Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Seaside Letters - eBook

Thomas Nelson Seaside Letters - eBook

Sabrina Kincaid didn't intend to fall for Nantucket native Tucker McCabe, the man she serves coffee to every morning-the man tied deeply to Sabrina's most mortifying secret.

Then Tucker decides to hire Sabrina to help locate his online friend Sweetpea-the mysterious woman he's falling in love with. It's a pickle: Sabrina is not inclined to help, but letting Tucker hire someone else could spell disaster. Because if someone else helped him-if someone else sifted through the letters and figured out the truth-then Tucker would discover that the person he's trying to find is . . . her.

Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Seaside Letters - eBook
Review 1 for Seaside Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Story

Date:August 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Toodie B
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read this book several times. It is one of my favorites of Denise Hunter. I can relate to making questionable choices and the guilt associated with them. But God"s forgiveness allows me to move forward...cleansed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirley McClay
This is a book I received from Thomas Nelson for review. It was book three in a series entitled Nantucket Love Story Series. I enjoyed it so much I immediately went to Christianbook.com and ordered the others! It was well written and sweetly romantic without being sappy and fake. It has shades of "You've Got Mail" from a Christian perspective. An online romance filled with honesty... and yet a dark secret that shadows their real lives may destroy any hope of a "real" relationship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2010
I loved this book! The premise was such fun, and although it was an easy read, it was thoroughly engaging. I was disappointed to finish it. I miss Sabrina and Tucker already! And this is the beautiful part; Denise writes in such a way as to make me care about her characters. They seem to be real people with real pain, real pasts, real struggles. I absolutely loved the emails between Tucker and Sabrina! Amidst the humor was some sobering truth...truth for me to consider as well. Readers need to know that there was some mature material dealt with in "Seaside Letters". It was dealt with from a godly perspective, but life wasn't whitewashed in this book. For me to recommend this book, and I do, I feel that this needs to be said. Again, that is part of what I consider to be a beautiful thing; her characters are walking through life... sometimes getting dirty, but ultimately pursuing things of God. Just like me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicki Newell
Sabrina got her heart broken a week before her wedding when she found out that her fiance Jared and her cousin Jaylee were having an affair. To get away from the humiliation and pain, she decides not cancel her honeymoon in Nantucket, but go alone. While there, she falls in love with the town, and decides to stay. She gets a job at a diner, moves into an apartment above a woman who is an aspiring writer, and starts an online relationship as "Sweetpea" with a man named "Harbormaster". Neither one knows who the other is until Harbormaster sends a photo of himself and Sabrina recognizes him as the customer who comes into the diner every morning, a man who she has feelings for. When he asks for a photo of her, her confidence is so shaky that she is afraid he'll think her unattractive, so she sends him a picture of her cousin Arielle, who she thinks is beautiful.As Sweetpea and Harbormaster, they are very honest with each other. The same cant be said for Sabrina and Tucker though, and things get really complicated between them. There are a lot of surprises and twists. Although I enjoyed the book from the first page, I thought the pace was too slow in the beginning. About half way through things started to pick up and I got excited to see where the story was going. At times I wanted to hug these two, at others I wanted to slap some sense into them. Both characters were so likable and the descriptions of the town made me feel like I was there by the water.If youd like to read a book that is light and easy, this would be a great choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sara Eberhardt
This was an excellent read! I have been a Denise Hunter fan & requested this book on my Christmas list. I picked up the book and couldn't put it down until I was through. I don't generally enjoy the cat-mouse chase in romance books; but I find that this story was a pleasant balance of suspense & laugh out loud comedy. Not only did I enjoy this fun read, but appreciated the message throughout the plot. A definite must read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Of all the Nantucket stories, this was my least favorite. The hero did not grab me the way others have. The heroine's story was profound and the author handled it well. I just was looking for something more "heart" grabbing. I do recommend reading, but just not my favorite.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2009
