood out for me because I really don't have much time. But after reading the following excerpt, I realized I had no excuse, "The problem for us Christians is that we often can get so entrenched and busied by many good things--even things done in Christ's name--that these good things actually distract us from the Lord and what he would want us to do." So true.
Janet Holm McHenry touches on the why, what, when, where and how of prayer walking. I guarantee you that after you finish reading this book, you will find yourself wanting to find the time to walk and pray. I can say that as a result of reading this book, I too started to implement what I learned from this book. I am now praying while walking to and from work in the morning and evening. I'm realizing it's a great time to pray and intercede for my city and community.
I want to say thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah for sending me a complimentary copy to review. I am so grateful to have read this book, it is truly a gem!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chelle
Location:Billings, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a lot like Janet Holm McHenry was. She had a hard time motivating herself to even get out of bed. She was out of shape. And her spiritual life was stagnant. When she decided to walk around her neighborhood every morning and incorporate prayer into her morning walks, her life turned around.
PrayerWalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline is a great little read with two parts. The first part is all about reasons for exercising and ways to motivate yourself to get out and walk - just what I needed. The second part is all about why we need to pray, and tips for beginners and experienced pray-ers. Also, this book is peppered with personal experiences as a means of encouragement - if she can do it, so can I!
This book is a great little read with valuable tips and Biblical prayers. I am looking forward to implementing her suggestions soon, as I now plan to prayerwalk a few times a week too.
FTC Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Humorous, Motivational, and Easy to Read

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Holyjeans
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I finally got a chance to open up my copy of Prayer Walk. What a better time to do that than on my treadmill ;). I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and it was such an easy, flowing read that it only took me 3 treadmill sessions.
Janet McHenry found a way to kill 2 birds with one stone. Mind you, I know this concept of praying and walking is nothing new, and people have been doing it for quite some time I'm sure, however, she keeps you interested with her humor, and her little stories along the way.
Janet does a great job of setting the reader up to prepare, mentor, motivate, and encourage you to keep going in your prayer walk. She first shares how and why she began prayer walking, and it's not a story too far from my own life actually, and many many women.
In Part 1, McHenry will share her reasons for prayer walking, benefits of walking and praying, and doing both together. She shares all of her excuses she gave herself for not following through with prayer walking and also shares ways to help reduce any aches and pains, along with finding prayer walk parnters.
In Part 2, she gives little bits of lessons, and answered prayers she received from her "Personal Trainer" during her walks, and she shares stories of how she believes her prayers began being answered not just through her praying over her own family, but also the people in her town that she would see on her daily walks.
Janet has generously added a few helpful sections including:
Study Guide for all chapters
Resources on walking
30 Day Prayer Challenge
How to Organize a Community Powerwalk
I gave this book a 4 star rating because of Janet's ability to keep me reading with her humor, and touching stories and explanations. Even though her ideas are nothing new, or unexpected, it's still a good book to read. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone needing a little motivation in the area of getting healthy physically as well as spiritually.
I received this book at no cost to review from Water Brook Press. This in no way sways my opinion of the book as the review posted is honest and true to my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great prayer guide

Date:July 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What challenges your body, feeds your spirit and changes the world all at the same time? Are you frustrated by your failed efforts to exercise regularly and spending regular, uninterrupted time in prayer? Janet Holm McHenry found a way to trim her waistline and bulk up her prayer time through the simple experience of prayerwalking.
In her book, “PrayerWalk”, McHenry outlines the physical and spiritual benefits of a daily walk spent in prayer for others. After suffering from depression, weight gain and exhaustion, she discovered a routine that changed her life as well as the lives of those around her. She began walking around her neighborhood and downtown area praying for neighbors, business owners and government leaders. She began noticing her weight decrease, her mood uplifted and her town revived.
Her book will motivate you to get up and get walking. She will inspire you to stop thinking of yourself and start focusing on the needs of others and your community. Also included in her book is a study guide and a 30-day challenge as well as a how-to guide on organizing a community prayerwalk event.
Take a walk with your Personal Trainer—get in better physical, mental and physical shape.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Waterbrook Press, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nothing Unexpected

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
avid reader
Location:Ephrata, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read PrayerWalk in three days, so it's an easy read. It was mostly what I expected. Janet Holm McHenry began walking in the mornings for exercise and to allow herself time to spend in prayer with God.
She talks about the blessings she has witnessed and received from the prayers she prays while walking. She offers good advice on prayer and Bible reading.
She offers advice on good walking shoes, safety and stretching and walking. She talks about the self-discipline needed to doing a prayerwalk and talks about the elements you will need to face and the possible sacrifices you will need to make to become a faithful prayerwalker.
It was a good, inspiring book. I just didn't find any surprises.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A guide to the prayerwalking

