Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover

Hendrickson Publishers The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover

"The Word of God well understood and religiously obeyed is the shortest route to spiritual perfection. Nothing less than a whole Bible can make a whole Christian." —A. W. Tozer

Key writings of one of the twentieth century's most profound Christian authors are married with the scriptures that A. W. Tozer loved, studied and wrote about over the course of his forty year ministry.

Hendrickson Publishers is proud to introduce the A. W. Tozer Bible, which will introduce a whole generation of readers to his work. Tozer (1897–1963), an pastor, preacher, student and teacher, is perhaps the closest American writer to C. S. Lewis, with the same penetrating insights and straightforward use of language. His bracing words, which accompany related passages throughout this Bible, unlock many of the mysteries of the Scriptures in language that could have been written today.

This unique volume features over 500 key selections and teachings, taken from more than 40 of Tozer's writings, ranging from seminal bestselling books like The Pursuit of God and The Attributes of God to lesser-known works such as The Size of the Soul and The Root of the Righteous.

Each selection appears in one of three categories:
  1. On Scripture
    Over 365 selections, each sharing the page with the Bible passage to which it refers, add depth and insight to a particular verse's application for the believer.
  2. Reflections
    More than 100 writings that apply the deep meaning of the Christian faith to everyday life.
  3. Challenges
    Nearly 100 entries, tied to scripture, that exhort the reader to resist complacency in particular areas of one's "living out" the Word in the world.
Special Features
  • Brief biography of A. W. Tozer
  • Over 500 Tozer selections
  • Book introductions
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Concordance
  • Maps
  • 9.50 x 6.25" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.882 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1794%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Review 1 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much more quaility for the price I paid

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
pastore
Location:Martin, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Tozer Bible is an excellent study tool. I haven't had it long enough to appreciate the depth that it goes into the subjects it entails. But what I have seen thus far, I am well pleased. I am also pleased with the prompt receiving of my purchase. I always recommend you to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beauty Full

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
meandthee
Location:Wa.
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a lovely gift to be able to read the Bible with one of my favorite writers insights-Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent resource

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
IMan
Location:Northern Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If one wants insights of a learned Bible master, then this is the Bible to add to your library for study. Mr. Tozer's remarkable perspectives on some of the most pertinent Bible passages in, regard to revelation, is remarkable and can only be spirit driven. This Bible is a must for the serious Bible student.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Tozer Bible

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Booklady
Location:Louisiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As a fan of Tozer's writing for many years, I was excited to find the Tozer Bible. I thought it would be a commentary type, with gleanings from his studies throughout his scholarly career. To my surprise, it contained paragraphs taken from his previous published books. Since I had read a lot of Tozer, there was nothing new. It would be good for someone who has just recently "discovered" A.J. Tozer!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent work by everyone involved!!

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Schultzmeister
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is beautifully laid out, quality clearly has gone into the workmanship, and the writings of Tozer are relevant to the passages of Scripture on the page. I am very impressed and have been giving copies as gifts to other Christian leaders. Great work!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Word Of Wisdom From A W Tozer

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kelly Perkins
Location:Tyler, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always loved A W Tozer's writings and, combined with the King James Version of the Bible, this makes a wonderful addition to any one's collection.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book deserves of high raiting

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
brut
Location:WA STATE
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible includes the hundreds key selection from Tozer's writing. Tozer was an pastor, preacher, teacher and American writer who so loved Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joyce A. Hutson
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a collection of Bible and wanted a KJV that also gave me insight of the scripture. This is the one for me The size of the print is fine and the references it gives are good. I would recommend this for a home bible since it is hard back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tozer Study Bible

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ringer
Location:Redlands, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am enjoying reading the Bible and think Dr. Tozer's notes are outstanding. The maps are real good. The notes are very good at the beginning of each book and the notes throughout the Bible in the scripture and the cross-references. I also like the subtitles in the chapters. It is an asset to my library. It arrived in a timely manner and was in top quality condition. I only wish the format was in one year Bible reading style. I have read my Bible through every year, for the last 40 years. I would have preferred that the words of Our Lord were not in Red Letters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I good devotional and reading Bible

