Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook

Thomas Nelson She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook

In She Still Calls Me Daddy, author Robert Wolgemuth reminds fathers of the important role they play in their daughter's lives even after they have given her away in marriage. He addresses seven key relationship issues that will change and even provides thoughts on becoming a grandfather. Topics include protection, conversation, affection, discipline, laughter, faith, and conduct. Jacketed hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Review 1 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynn P
Are you looking to strengthen your relationship with your daughter after she gets married and starts a family of her own? Then this book would be a great read. I was moved by this book. I am not a father and never will be but I really could see how this book would benefit the father for sure. Learning how to build a better relationship with your grown daughter after she gets married. I know there isn't a lot of books out there that help strengthen the bond you will have with her after she leaves your home. Built on a biblical foundation, the author helps you reach your best potential of being a father of a grown daughter. This book helps you embrace the challenges of letting her go as you watch her take the hand of her new husband. I know the day will come when I will watch my daughter leave the home and build a new one for herself. Tears of joy as well as anticipation and fear all come with this new life change. Learning to treat her as a woman and wife and letting go of the 'little girl' is a hard thing for a father to do.. This book will help you make this tough transition into something God has called blessed..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Denise Greenacre
If youre a Dad with one or more daughters this book is a must read! From the early years of doll houses to the day of their marriages, the author shares lots of practical experiences and stories that will cause you to laugh, cry and remember. Youll be caught up in Wolgemuths journey as he bares his heart and soul sharing with his readers the lessons he learned about giving his daughters away to another man, adjusting to son-in laws and acknowledging the reality of getting older.Whether youre a new Dad just starting out, or one with years in the trenches this is a great read and one you shouldnt miss! This book will give you special insights and the tools you need to gracefully expand your family and continue to cherish the young woman who still calls you Daddy.I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Freedom
This book is great.1. Its a page turner. The stories always have a direct point, and the author does not loose you with unnecessary details. For example, the author stresses the idea that giving your daughter away is a BIG deal. (not a bad deal.) The story is of a womans wedding day, and before she is given to the new man in her life, she still needs to call on her father.It was then that one of the bridesmaids approached Allis dad, Dan. Catching his eye, she leaned in toward his ear with a message that was not apparently for public broadcast. Seeing the intensity on her face, the father of the bride leaned in and listened carefully. Your Daughter needs you, the young woman whispered. In less than a minute, after a few steps down a short hall, Dan was standing next to his only daughter. Daddy and daughter were alone together in a small room, she had never looked more elegantMore grown upthan this. It was the moment she had dreamed of. At no time had she looked more ready to be a brideand a wife. But for this one exciting moment, amid the hurried activity and palpable anticipation, she needed the presence of this man who was her daddy. Just one more time.2. In the end of every chapter he gives the bare bones, no fluff, this is what you will need for the remodel edition of the chapter. Not really a check list, but more of a quick snap shot. These are extremely helpful.3. The purpose of the book is stated right before chapter one, and I truly appreciate what the author said:My Goal in penning the following pages is not to predict exactly what will happen in your remodeled relationship with your married daughter. I dont know that. And my goal is not to sound like an expert and tell you what to do every step of the way. Again, I am not equipped to understand every nuance of your personal situation. What I have attempted to do is to describe, from my own personal experience, the adventure you are about to face as honestly as I can.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Casey Pitts
In 2008, more than 2 million brides walked down the aisle leaving fathers and mothers behind. Maybe one of those beautiful girls moved out of your house.She Still Calls Me Daddy by Robert Wolgemuth offers advice for fathers using the analogy of remodeling a house. A father releases his daughter physically, emotionally, and spiritually when she cleaves to her husband. This relational remodeling project requires communication and acceptance.The concept of a new normal provides the books foundation. As young ladies date, they explore the family dynamics and habits of other households. Newlyweds then meld their ideas into a new normal. Robert Wolgemuth takes this premise to the next level and asks fathers to facilitate healthy new relationships with their grown daughters. I especially appreciate his honest disclosure of his own experiences. He gives the reader the opportunity to laugh at his mistakes and cry over his disappointments.Practical suggestions are scattered throughout each chapter. Readers who prefer a structured format will like the Remodelers Checklist summarizing each chapter in a lighthearted, sincere tone.She Still Calls Me Daddy will be on our parent resource shelf for years to come. As our daughters grow up, it will continue to provide encouragement and insight.Thank you to Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program for allowing me to review this title. http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aaron Conrad
What I connected with is a father that loves his daughters and his wife. It is written by a man that wants nothing more than to give his daughters away to their husband and yet continue to be their father and friend. As a Dad of two little girls and a son, I can appreciate the hearts desire to walk your children through their early years and then insure that their spouse will continue to good work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