Seaside Letters is now one of my favorite books by Denise Hunter. Sabrina is a character that I believe all women today can connect with and understand. Tucker is SO full of love and integrity, and is just trying to get Sabrina to open up to him and trust him. Throughout the whole book Denise shows the incredible love that God has for each of us. How He longs for a personal relationship with us, and wants us to trust Him with every fear, insecurity, and hope that we have. I loved this book. I think it is a definite to-read, along with the other books in the Nantucket Love Story series. All of these books show the character of our wonderful, loving God. Sabrina and Tuckers story is sure to be a big success. Make sure you read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Casey
A young woman running from poor judgement, a young man falling in love, searching for the woman he know is hidden under the tough exterior layer.The last thing Sabrina Kincaid wants to do is find the woman Tucker McCabe has fallen in love with through an internet chat room. But to refuse is to put herself in a worse bind- because that woman is her! And Tucker holds the key to her worst secret, a secret if revealed will ruin their "relationship" for eternity.I don't even have words to truly praise this book. It was simply incredible! I finished the story in a matter of days and left hungry for more. This story has it all. Romance, intrigue, memorable characters, who have trials, ones you pray will overcome. Denise Hunter has done a marvelous job on this novel, you can tell she poured her whole heart into the story. The action between hero and heroine is believable and alive, filled with strife and the slow growth of love. The book is rift with conflict, the kind that pulls you to the edge of your seat and won't let go There are times you don't think it will ever turn out, but when you reach the last page, you are satisfied and sad the story is over. I can't say enough good things about this book, it has quickly become my favorite of 2009 published novels! Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2009
At first this book reminded me of the movie, Youve Got Mail, with Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan. Its similar because it talks about an online relationship but brings in so many more twists and turnsits great!Denise Hunter has a note to her readers, it says, Im so thankful to have a God who seeks me out, one who persistently pursues medespite my efforts to hide and build wallsand lavishes love on me like Im his only child. What a insight into this creative story.Sabrina is a waitress and Tucker is a customer at her caf. Sabrina knows Tucker really well under the identity of Harbormaster. Tucker knows Sabrina by her computer name Sweet Pea. Neither of them realizes that they know the others secret identity. The only live conversation they have is Tucker asking for breakfast and coffee and Sabrina bringing it to him. Sabrina has been hurt deeply and wants to keep the relationship at a safe distanceonline safe. An internet relationship is easy, she could be accepted at face value; her opinions mattered and she could talk to her friend anytime. All was right with the world until Tucker wanted to meet her face to face. It had been a year and he wanted to take their on-line relationship to the next level.Denise grabbed my attention from the very beginning and did not disappoint. With every page the plot thickened. I had no idea how this thing could end. Denise is a master at weaving a complicated but simple story with very colorful characters, she makes you root for and have compassion for them. Its a delightful, fun, soul searching, redeeming love storyyou wont soon forget.Nora St.LaurentFinding Hope Through Fictionwww.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diann Hunt
While the sea laps to shore along Nantucket Island's coastline, two people search for love through a maze of betrayal, mystery and brokenness. Grab your coffee, pull up a chair and settle in to a heaping serving of romance as you consume the pages of "Seaside Letters." But beware. This poignant story will have you searching for more of Denise Hunter's books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I read Seaside Letters straight through in one day, and as busy as I am that is no small feat. Every time I pick up a romance by Denise Hunter I know I will get an awesome allegory about God's love for us. This story did just what I expected. It showed how we try to hide the truth about ourselves when all along Jesus knows who we are and he's just waiting for us to be real with Him and trust Him. And like Sabrina in the story, we don't understand how we can be forgiven. Yet, Christ woos us and tries to show us by his gentle love that He longs for a relationship with us. He understands our weaknesses and reaches out to us despite the barriers we often erect to surround our hearts. Like Tucker, the hero, Christ knew us long before He reveals Himself to us. He sought us out because He loved us first and just wants us to love Him back. Despite her past, Sabrina longed to be loved for who she was even though she'd never felt good enough or pretty enough to deserve it. And being betrayed by her fiance right before their wedding was more proof that she was unloveable, in her estimation. I loved how this story showed occasional pain-filled situations from the past and did so in the "moment" as if it was happening right then. Wow. I found the conflict and tension very enjoyable and loved how the relationship between the characters slowly developed. I kept wanting her to just let him love her the way Jesus wants us to let Him love us. But because this is a romance, the kind of love is different in this story...it's romantic. And as expected, there are some heartpounding moments that seem so real that I was pulled totally into the setting and the moment. I have to say that Denise is one of the best romance writers when it comes to setting up the situation for the perfect romantic first kiss. Heavy sigh. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2009