Date:April 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Randy A Brown
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The A. W. Tozer Bible from Hendrickson Publishers is a study/devotional Bible with writings from one of the 20th century’s most beloved Christian authors. A. W. Tozer was a Pastor, Preacher, Teacher, and Student who wrote many books in his 40-year ministry. This Bible includes over 500 selections from his writings.
Here’s a look at some of the key features:
• Brief biography of A. W. Tozer
• Epistle Dedicatory (dedication to King James)
• Over 500 Tozer selections
• King James Version
• Book introductions
• Textual Headings
• Words of Christ in red
• Outer side-column references
• 145 page Concordance
• 8 pages of Maps
• 9.50 x 6.25" x 1.75"
Text
The font looks to be a more modern digital font. I’m not sure of the font’s size, but it looks close to 9-point. It has extra leading between the lines, giving plenty of room to underline. There are no footnotes indicators in the text itself. This makes the text very clean and readable.
One of my favorite features is the text layout. Poetry is set in verse format which is offset from the regular text. I like the way this looks. It helps not only to identify the genre of Scripture, but also makes the text more readable.
The reference of the first verse that appears on the page is printed at the top of each page. Paragraph markers continue throughout the New Testament.
Headings and verse numbers are bold, making them stand out from the rest of the text.
The red-letter is a nice shade of red. There is some variation, but it does look nice and it’s very readable.
Book introductions include information on the books background, message, time, and an outline complete with verses.
Paper
The paper isn’t shiny or too thin, making this a good Bible for coloring and writing. It’s fairly opaque, making it easier to read.
References
The references are on the outside margin. They include the verse number. There are no indicators in the text to know which reference goes to which portion of the verse. There are a lot of references, with most verses having several. The references do not contain translation notes.
Features
What makes this Bible unique is its 500 selections that are taken from 40 of Tozer’s writings. The selections are placed into three categories called On Scripture, Reflections, and Challenges and mostly vary from 2 to 4 paragraphs (though there are a few smaller and a few larger). The selections are well-written with the focus on deepening your walk with God.
On Scripture – these are insights of specific verses or passages. They’re found on the page with the passage and often contain thoughts on application. These make up the majority of the articles.
Reflections – the articles are deeper thoughts about the application of Scripture.
Challenges – these are challenges to strengthen your walk with God through Biblical application.
Concordance
The concordance is 145 pages. There are plenty of entries to look up. The entry for God takes almost a full column of text, which is more than most Bibles.
Maps
There are 8 pages of maps. The maps are in full color and they look nice. The paper for the maps is thicker than the other paper. There is no index to maps.
Citations of Tozer’s Works
In the back is a list of Tozer’s 40 works that are cited throughout the Bible.
Conclusion
The A. W. Tozer Bible has many features in its layout that I would like to see as standard in Bibles. As far as the content, there are a lot of insights that make for good thought-provoking study and reading. Tozer’s writings give this Bible a rich devotional quality. The A. W. Tozer Bible would be a valuable addition to your library.
The Bible was provided for free for review by Hendrickson Publishers. I was not required to give a positive review- only an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Matt Gillingham
Location:San Antonio TX
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bible, a must have for any Tozer fan. very well put together, all the commentaries and thoughts from Tozer are insightful and help me to feel closer to God as I read His word. I highly recommend this bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE THIS BIBLE

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannah
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bible! I love Tozer and His notes do not disappoint! If you are looking for a KJV Bible with some good notes and you like Tozer, you will not be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Bible

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
johnny
Location:Madisonville, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bible at a great price, if you love Tozer then you will love this Bible. He was one of the great pastors and authors, someone in C.S. Lewis' class and this bible is awesome with exerpts from his books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like the Bible

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jack
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The printing could be larger , that was my only complaint. Its the same as most Bibles in print size and my eyes aren't as good as they used to be
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource!

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
glenn7591
Location:Albertville, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a devotee of A. W. Tozer since my salvation in 1984, I was eager to get a Bible with his insights included. I have not been disappointed. Even though I have read most of his writings, seeing them connected with key parts of Scripture make Tozer's wisdom even more powerful. Tozer passed into eternity in 1963, but wrote like he had been face-to-face with Jesus long before then. I am so grateful that his legacy will be preserved within the pages of the Bible for generations to come! [I would welcome one change, if Hendrickson Publishers is so inclined--an edition in the New King James Version, please. Thanks so much!]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tommy Jeffries
Location:Anmoore WV
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The A. W. Tozer Bible, I have many study & reference Bibles, Thompson Chain, Dake, on & on, but the insights and straightforwardness of this man is just awesome, the key selections and teachings have made this Bible one of my favorites. Love it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The A. W. Tozer Bible: KJV Version, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You owe it to yourself to get a copy of this Bible

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Berean
Location:Brunswick, ME
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have "many" specialty/study KJV Bibles and a very large library (100's), including the Puritan Hard Drive, but this has become my daily devotional/reading Bible hands down. If you don't have A.W.Tozer's works, you don't know what you're missing ! This Bible's layout, appearance and quality are tops. The flexsoft leather cover is outstanding; the whole Bible is very flexible. As for price, it's a much better deal than the hardback (hardbacks should be reserved for reference works). This Bible is simply "stunning" !
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.