Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin

Hendrickson Publishers 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin

Celebrating the 400th Anniversary of the 1611 King James Version Bible.

For 400 years, the Authorized Version of the Bible—popularly known as the King James Version—has been beloved for its majestic phrasing and stately cadences. No other book has so profoundly influenced our language and our theology.

Over time, however, the text has suffered subtle and occasionally troublesome alterations. This attractive edition preserves the original 1611 edition. Word for word and page for page, the text with its original marginal notes, preface ("The Translators to the Reader"), and other introductory material appear as they first did. The sole concession to modernity is a far more readable roman typeface set by 19th-century master printers. Elegantly bound with old-world quality craftsmanship, this is the perfect edition of the incomparable King James Version for study and for sheer enjoyment.

Features include

  • The only word-for-word facsimile of the original 1611 Authorized Version on the market
  • Handsome page design with clearer 19th-century type and decorative initials is convenient to read and reference
  • The text is complete with the Apocrypha, original preface and translators' notes. Alfred Pollard's classic essay on pre-1611 English translations and the history of the Authorized Version is also included
  • Two ribbon markers
  • Gold page edges
  • Presentation page
  • Heirloom quality deluxe calfskin binding
  • 7-point text size
  • 9.00" x 5.75" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
20 out of 2387%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
Review 1 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A pleasure to read and to hold

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Erich
Location:Southern California
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well produced bible that is easy to read but still has the character of an older typeset printed volume. The calfskin binding is wonderful; it's a bit thicker than the 'standard' genuine leather-bound bibles, softer, and is comfortable to hold.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Piece of History

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
RaisingGodlyChildrenOrg
Location:Greenfield, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big fan of this Bible. This is the first Bible I've ever owed with Calfskin. Love the feel and the durability. The pages are a little thin and the print (8) is a little small, that's why I gave 4 stars for quality. Other than that, it's exactly as advertised.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
This review is fromKJV 1611 Bible, Deluxe Edition.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
bonnie1955
Location:Claresholm, AB
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i really like this Bible but I find the print is too small to clearly see.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

buy from other vendor

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
momof4
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bible itself is good quality. Nice feel to it as you are reading. The problem I experienced is with Christian Books itself. Other stores will let you return an item you purchased and repurchase it if they are having a sale. Not so with this store. I received my package in the mail and the very next day was notified via email that they where having a sale. I called the company and expressed my concern. "All sales are final" their representative stated. In the future, we will be looking at other websites before Christian Books for our homeschool needs.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
This review is fromKJV 1611 Bible, Deluxe Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved the hardcover

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
victoria
Location:missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love the old English words and the apocrypha. the price was great and use it now more then I do my scofield.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

really good

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Drmom
Location:Minnessota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Book, original, price is right, great features.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
This review is fromKJV 1611 Bible, Deluxe Edition.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Quality!

Date:September 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
jabarilikewo
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like it. I use it the most of my Bibles right now.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
This review is fromKJV 1611 Bible, Deluxe Edition.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Bible is just what I wanted

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ross
Location:Columbia Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is just what I wanted. It is a beautiful Bible.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am extremely satisfied with this Bible.

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trish
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is beyond my expectations. I couldn't believe the quality for the price. I recommend this one to everyone that is interested in having a Bible with the Apocrypha.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:May 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
18wheelmissionary
Location:U.S.A.
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard to find 1611 King James. Most companies say they have 1611, but the print is modern, not 1611. Not so with this 1. Awesome book!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
This review is fromKJV 1611 Bible, Deluxe Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great value

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sean
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High quality, well bound book at competitive pricing! Will definitely order more products from this site.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a Great Product

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Thomas
Location:South Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this Bible for Christmas, it met all my expectations. The only issue is the pages are quite thin, but this is not to much of an issue considering the quality and elegance of the Bible... Great Product
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy!

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karla
Location:Mississippi
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Christmas but ended up giving it to him already. He loves it! He claims its the perfect size and easy for him to read. He just had to learn his roman numerals past ten haha!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost a home run

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynn
Location:Port St. Lucie Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just received my 1611 King James Bible today and a few things struck soon after opening the box. The Bible is rather small in size which of course lends itself to rather small type. I understand the printing process very well and the fact that it is a combination of set type and digitized images doesn't restrict the potential size of the book in any way. I would have been more than happy to have paid more for a larger book with a larger point size type. The point size may be 8pt.
The other thing that that got my attentional was the feel of the genuine leather. It may have the lasting qualities of genuine leather but I have many bonded leather Bibles that have a much more supple and quality feel.
If the above mentioned were corrected, I think I'd take this bible to the grave with me. I have to say I really enjoy reading it and comparing it to the other versions I have (and they are many) so far I think it stands up to the them as a standard for them to be judged by. When you look at the style and layout of the pages, you feel like you've been transported back in time. Kind of spiritual.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
This review is fromKJV 1611 Bible, Deluxe Edition.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoAnn
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frankly, I was disappointed in the quality of the cover/binding on this bible. It is very thin leather, laminated onto cardboard. I do not think that the quality met the description from which I made the purchase, nor my expectations at the price. Too, the paper in the bible are very, very thin. If it were not ordered with engraving, I would have returned. This was bought as a gift to a valued member for great services, and not the quality expected for this occasion.
JoAnn White
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
the reader
Location:new york
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love the way this product has its original text.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Was a gift, they loved it!

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
IDUNNO687
Location:Conroe, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was purchased as a gift, the print was small due to it being a facsimile of the original. My brother loved it, he called me and opened it while I was on the phone with him, he had nothing but good things to say.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
This review is fromKJV 1611 Bible, Deluxe Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The word of God presented in beauty.

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Arisen777
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 1611 King James Bible is the paragon of inspired scripture. And this edition shines above the others. Easy to read roman font. Beautiful and sturdy, old world binding. Reccomended for anyone who loves Holy Scripture.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Old Reprint Repackaged

Date:February 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robbie MacGregor
Location:Hd. of Montague, PE
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I ordered this Bible, I had expected that it was different from the other Nelson and Hendrickson 1611 Bibles. This is an exact reprint of these interpretations (They themselves are reprinted from some time in the early 20th century). The only distinctions were: 1. A leather cover instead of hardback
2. Inclusion of a history of the English Bible.
Had I known that it was the same reprint I have already had, I probably would have opted for something different. This Bible will serve more as a piece of KJV 400 memorabilia than an indicator of what the 1611 Bible looked like.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 1611 KJV Bible - Deluxe Edition, Calfskin
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

content is excellant but binding is very poor

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Todd Bibler
Location:Payson Utah
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the first product I have bought from Hendrickson publishers and probably the last. The real leather cover is more like cardboard and the binding is awful. I had to send my first one back. Thanks does go to CBD for replacing it so quickly. The content is great but I would not recommend it because of the binding.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>