Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV side-by-side, flexisoft leather chocolate/pink

Hendrickson Publishers The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV side-by-side, flexisoft leather chocolate/pink

Introducing an exciting volume featuring the Messianic Complete Jewish Bible (CJB) and the newly-updated (2011) New International Version (NIV), side-by-side.

For the first time, readers who seek to compare the Evangelical Christian and Messianic Jewish Bibles need not buy them separately. The CJB and the 2011 NIV version may both be read in this one-of-a-kind parallel Bible. Bible study and small group study participants will enjoy the particular characteristics of both translations.

CJB
The Complete Jewish Bible (CJB) is the only English translation that is fully Jewish in its style and presentation of both the Hebrew Bible and the New Testament. Making no distinction between these major divisions of the Bible, it makes plain the Jewish historical and cultural background of the text; features the original Hebrew names for people, places, and concepts; and focuses on Messianic prophecy. Also included are the traditional weekly and holiday synagogue readings.

NIV
The New International Version (NIV) is the world's most popular modern English Bible. The NIV articulates God's unchanging Word by reproducing, as closely as possible, the reading experience of the original audience, providing the optimum combination of transparency to the original documents and clear communication of their original meaning. Features the text of the 2011 update.

Special Features
  • The books of the CJB appear in the same canonical order as the NIV
  • NIV features the 2011 update text
  • CJB Preface
  • NIV Preface
  • Table of weights and measures
  • Pronouncing Explanatory Glossary
  • Scripture Readings for Shabbat and Holidays
  • Gold page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • 9.50" x 6.75" x 1.75"
  • 8-point type
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV side-by-side, flexisoft leather chocolate/pink
Review 1 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV side-by-side, flexisoft leather chocolate/pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This Bible !!!

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jesus loves you
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bible! Well made and very pretty in person! Easy to follow with side by side versions of Messianic Jewish Version and NIV. If you love the Jewish roots of where the Christian faith comes from you will enjoy this Bible. I appreciate how the books/names are in Hebrew and English.
You will learn a lot from this bible, love it !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV side-by-side, flexisoft leather chocolate/pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great idea with the two versions side-by-side.

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Triplet Mom
Location:Ravenna, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great purchase for me as I get a Jewish Bible that Jesus had studied that I can understand and I get the NIV that I enjoy and is common in my church at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV side-by-side, flexisoft leather chocolate/pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

completes my study material

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
naniconi
Location:lake forest,ca
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bible. The quality is top notch and it is easy to read. It is the perfect study conpanion. I couldn't be happier!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV side-by-side, flexisoft leather chocolate/pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my new bible

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
kim33
Location:Decatur, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a great bible. I love the complete jewish bible and having the NIV to reference is a plus. I am so glad I made this purchase and would recommend to anyone! Not to mention it looks nice too!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV side-by-side, flexisoft leather chocolate/pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
JanL
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible...use it all the time.
Highly recommend for anyone cherishing the Jewish background to Christian faith
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV side-by-side, flexisoft leather chocolate/pink
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Chocolate/pink color was not as expected

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
northwoodsmom
Location:Hayward, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a nice bible, but the color looked nothing like the picture. I was disappointed because I had it monogrammed, although CBD accepted my return with no problem. I would describe the color as rusty brown, and the pink trim is not actually pink, but more of a copper color. It didn't have the feminine look I expected, and didn't appeal to me at all. From the picture, I expected a very dark chocolate brown. I may try ordering the blue color, but I'm not sure. My husband has the hardcover version and it's very nice for a lower price.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV side-by-side, flexisoft leather chocolate/pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic addition to your Biblical library !

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:Goldendale, Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This CJB/NIV parallel is a great way to expand your knowledge of GODS WORD. I would highly recommend this Bible to anyone who wants to continue a deeper study in the WORD of our LORD.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV side-by-side, flexisoft leather chocolate/pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stacy
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the way it reads and I enjoy comparing other versions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Complete Jewish Bible - NIV side-by-side, flexisoft leather chocolate/pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Makuahine
Location:Pacific Northwest
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so happy with this Bible! It's beautiful! Love the
soft flexible cover, the font size, and the way it's organized. It's wonderful to have the complete Jewish Bible and NIV side-by-side! I would describe the color of the cover as similar to a dark cherry wood--the 'lines' or trim on the cover look like gold leaf and copper leaf to me. Very unique! Thank you! I will treasure it always!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.