Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition

Hendrickson Publishers Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition

Hendrickson Publishers, in conjunction with the British Library, is now releasing a limited number of full color facsimiles of the preserved Codex Sinaiticus.

Codex Sinaiticus is the oldest known complete manuscript featuring the full canon of the Christian Bible in Greek. It was originally produced in the middle of the fourth Century (ca. 350A.D.) in the south-eastern Mediterranean. Originally Codex Sinaiticus was produced on parchment whose total number exceeded 730 leaves, approximately 1,460 pages. It contains the oldest complete New Testament and, at one time the entire Old Testament.

Sections of Genesis and other areas of the Pentateuch were damaged or lost over the centuries. Nevertheless, the vast majority of the Old Testament text remains and is now preserved in this facsimile edition. The importance of the 4th Century to Christian history cannot be overstated, and Codex Sinaiticus is our greatest witness to that era, especially because it reveals how Christians began to understand their canonical Scriptures.

Totaling 828 pages, the facsimile edition comes in hardback binding accompanied by a sturdy slip case that is designed to provide support the weight of the facsimiles pages (app. 25 lbs) and prevent them from tearing away from the back binding. It pages are thick, glossy and "life-size" pages (13.5'x16.5') well-suited for image reproduction. The Codex Sinaiticus facsimile edition also comes with a 32 page booklet that provides a brief outline of the provenance, history, and discovery of this significant piece of history.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition
Review 1 for Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mirabile dictu

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hapax Legomenon
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, this book is enormous. I have no idea where I'm going to put it in my house. Regardless, I am extremely glad to own it. How could I say no--the price on CBD was unbeatable and the shipping was very fast!
The colors on the printed pages are excellent and there is very little glare when opened. Highly readable. The binding is not of the quality it could be for supporting a book of this size and weight but I'm sure the price would be remarkably higher if the binding were improved at all. I think it is sturdy enough to last so I'm not worried.
Overall I am thrilled with this beautiful facsimile of such an important work in the history of the Scriptures. I'm still learning Greek but I've enjoyed the challenges that this book presents as I continue to learn. I've used the website to view the manuscript many times and I highly recommend that this facsimile and the online version be used to complement one's study of the Sinaiticus.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super excellent!!! It's God's best gift for me!!!

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
yurim
Location:PUSAN, KOREA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank God! & all who worked for this wonderful masterpiece. God bless all of you who helped me get this historical gift! I won't esp. forget Christianbook.com, never!
You are doing God's job, a real good job! Thanks again! KIM Korea
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A priceless treasure made affordable!

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Adam
Location:Chickasaw, Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is really an unbelievable opportunity for those with a love for teaching the word of God in its original languages. Holding this in my hands is a true privilege of which I am very thankful to God for. This project was indeed a labor of immense proportions considering the story of how this text came together. Sinaiticus lives up to everything you are looking for and more. Thank you Hendrickson and CBD!!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daisy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A beautifully bound book & well presented in text.
Will be appreciated for years to come.
The package arrived on time & was securely wrap.
The cost of the book & over all shipping cost was very reasonable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A treasure and a delight

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
TRAA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this from Christianbook.com and at their price it is a superb bargain. I am in Europe and it was shipped to me from another EU country, so delivery was speedy and there were no Customs charges to pay.
The quality of the reproduction is superb and those who are accustomed to reading the New Testament or the Septuagint in Koiné Greek are likely to love this.
On a matter of detail, it does not contain "the full canon of the Christian Bible". It contains the whole of the New Testament, plus two early works of Christian literature, and about half of the Old Testament and the Apocrypha. It does include Isaiah, Jeremiah, many of the minor prophets and most of the poetical books (Psalms, Proverbs, Song of Solomon, Ecclesiastes, Job), plus some chapters from Genesis, Leviticus and Numbers, and some other OT books, plus some books from the Apocrypha.
It is large and heavy and needs to be opened on a large table, preferably using other large books as wedges under the front and back covers to protect the spine. One would be advised to store it horizontally.
All of the text is legible and most of it is absolutely superb. It deserves the highest-possible recommendation.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent photo reproduction of Codex Sinaiticus