If you are a Denise Hunter fan you will not be disappointed with her latest (3rd) book in the Nantucket Love series, "Seaside Letters." Sabrina is serving coffee to the man of her dreams every morning, Tucker, however unbeknown to her, she is the woman of his dreams as well. Sabrina and Tucker are communicating via e-mail, however neither are willing to admit this to each other. As they become closer and learn more about each other, Sabrina becomes more determined that Tucker cannot find out that she is "Sweetpea." Working to help Tucker discover the identity of "Sweetpea," it becomes more and more difficult to hide her identify, however her secrets and past actions are holding her back. Throw in secrets, hurts, lost love, cousins and matchmaking and the story keeps getting better and better! This book is hard to put down once it is started!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura
Seaside Letters by Denise Hunter is about Sabrina Kincaid who has been betrayed by her fianc and her cousin. She has little trust for anyone. She travels to Nantucket and decides to move there. Sabrina joins an online chat room about Nantucket and soon starts emailing a local man, Tucker. When she discovers he is one of her customers at the cafe', she knows she cannot reveal who she truly is because of a shocking secret. This book grabbed my attention from the start. It has several twists that make it amusing and fun to read. If you are looking for a good novel that will make you smile, I highly recommend this book. Definitely a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
This book to me is like the movie Another Cinderella Story with Hilary Duff. Sabrina/Sweatpea is emailing, and Hilary Duffs character is instant messaging and is in high school. I loved that movie as it was modern and fairy tale like. This book puts me in that mind frame. This book is based on adults, but they are like 2 love struck teens who are afraid to tell each other the truth. Its fun, sweet, and refreshing to me and includes a little light drama towards the end. Its a lighthearted read that keeps you interested. It is typical for a romance of 2 people in love but afraid to tell it. The details are engaging but not over done. I personally dont like the details to be over bearing and take away from the story line. You can have too many details on the setting and this book gives balance so you dont get distracted from the story line. I give it 4 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
A Fulwood
Seaside Letters, A Nantucket Love Story by Denise Hunter, Thomas Nelson PublisherThis is a about Sabrina. A young woman who falls in love and hides her feelings from the very one who could give her the love she so desperately wants. I read the first third of the book in one sitting. I was drawn in by Ms. Hunters original plot with its many subtle twist and turns. She built the plot up layer by layer with the usual premise of a woman falling in love with a man, named Tucker, whom she met on line. Nothing different about that, however Ms. Hunter introduces her first twist in the introduction when Tucker approaches Sabrina with an offer. Please help me find the woman I have fallen in love with on line. It doesnt take long before Sabrina realizes Tucker is looking for her. Sabrina however doesnt want to be found and does everything she can to stay hidden. There were points in the book I wished Ms. Hunter had flushed out a little more, such as Sabrinas insecurities about her appearance. Also I would have appreciated more details on the background of her family and landlady mystery writer, Renny. Those things would have added more definition and substance to the story and made it more believable. These characters have a profound impact on Sabrinas life, but the reader comes away knowing little about them. That said I would have no problems reading another book by this storyteller. I am member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger. http://brb.thomasnelson.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
Being from New England, I thought I would enjoy this book. I have fond memories of vacationing at the Cape and know the charm of the islands. The storyline is similar to "You've Got Mail" and I can almost picture Meg Ryan playing Sabrina/Sweetpea and Tom Hanks as Tucker. From the reading the other reviews, I realize that I am not the first one to notice this similarity. The difference is that he knows who she is and she knows who he is but she doesn't know what he is. Confusing? Not so much especially since the reader is aware of this he knows/she knows/he knows she knows situation within the first 15 pages of the book. So as a reviewer, I haven't spoiled anything. As a reader, all I wanted for for her to know that he knows so that they could live happily ever after.The pace of the book was slow as I just wanted to two characters to realize that they were in love. The best part of the book was the ending, but it took 300 pages to get there. If you like a good ending, then the 300 page was worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2009
