Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker NIV Harmony of the Four Gospels, Second Edition

Baker NIV Harmony of the Four Gospels, Second Edition

One of the easiest to use NIV harmonies of the Gospels is now even more inviting. Thanks to an all-new, innovative page layout, you can quickly and easily compare parallel texts side by side to determine the extent of agreement. A special boldface type interweaves every fact and detail into a unified narrative to enhance your Bible studies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Harmony of the Four Gospels, Second Edition
Review 1 for NIV Harmony of the Four Gospels, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Insightful view of the Gospels

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
DesertRatTucson
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is not a parallel of the four Gospels (and it specifically indicates the distinction of its approach), but rather the creation of a single reading of the four Gospels. It is a very different way of looking at the New Testament Gospels, not trying to compare verse by verse differences of the Gospels, but rather producing a single "best" story to be told by the Gospels. We are using this text in an Adult Sunday School Bible Study, and it is providing a new way of looking at the story of Jesus in the Gospels. We are enjoying it very much!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Harmony of the Four Gospels, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to read, excellent cross references

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Manghae
Location:Molena, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this version of Gospel comparisons. It is easy to read, and it is easy to understand and follow. The Gospels are clearer now. They are a joy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Harmony of the Four Gospels, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark Fleener
Easy to read and a refreshing look at the Gospels together. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in seeing the different Gosples side by side as they study God's word.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Harmony of the Four Gospels, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Olga V. Neufeld
Wish I had known about the book sooner. It is what I needed for the study of the gospels I would not had to have to go back and forth in three bibles so much.I am pleased to have it now for the last few lessons. Good service . Thankyou.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Harmony of the Four Gospels, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robert Woods
Well-organized for the most part. However, the author makes some statements about time lines and such which are disputed, without notes about the disputes. Additionally, without making notes why, he on a few occasions reorders the verses in a passage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Harmony of the Four Gospels, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
James Quiggle
This is an easy to use Harmony that presents the events of the life of Christ(LOC)in a standard order. The main value of this Harmony is in combining the synoptic and connected narrative approaches by using parallel columns showing each gospel, and employing bolded font to indicate the connected narrative as it flows through each gospel account. The connected narrative is very similar in order of events to Cheney's interwoven narrative, "Life of Christ in Stereo." The notes are helpful but not obtrusive. Negatively, the significant manuscript variant at Luke 6:1, which marks the 2nd Passover, is not footnoted. The date of John Baptist's ministry (which affects all other dates)is based on Tiberius' co-regency with Augustus and should be corrected with Hoehner, "Chronological Aspects of the Life of Christ." A few of the event titles are unhelpful, e.g., "A Remarkable Catch of Fish", when James, John, Andrew, and Peter are called at the Sea of Galilee. Overall this Harmony is accurate and helpful. I am using it for the LOC class I am teaching at Meadows Bible Institute, Reno, NV.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Harmony of the Four Gospels, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Myrnaloy Manning
I am doing a study of the book of Matthew this year. We often refer to the other gospels in our study. It is so much easier having the gospels all lined up so I am not flipping around through the Bible during my study time. I am able to finish my study each day in a more timely fashion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Harmony of the Four Gospels, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beth A
As an experienced student and teacher, I consider a harmony of the gospels essential for studying the gospels. This version is wonderful as it uses the popular NIV translation. I gave copies to my daughter and daughter-in-love for Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Harmony of the Four Gospels, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2001
Customer Avatar
Dann Golden-Collum
This is a wonderful tool when studying the Gospel's account of the life of Christ. The author (or should I say editor/compiler?) arranges the texts in harmony, but also includes approximate dates of when the events took place. Some are critical of this approach, wondering how Daniel came up with the method of dating the events. Daniel asserts that the method is by no means difinitive, however, by following the feasts and seasons mentioned in the Gospel texts, he does leave us with useful benchmarks as to when these events took place.There are also useful comments about events like the cleansing of the temple. Were there two such events or only one? Daniel begs the question, then gives his view in the footnotes.This is a great book to use in a long Bible study on the life of Christ - with the emphasis on long. Our cell group is currently working our way through the book . . . it's taken us nine months and we're only 25% through! Take your time . . . learn all you can about our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.