D. Loach
Being the youngest daughter, I understand the bond between father and daughter. I well remember the day that my mom reminded me that "your dad still needs to know you need him". I was taken right away with the book, as Robert talks about the feelings that he had as he walked his daughters down the aisle.Using the running metaphor of remodelling a house - Robert candidly shares his emotional process in "letting go" of his daughter, as he faces the reality that as she married, she became part of a new team. He needs to "renovate" his expectations of being a dad, a dad with a daughter who is now a wife. Seeking counsel from a Rabbi friend, he is reminded of Jethro needing to know that Moses would take care of his daughter. A perspective we don't often think of, it's usually Moses in the story - not the father-in-law.I found the book insightful. To some of the things that changed quietly with my father after my marriage. He also shares the importance of recognizing that as a married couple, it's an adjustment that must be successfully made - returning to be a couple again, outside the role of active parents.While I wasn't the target audience for this book, I appreciate the opportunity to understand some of the emotional stuff my dad went through after my wedding. I would highly recommend it as a wedding gift for the Father's of the Bride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Reddoch
Since I too am a "teetotaler", I didn't agree with the part about the wine rack, etc, at all. He had been discussing helping his daughter redo a house and showing the house to his own father. The daughter had a wine rack in her kitchen I believe. The author's own father was not too thrilled about seeing that in his granddaughter's kitchen evidently. Mr. Wolgemuth described the "whys" of his father's reasonings in being a teetotaler. A teetotaler is a person who doesn't partake of alcohol of any kind. I am a teetotaler. Linda M. Reddoch -T Had I known this was in the book, I probably wouldn't have chosen this book to read. Drinking alochol of any kind totally offends me.Another part I didn't appreciate was the "dining table set caper". Seriously. The husband and daughter were in need of a dining room set. So for Christmas, the father and mother bought a beautiful dining room set for the couple. The daughter was so gracious and excited to receive it. But the son in law pouted because he wanted to buy the set himself and had been saving for it. The way I see it, the son in law was being self-centered and very selfish. Instead of putting his own selfishness to the side and rejoicing with his wife over a beautiful gift sent with love to the entire family...he pouts because he wasn't the one who got to buy it. It marred the whole thing. I was thinking this young man is very spoiled. That money he'd been saving could go towards another big purchase later on. Something else I'm sure he could find to surprise his wife with. I don't understand that type of thinking. I can't say I recommend this book to any of my friends and acquaintances for reading. I'm seriously not trying to hurt the author in any way either. I just have very strong convictions of my own. High standards or call me old fashioned. This was my own take on this book.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wayne Brooks
A Great book for new Fathers-n-Law and those that may be in the future. Dealing primary with the changing relationship of the father and daughter. When I started the book, "She Still Calls Me Daddy", by Robert Wolgemuth, I was not familiar with Mr. Wolgemuth's previous works. The book was fresh and it stood on its own. I did not feel that I missed out on this book by not reading his previous books. Clearly his insight into family issues and relationships was very good. They are relevant issues for today and tomorrow. I do not believe that this book will become outdated. His insights are associated in terms of the remodeling of relationships and the making of a new one. With real life stories from his own family, he illustrates the insights in this book. User friendly, each chapter has a remodeling check list to help summarize the lessons introduced.I am not a new father-n-law but I learned a lot on what to expect when the time comes and things that I can do now to prepare. It is also a good help for those in the family counseling field. Every pastor needs to read it.Member of the Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wayne Brooks
A Great book for new Fathers-n-Law and those that may be in the future. Dealing primary with the changing relationship of the father and daughter. When I started the book, "She Still Calls Me Daddy", by Robert Wolgemuth, I was not familiar with Mr. Wolgemuth's previous works. The book was fresh and it stood on its own. I did not feel that I missed out on this book by not reading his previous books. Clearly his insight into family issues and relationships was very good. They are relevant issues for today and tomorrow. I do not believe that this book will become outdated. His insights are associated in terms of the remodeling of relationships and the making of a new one. With real life stories from his own family, he illustrates the insights in this book. User friendly, each chapter has a remodeling check list to help summarize the lessons introduced.I am not a new father-n-law but I learned a lot on what to expect when the time comes and things that I can do now to prepare. It is also a good help for those in the family counseling field. Every pastor needs to read it.Member of the Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program. http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Steve
A great book. I really enjoyed reading it. Lots of great advice, and very readable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elmer Laydon