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Milledegeville, Ga
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PrayerWalking: A Book Review
Have you ever felt like you prayer life was lacking commitment and zeal? Most people do during certain seasons of there spiritual lives, people like Janet Holm McHenry. McHenry, author of PrayerWalk, was at a point in her life where she felt like she was dragging spiritually and physically. At the end of her ropes and tired of failing at being disciplined, McHenry settled her mind on rising an hour early every morning to prayerwalk unaware of the changes in her body and spirit that were to follow.
Her focus in the beginning of her prayerwalking program was her family. As she continued to walk day after day, both her physical and spiritual eyes were open to the needs in her small community. Her prayers grew to include strongholds of drug and alcohol in her community, people she met on the roads, local schools, public figures, and more. With each chapter in PrayerWalk, it is evident that her prayers have developed depth. She tells of her experiences negative and positive, from fear of the dark roads to a new level of intimacy with God. When PrayerWalk concludes, the reader has been educated about necessary information to help them make prayerwalking a daily part of their lives.
I would recommend McHenry's PrayerWalk for anyone who wants to develop his prayer life and the health of his body. There were chapters of the book that I found boring, only because walking has been a part of my exercise routine for years. The sections focused on healthy walking was a little below my level, but it would be necessary for some readers. It was the second half of the book that discussed the Spiritual rewards from prayerwalking, which was a wonderful read. Along with truth and encouragement, the personal stories sprinkled throughout the book added a lot of character to the book. As a whole, I would suggest reading PrayerWalk. It will challenge and encourage any reader.
*I was given a free copy of Janet Holm McHenry's PrayerWalk by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Walk with God.

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
amomwithablog
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PrayerWalk by Janet Holm McHenry is a great book if you're thinking of prayerwalking for yourself. This is something I've wanted to do for a while now, and have done occasionally... but I'm glad I had the chance to read the book before I made a commitment. There is so much to think about. Not that you have to be a perfectionist or anything... it's not a list of to-do's... just that the book gives great tips and good advice before beginning. Such as; bringing water, what shoes to wear, clothing, safety, and prayer. Great advice on prayer.
The author shares her personal experiences of her first years of PrayerWalking. She explains in detail the benefits, physically and spiritually, as well as the challenges. This is not a book that just says "Now get out there and do it!", the author has done her research. And much of her knowledge comes first hand.
I enjoyed reading this book. It has motivated me. I was reading another book about walking WITH God, not ahead or behind, so when I saw this book.... I knew it was my answer to prayer. I'm ready for a deeper prayer life... I'm ready to walk with God.
*Thanks to WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing for providing me with a free copy of this book for my honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Colman
Excellent motivational resource. I love the challenging insights and practical details shared in a "friend to friend" style.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2002
Customer Avatar
Diane
This is an excellent book! It's inspiring, and makes you excited to get out there and do it. I've been prayer walking now for 12 days, and I don't even call it exercise, I call it my time with the Lord. And I walk between one hour and an hour and a half daily. If you are looking for a book on exercise, THIS is the best book there is because it combines prayer and exercise together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2002
Customer Avatar
Rebecca B. Jordan
In Prayerwalk, Janet offers encouragement, inspiration, Biblical support, and productive fitness helps to challenge anyone's health and prayer life. Janet doesn't have to persuade you to change your spiritual disciplines--her example gently but convincingly nudges you in the right direction. She covers it all: the necessary spiritual, physical, and mental tips for growing deeper in this vital exercise and privilege of prayer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2002
Customer Avatar
Georgia Shaffer
If you want to make a difference in the lives of others and your own wellness - read PrayerWalk. I read the book out of curiosity not expecting to actually do what Janet Hom McHenry was suggesting. However, I was pulled in by her story and the facts she offered. I now PrayerWalk!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2001
Customer Avatar
Fran Caffey Sandin
As a healthcare professional, I am always on the lookout for a goodbook. PrayerWalk is a motivational tool to get folks on their feet physically and on their knees (so to speak) spiritually.Janet McHenry's inspiring testimony, tips, and interesting stories will make even the skeptical join the move toward greater physical,mental, emotional and spiritual health. I highly recommendPrayerWalk!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Prayerwalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2001
Customer Avatar
Dayle Shockley
If youre looking for a lot of fluff, this book is not for you. But if you are genuinely wanting to become a disciplined person, physically and spiritually, you will find the tools for becoming so in PrayerWalk. The author doesnt promise you it will be easynothing worth having ever isbut it all starts with one small step. The prayer helps and ideas offered in this book are invaluable. Janet McHenry shows you how to pray specific prayers, and get specific answers. Youll learn how to pray for your children, for your community, for your friends, even for your enemies, all while getting into shape. Knowing that, why wouldnt you want this book?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.