Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed

Hendrickson Publishers KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed

With Notes from the World’s Best-Loved Commentary

For 300 years, believers have turned to Matthew Henry’s timeless commentary for clear, concise help in understanding the Bible and relating its wisdom to practical Christian living. His unrivaled ability to combine comprehensive biblical exposition and down-to-earth guidance for daily life has established Henry’s reputation as a trusted and beloved teacher. Charles H. Spurgeon called it, “a Christian’s companion, suitable to everybody, instructive to all.”

The Matthew Henry Study Bible blends his inspirational notes with a full-featured KJV Bible, to enable readers to benefit from the simple piety and no-nonsense application of the biblical lessons that are the enduring legacy of his writings.

Classically designed to honor the history of the content but updated with helpful features for easy contemporary use, The Matthew Henry Study Bible accommodates the needs of the serious Bible student and provides more clarity for the interested layperson.

Features include:
  • Clear new typesetting of text and notes
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Presentation page
  • Thumb index
  • Book introductions, footnotes, and in-text quotations from Matthew Henry’s writings
  • Side-column references
  • Biography of Matthew Henry
  • Concordance
  • 8-page full-color map section
  • Gilded page edges
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
31 out of 3491%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Review 1 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

RE:very disappointed in publisher KJV indexed.....

Date:March 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
knoxville40e
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Are you aware that Matthew Henry died after completing Acts? The rest of his commentary was pick up and completed by many other theologians with the same school of thought as Henry? Be glad then, at least that the whole Old Testament is his work alone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

study help with EVERY verse

Date:January 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brian
Location:Saint Albans, WV
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
how many times have you wanted help with a verse only to be disappointed with the comment/explanation? or that the verse didn't have any at all? this study Bible helps with every verse. The other thing I actually like is that this Bible is written like a regular book vice all the verses lined up to the left. I know this might not sound like it would be good but believe me...I find myself reading more. Now a verse makes more sense when you see it in context of a paragraph.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

very disappointed in publisher KJV indexed Bible

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very excited about this particular edition of the KJV Bible. I have the Matthew Henry One Volume Commentary and simply love how he opens the scripture. However the publisher or editors fell short in my mind when choosing which commentary to include. The Old Testament commentary is slim. I also can not reccomend this particular edition for following along in church or Bible study/Sunday School because the verse numbers are much too tedious to find. The overall print is much too light for comfortable reading for an extended length of time. On the positive side I do appreciate that the pages are smyth sewn.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Matthew Henry and my McCarthur

Date:September 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
sticky
Location:Sutter Creek Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a McCarther study bible which I like very much it is a good bible I received and started using this Matthew Henry bible and I like it a lot! I like the red letters and of course the Matthew henry commentary must be the best I have seen explaining things. It has great cross reterence. I would buy this if it where my only bible yes! quality made also
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
tesha
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this bible for my boss and she loves it! I also purchase one for myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible

Date:March 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jackie
Location:Cleveland, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have really enjoyed the Matthew Henry Bible. Every verse is explained in more detail. Exactly what I need as a study Bible. The thumb-index is really helpful as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
James
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great resource. I purchased this bible for my husband that teaches the adult Sunday School class at our church. He has access to the Matthew Henry Commentary thru the bible software that he uses; however, he has really enjoyed seeing the information along with the reading. Our boys really liked the look of the cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
tkckmnj
Location:Southern IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so pleased when I received the bible. It is a gift for my husband for Christmas. The initials engraved on the front cover are beautiful. My son now wants initials on the front of his bible :) I still prefer KJV bibles and cannot wait to give this gift on Christmas morning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The very best study bible

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
mygeno
Location:Manteo, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matthew Henry's remarks are invaluable and help to make things so much clearer. I don't always agree with his analysis, but for the most part, he has opened up my eyes to so much scripture. I have read Job - my favorite book of the bible - so many times, and I was amazed at what I had missed! The Matthew Henry Bible makes it so much easier to understand.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Martha Hodge
Location:Fayetteville, Tn
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
really liked the matthew bible just wish the pages were out of different paper as i like to underline points of interest an the ink or yellow bleeds right throu to the other page on verses I dont want highlighted now I am very careful to mark lightly with a pencil an Larg print would be great as us senior citizens have some trouble with our eyes All in all I would recomend this bible to my friends.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best KJV Study Bible.

