Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black

Hendrickson Publishers ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black

This Bible perfectly complements the work or pastors and counselors; those engaged in the work of pastoral care, lay leaders—indeed, anyone active in the spectrum of Christian service. It offers those who minister a unique, unparalleled collection of resources, including a practical guide to visitation; sample services for weddings, baptisms, and funerals; a step-by-step plan of salvation; easily-accessed scripture references to answer tough questions; and much more.

Now available in the increasingly popular English Standard Version (ESV) this new Bible makes an excellent gift, whether for seminary graduation, Pastor’s Appreciation Month, ministry anniversaries, or any special occasion.

Features include
  • Practical guidance on visitation, weddings, funerals, and other key topics
  • Thoughtful answers and Scripture references for tackling life's tough questions
  • Encouragement for managing the challenges of pastoral ministry
  • Black letter text with helpful cross-references
  • Concordance
  • 8 pages of full-color maps 
  • Key Bible promises section
  • Sturdy sewn binding for years of use
  • Two-column text with center-column references
  • Genuine leather, Black
  • Presentation page
  • Gilded page edges
  • Two ribbon markers
Average Customer Rating:
4.697 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
25 out of 2696%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Review 1 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Barb Null Shepherd's Child Academy
Location:Ripley, WV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is a nice size, very handy.
The added study helps are a very big plus.
Very well made and durable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another wonderful Version

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Marc
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV Minister's Bible, is a part of the 5 different Minister Versions I've purchased from Christian Book. Depending on the congregation I'm attending it's an invaluable aid for me to choose the Version I feel would be best understood by that particular congregation. The extra aids they include as part of the Ministers Bible, Wedding's, Hospital, Burial, and more are all invaluable when in the field.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ESV Minister's Bible is beautiful!

Date:November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
misiono
Location:Winnipeg, MB Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like everything about this ESV Minister's genuine leather Bible. The black leather is very nice, so is the sewn binding, the size, dark good-sized print, price & value. The service & delivery was very good. I'm quite pleased with this purchase from CBD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So very useful!

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
jdavid42001
Location:Reidsville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a new pastor, I have thoroughly enjoyed the pastoral helps in the back. The Bible itself is attractive and compact. This is all I have to carry with me on visitations to have all the reinforcements I need.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible Not Just for Ministers

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
DCromer
Location:Lumpkin, GA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible particularly because I have played with the idea of possibly becoming a Minister, so I wanted a little preparation and this bible gives it. Though it has all the great examples of how to perform weddings and counselings of various sorts, this bible will also be great as a general study bible if you like doing cross references. Nice font size, not overly large but bigger than most. Leather and binding seem to be of good quality and pages arent too thin. Cant find a better leather bible for the price. And I love the ESV translation. Would recommend it over NIV NASB and NLT
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice Binding

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
NaturalOutlaw
Location:Northern, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all I very much like the ESV. I use the ESV translation and the NLT 2004 Edition almost exclusively. The binding is stitched and very strong. The type set used is very dark and sharp for reading longer periods of time. The Bible is not overly large to become cumbersome to carry. This ESV edition has suggestions for various ceremonies along with resources for a plan of salvation, answers to tough questions, helping people to change/Christian counseling and a plan for discipleship. All of these are very useful and well done. This has become my "Everyday Bible". I highly recommend this Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Value

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
SteveO
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible far exceeded my expectations! I have fallen in love with the ESV translation for its accuracy and readability. For $29.99 I expected a bonded leather cover and super small print. To my amazement this bible has a rich, beautiful leather cover and very readable text. Bonus material for ministers just adds to the appeal, but anyone would be proud to own this bible! I bought one for myself and one for a fellow pastor! You won't be disappointed! Excellent value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
dbld
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am the Men's Min. Pastor at my church, so this is an Excellent product!!! I highly recommend it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Quality!

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeff Green
Location:Mansfield, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought two of these, one for personal use in services so I don't have to lug around my study Bible, and one to give away to the "best Bible class student" for summer camp. It meets my expectations and even with it being "slightly damaged" or whatever the term is, it is of great quality. Would definitely recommend this for anyone looking for a new Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really Love It!!!

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joserjedi
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is excellent. Not only does it have great minister helps, but the reference system is really good. I love the supple leather. It feels wonderful in my hand. The binding is sewn stitched and the bible is very well made. I really really love this product. For the quality you get I should have paid twice as much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product exceeded my expectations.

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Seth
Location:Somerset,KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An outstanding value for an excellent Bible. The binding was top quality, the font easily read, and shipping was speedy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nate
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this Bible as a Christmas Gift and I say it is the best Bible I have ever had. The English Standard Version is by far my favorite translation of Bible. This Bible has a lot of helps in the back on weddings, funerals, baby dedication, graduations, etc. I know this Bible will last for a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for the busy Minister!

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
J Love
Location:Tennessee
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible has everything for the busy minister on the go, both novice and experienced. From key bible promises to how to conduct funerals/weddings, this bible has it all!
The genuine leather cover is VERY thick, and the grain is smooth and beautiful. This bible has a presentation page, but no family records sections. The text is in black letter, and the print is consistent. The bible has a sewn binding, which makes it lie flat and enables it to stand up better over years of heavy use.
The paper is rather thick and opaque, which is one of my favorite features of this bible. The maps are colorful, attractive, and accurate. It has two ribbon markers that are average. They aren't too thick, but it isn't a big deal with me.
This edition is equivalent to a normal size bible, and the text is set at a 9 point font. This bible is printed in China.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gabe
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love it it is a great bible for learning The Word Of God for those who want to learn a lot more an teach others
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very nice Bible

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Seeking Wisdom
Location:Dickinson, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The minister's features are nice. The Bible itself is nice. We ordered a slightly damaged one for a great price and still haven't found the damage! Nice print and its light weight for its size. Very nice! Good feel and good size in hand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

really like this Bible

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
rev M Johnson
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like to compare verses with the kjv and this translation is very close has great helps in the back for ministers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible and great helps for the pastor.

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Danny
Location:Elizabethtown, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this new bible and am already using it and really like the helps. Really keyed to the pastor and minister of the word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ESV

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Donnie Joe
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is valuable and must have for an Pastor or serious student of the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT BIBLE, AND GREAT SERVICE AT THIS SHOP.

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Larry
Location:New Zealand
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all I do appreciate the confidence we can have in Christian Books, and that is a story on its own.
The ESV. Bible I have found to be a wonderful translation for our times using a language that most of us would be comfortable with, I find it is what I use most on powerpoint, people understand it, which is surely the reason, (Neh 8:12 And all the people went their way to eat and drink and to send portions and to make great rejoicing, because they had understood the words that were declared to them.)
The leather and paper quality is very good, I like the sub headings, and font size is nice (about a 9) references are good, I like the lay out of the concordance and maps.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Minister's Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
revralph123
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I ordered this Bible initially as a resource for myelf thinking the sale price was worth the purchase. When it arrived I was more than pleasantly surprised. The quality of the BIbe, font size, portability and user freindliness makes it the Bible I will use throughout my ministry.
I purchased a second one as a gift for my son who is entering ministry himself.
I recommend this bible not just for fultime pastors, but also christian workers who are involved in visitation and outreach ministries
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>