Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV Parallel

Hendrickson Publishers The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV Parallel

Introducing an exciting volume featuring the Messianic Complete Jewish Bible (CJB) and the newly-updated (2011) New International Version (NIV), side-by-side.

For the first time, readers who seek to compare the Evangelical Christian and Messianic Jewish Bibles need not buy them separately. The CJB and the 2011 NIV version may both be read in this one-of-a-kind parallel Bible. Bible study and small group study participants will enjoy the particular characteristics of both translations.

CJB
The Complete Jewish Bible (CJB) is the only English translation that is fully Jewish in its style and presentation of both the Hebrew Bible and the New Testament. Making no distinction between these major divisions of the Bible, it makes plain the Jewish historical and cultural background of the text; features the original Hebrew names for people, places, and concepts; and focuses on Messianic prophecy. Also included are the traditional weekly and holiday synagogue readings.

NIV
The New International Version (NIV) is the world's most popular modern English Bible. The NIV articulates God's unchanging Word by reproducing, as closely as possible, the reading experience of the original audience, providing the optimum combination of transparency to the original documents and clear communication of their original meaning. Features the text of the 2011 update.

Special Features

  • The books of the CJB appear in the same canonical order as the NIV
  • Features the NIV 2011 update text
  • CJB Preface
  • NIV Preface
  • Table of weights and measures
  • Pronouncing Explanatory Glossary
  • Scripture Readings for Shabbat and Holidays
  • 9-point type size
  • 9.50" x 6.75" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV Parallel
Review 1 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV Parallel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The side by side scripture of the Complete Jewish Bible and the NIV is excellent. Having that comparison helps to understand the Hebrew words and meanings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV Parallel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The CJB gives insight into Jewish thought

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katidid1951
Location:Chatham, Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have gained new insights into bible verses because of reading the CJB. It allows me to see the differences between my NLT version as apposed to the CJB version. Sometimes I will also look at the NIV translation as well. Between the three versions I am more able to fully understand the word of God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV Parallel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helped with studying

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ronald Libby
Location:Stonington, ME
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my sermon preparations I read many translations of the selected Bible reference and having these two together really helps.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV Parallel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV Parallel

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dragonsflame
Location:Emporium, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really good BIBLE. My only complaint is that the pages are really thin. Thiner than usual. You can't use highlighters because it would be bleed through. You have to use the Dry highlighters. Overall I'm very glad that I bought this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV Parallel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellant comparison

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon
Location:Madison, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book. It's like reading it fresh. Can't seem to put it down. Takes on whole new meanings. It is great to get in touch with our Jewish roots. I had been used to the King James Version. This is so understandable!!! Plus it helps with the Jewish holidays.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV Parallel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
KT52
Location:Sarasota FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible because whenever I read a word from the Jewish version and don't know what it means I glance over to the NIV version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV Parallel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
papilioglaucus
Location:Easley, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love CJB, been studying with it for years. Yet it's easier to converse about the Scriptures with modern day Christians using NIV as my reference. So this is absolutely perfect. Just sent one to my Aunt also. Hopefully hers will not get dropped as mine must have. All around the bottom of the hardcover is crushed and has a small tear. A few of the letters through out the book did not take to the ink in mine. No major disappointments, just the handling of it. Life happens. The substance of the book is excellent!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV Parallel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandy H.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. I bought my husband a CJB paperback years ago, and then I started reading it. When I saw this parallel Bible I immediately ordered it. I love this translation (and the explanation in the front of the Bible for why it was made). I also appreciate the NIV side that helps me when I'm not sure what a word means (though I can also turn to the Bible's index). I've told my sister about this Bible and may get her one for her birthday. I have many Bible translations and refer to them all, but this is truly my favorite to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV Parallel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Missy
Location:N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Never even knew there was a COMPLETE Jewish Bible. Excellent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV Parallel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am enjoying this Bible.

Date:September 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sis B
Location:Bremerton, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't completed studying in it, but it is great so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.