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
nelson hollins
Location:Toronto ON
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very low price for The Original Study Bible !
The page layout is the best i have ever seen , making using all the study helps , EASY & ENJOYABLE !
The text is placed closer to the outside margins.
The cross-references are in the centre , making much better readability & study, easier than the regular centre-column payout . Centre column Bibles have the Text placed far too close to the inner spine , making it hard to read , hard to use....unless it is done in the wide margins 'all around the text' format.
This Mt Henry is going to be used regularly, since it is so simple to understand how to use & make the most out of it !
A
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
J Wilson
Location:Rickman, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is actually the second Matthew Henry Study Bible that I've purchased. Gladly gave the other one away and bought this one. I love the quality of the imitation leather, feels better than most genuine leather bibles. Straight out of the box they lay flat, without even having to break them in. Love the red-letter, concordance, maps, print size, etc. Overall highly recommend this one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
donehawk
Location:ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These Bibles were sent to kosrae Micronesia. We have a missionary that is training 4 nationals in the Minstry and these are their Bibles! Thank You so much for the great deal!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend!!

Date:October 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
J Wilson
Location:Rickman, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought a lot of study bibles, too many... according to my wife anyway. I'm not sure you can have too many, but I've been searching for the right fit for me for years now. Well, I've finally found it, praise God. I only have one complaint and it's merely cosmetic. In the pic the mahogany color appears darker than it actually is, the one I received looks more like brown and burgundy, instead of brown and mahogany. Like I said this is merely cosmetic, I'm more about the content....which is excellent. I wasn't familiar with Henry but quickly fell in love with the notes, especially when I read that Spurgeon (a man I greatly admire) liked him. It's red-letter(which is getting rare anymore), the print is very readable but the bible is still not too bulky, it has a concordance, it is paragraphed, has a biography of Henry, epistle dedicatory, thumb-indexed, very doctrinally sound notes,....what more could you ask for. It is by far the perfect study bible...for me anyway. Thank God my search is over, this will be my last purchase....until this one wears out anyway. Highly Recommend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Matthew Henry Bible

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pasci
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bible I highly recommend it, I hope to have it in NKJV and ebook for easy access on the go...Please have it available in ebook soon. Thank you,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Commentarys of this Bible are scripturely sound.

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Drew
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Commentarys of this Bible are scripturely sound.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Clarence Zeigler
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This would be a much better product if it could be purchased in large print...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great material, mediocre package

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
jonathan
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This Bible is very good for study and compliments Matthew Henry's full commentary well. The only issue I have with it is that the binding is not very good. The first one we received from CBD had pages falling out because they hadn't been glued. We sent it back and got a new one... the new one kind of pops when you curve the Bible (I'm not a wordsmith and can't really explain it, but it seems like maybe the pages weren't straight when they bound them and the Bible moves weird under pressure). I had some friends take a look at it and they suggested that it does that because it's a new Bible, but that was a year ago and it still does it. Overall, I'd buy this again simply because of the content, but I wish the binding was better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall I was pleased with the Bible.

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Servant
Location:West Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There was only one thing that I didn't like. It was in paragraph form and I like each verse being separate. I bought it for someone that wouldn't be use to either style and needed a KJV with a good commentary that wouldn't be hard to understand so it was just fine. I would like one for myself if they would change from the paragraph style.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV The Matthew Henry Bible, Flexisoft brown/mahogany Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study bible

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
CajunRedneck
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this bible has so many helps in plain easy to understand english,and right there with each verse. excellent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>