Denise Hunter is one of my very favorite authors and Seaside Letters was every bit as wonderful as I expected it to be!Denise has the most incredible talent for developing characters that completely capture your heart and stay with you long after you've read the book. It is very rare that I get weepy over a book, but with her books I always find myself laughing and crying right along with the character. I also make a point to choose her books on a weekend because I know that once I pick it up, I will get so totally invested in the story that I will not be able to put it down until the end. Seaside Letters had me hooked from the start and didn't let go! Sabrina is the main character and I just loved this character and could relate to her on so many levels. She also reminded me of some very valuable lessons in this book that I needed to hear again. I loved this book and highly recommend it!There is a reason I have kept this review very vague about the story itself. Those of you who read the ending of a book first will think I'm crazy, but when one of my favorite authors comes out with a new book, I don't want to know anything about the book before I read it. I purposely choose not to read the back of the book and avoid any book reviews for that book until I have read it. That is what I did with Seaside Letters. I did not know a thing about the story before I opened up the book and read it. There are so many surprises in this book that are just so much better if you don't know them ahead of time. I have included the book summary below if you want to know a little about the story. But, if you want my advice, don't read the blurbs, just go buy the book and read it! Trust me, it's an incredible story and you will enjoy it more if you don't know any of the surprises before hand. Denise is a very gifted author and this book is going in a very small stack of books that I will want to read again and again!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pepper
No matter where you are or how long until we can be together, Ill keep searching for you.Little secrets, big secrets, and a boat load of heart-stopping romance pumps through the pages of Denise Hunters novel Seaside Letters A Nantucket Love Story.Sabrina Kincaid carries around much more than a loaded tray of food for six people at the Cobblestone Cafe inside she carries a wealth of secrets that constrict her heart from feeling and bind her dreams into inactivity. Now, shes being asked by sweet Tucker McCabe to help find a woman hes corresponded with for a year a woman he says he loveshe has to findhell do anything to find.So how does Sabrina keep her heart in check, when the woman Tuckers searching for isher? Tucker knows Sabrina is the face behind all the letters hes enjoyed for the past year. Her words, her life, the beauty of her heart swelled into a perfect rhythm for his lifehis future. The only problem isshe wont admit who she really is. As a guise to get to the truth, Tucker comes up with a plan to use Sabrinas sluething skills to find the mysterious woman of these letters. Sohe hires her to findher.As usual, Denise Hunter writes a lovely story about Gods grace and the amazing power of love. Unforgiveness and fear are mighty foes, but they tremor in the wake of true and pursuing love. Sabrina struggles with her past, her betrayal, and the pain of being betrayed but Tuckers gentleness, steadfastness, and beautiful grace are the trinity of emotions that break down the stubborn wall of fear around her heart.Will it be too late though? Will Tucker offer his heart to someone else? And are some secrets too treacherous to forgive?Pick up the book and find the answer for yourself. Poignant, memorable, funny, andoh so sweet with a kiss to build a dream on (actually a few of those), youll want to read and possibly reread the last chapter a few times over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
For Seaside Letters, think You've Got Mail mixed with a bit more real life. Denise has crafted a romance filled with secrets. Sabrina never intended to fall in love with Tucker McCabe, but she did. The only problem is that now he wants to find her -- and he's asked for her help. While I wondered at the beginning if this book would be a retelling of You've Got Mail, Denise's unique spins and twists soon came to the forefront. I'd love to tell you the main one, but will restrain myself. And the similarities didn't bother me since You've Got Mail is one of my favorite movies.And similar to the other books that are Nantucket Love Stories, the book retains the parable element. I love the depth it adds to the book when you consider how God's love is revealed through the romance. So the next time you're ready to curl up with a romance that has so much more going on, pick up Seaside Letters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Seaside Letters - eBook
This review is fromSeaside Letters, Nantucket Love Story Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denise
I loved this story. Sabrina lives in fear that the man she secretly loves will reject her completely if he learns her past. She hides behind the anonymity of a screen name and pours out her heart in the safety of emails. Meanwhile, Tucker is trying to gently draw out the woman he loves. This story is a wonderful illustration of God's love for us, and how He gently and patiently woos us into the safety of His arms. I also thought the destructive patterns of fear and unforgiveness were well written. This book deeply touched me, and I would definitely recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>