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
jtruex
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Codex Sinaiticus Facsimile Edition is an excellent, high quality photo reproduction of the Codex Sinaiticus (350 AD). The book is for scholars who can read ancient majuscule Greek or for the book collector. The photography was overseen by the Codex Sinaiticus Project (www.codexsinaiticus.org) between 2005-2009. The Facsimile Edition comes with a 29-page Reference Guide that gives the history of the Codex and an invaluable concordance so biblical pages can be easily found.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome early Bible

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
bill
Location:Shreveport, La
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Words don't seem to be appropriate to describe this document. It literally took my breath away as I went through the pages of this ancient hand written volume of the Codex Sinainiticus from over 1500 years ago. I could just see the scribes and their pens. I'll bet none of them thought this Bible would be brought to light and seen this far down in history. I can't believe it either. Thanks oh ancient ones who gave this to us. Quality was excellent. Wouldn't want to hand carry this bugger to church. And! It sits in quite well with my other early Bible facsimiles of the first English Bibles. Thanks Hendricksen and all who brought this together. Get one while you still can. Buy the companion book the story of the Codex Sinaiticus. It gives much more information than the short booklet that comes with the Bible.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Massive Tome

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robtm
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing is a gigantic beast of a book. The binding is beautiful. The paper is nice. My only complaint is that I wish the guide book which came with it was more in depth and delved into the nuances of the Sianaticus.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent unbelievable treasure

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jacobus
Location:Johannesburg, South Africa
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am highly impressed with the quality of this facsimile edition. When paging through this 15,5 kg treasure, you feel as if you're transported back 1600 years. Being the first extant complete copy of the New Testament this facsimile of the Codex Sinaiticus is absolutely worthwhile.
If you can read Greek, you might just be as amazed as I am to see how much you can read and understand. It is almost impossible to wrap my mind around the fact that this facismile edition is the most complete one of the Codex Sinaiticus thus far, bringing four institutions' pages together.
While the whole codex is also available online, the fact that you can page through it and see the pages as a whole brings a new and important dimension to the study of the codex.
This book comes highly recommended.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reading a book from heaven in its original form

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Siu-wing Lung
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must thank the publisher taking the courage to print this volume and make this much more available to all mankind. What a privilege to be able to read a 4th century book from heaven in its original form. Reading from it gives me a sense of root from history and identity with the saints of old. Indeed every Church or Seminary library should have one and be made available to all readers. The www.codexsinaiticus.org website with parallel transcript provides great help to readers
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
David
Location:West Monroe, La
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Codex Sinaiticus facsimile edition is an excellent representation of the original manuscript. The facsimile is a high resolution photo of every page of the manuscript and is of equal or better quality of previous manuscripts I have acquired over the years. I would highly recommend this facsimile to anyone who has an interest in ancient biblical manuscripts
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Codex Sinaiticus, Facsimile Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Images are outstanding; exceptional value

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Smith
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived very promptly, followed via UPS tracking; very nice slip case that has its own box which is in another padded box for shipping; very nice reference book that lists which book, chapter, and verse is on each page
The images are far better than the British Library web site; very high quality paper without a shinny glare; the book itself is very heavy; there are pages that contain faded texts
I recommend going to the British web site in order to see the Codex. I thankfully use the British web site every day; nevertheless, these images are better.
In 1933, the Soviet Union sold the codex to the British Museum (after 1973 British Library) for £100 000 raised by public subscription (worth £5.3 million in 2011)
Coming from one that knows what it is like to have the $6,500 Codex Vaticanus in the hands, this is an exceptional value.
I am deeply moved with gratitude with the realization of what I now own. It would be a high insult for CBD-Hendrickson Publishers to receive a single return or complaint. This is a true statement.
http://www.codex-sinaiticus.net
I hope copies of this Codex reach the Monks at Sinai in speed.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.