As fathers of daughters, we have always held the role of Daddy. We were the Protector the one she ran to when she scraped her knee, was scared of the monster under her bed, or when things just didn't go her way. But now shes getting married and our role as Daddy the Protector needs to change. Theres a new Protector in town her new husband and we need to learn to adapt and love our new role.Robert Wolgemuth provides words of wisdom and guidance to help fathers (and mothers) navigate in these unfamiliar waters.His advice is both practical and useful. The reading was easy and enjoyable. The story comes alive through real-life examples of how he and others have dealt with similar issues. The only problem that I see is, based upon the title, how many women readers may have been lost. This would be unfortunate if it is the case as the advice is applicable not just to fathers but to any person who is dealing with a family member who is either married or getting married.Some of the issues discussed include how to: not interfere with your child's relationship with their spouse, give the couple room to have their own marriage, let go of your daughter and the need to feel you have to protect her as if she were still a child, develop a relationship with you new son-in-law, and remake yourself and your role as a father now that there is a new, most-important man in her life.I give this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.I am a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2009
Are you a dad with a daughter that is planning a wedding? then this book is for you. This book is follow-up book to Wolgemuth's She Calls me Daddy. In his book She Still Calls Me Daddy moves the father into his new role as father-in-law. He discusses the changes that are made in this new relationship with his daughter. Dad is no longer #1 man in his little girl's life. He must relinquish that role to the new kid on the block, son-in-law. It isn't easy stepping down to second string. Wolgemuth gives tips and helps on how to make this new relationship easier for all concerned. Daddy may still be your name but you have a new role and relationship with now married daughter. Remodeling the family "normal" won't be as easy as it sounds. You must help your daughter see her new role now as wife to this son that you didn't raise. Wolgemuth says, "It is a BIG Deal to turn your daughter over to this new most important man, new go-to guy." There are lessons to be learned and changes ahead for everyone. as a new "normal" is found in all families involved: bride's parents, groom's parents and new family established as bride and groom . I have two teenage daughters so we will be fast approaching this remodeling time in our own family. I have totally enjoyed reading what Wolgemuth has had to say. I haven't read She Calls me Daddy, but may have to back peddle here and read it just because I so totally enjoyed this book. This was a very good book and I highly recommend it to any father of the bride-to-be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jamie Rouse
She may change her name and her address, but shes still my daughter, right? (pg. 23)When I realized that the Thomas Nelson Publishing Group was looking for people to review She Still Calls Me Daddy, I jumped at the chance. Not only did I think that it may interest some of my male readers out there but my own father who was two married daughters and almost three grandchildren. She Still Calls Me Daddy is Robert Wolgemuths sequel to She Calls Me Daddy in which he writes about his experiences of being a father to a two married daughters and his journey of going through the loss of being a dad as well as learning how to establish a new relationship with his married daughter. Numerous sections in the book are dedicated to understanding how to create a bond with your new son-in-law and what role he plays in the life of your daughter. I highly recommend this book to any father with a daughter in their teenage years and beyond. The book is faith-based and offers several stories from the Bible to illustrate the role of being a daddy. It could easily be used in a mens small group study or read by couples.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori H. Poppinga
In She Still Calls Me Daddy, Robert Wolgemuth, gives practical advice on releasing your daughter to her husband while "rebuilding" your relationship with her. Wolgemuth shares practical rebuilding steps in seven areas of relationship: *Protection *Conversation *Affection *Discipline *Laughter *Faith *Conduct Wolgemuth's candid approach and great story telling effectively teach the lessons both mother and father need to learn in order to build a lasting relationship with their daughter and her husband as they embark on their new marriage adventure. As a pastor's wife and mother of four daughters and four sons, I see the enormous value in a book that helps parents through the difficult adjustment of giving your child away to be cared for by another. I will recommend this book to my husband as a resource in counseling as well as to my friends with children nearing marrying age. I appreciated Wolgemuth's ability to laugh at his own errors and use them as tools to teach and equip other parents going through the same adventure. I am a reviewer for Thomas Nelson Pubishers and I love my job:)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Valerie Lynn
She Still Calls Me Daddy is more than a book to read. This book is a inspirational and biblically based guide to help fathers, as well as mothers, understand the emotional rollercoaster that will begin the moment their little girl says, I do. The author says, Giving her away at the altar doesnt mean completely giving up the relationship that youve so carefully built over the years, it just means that the relationship is going to need some substantial renovation. It does not matter if your daughter is two or 22, this book takes you from the moment your daughter is born to the day she says I do. It is a must read for any father or mother. It will aid you in the many changes that will take place when the day comes to let your little girl go. I highly recommend reading this book. I read it in one night and enjoyed every moment of it. I loved all the scripture references. I also loved the examples of biblical marriages in which one can relate to. Although my father was not alive to walk me down the aisle and let me go I do have a daughter and this book will aid me in knowing what her father will go through when he walks her down the aisle. I will know what to expect as well.I am a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program and include this link: http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tracey Brewer
I readily admit that my latest read, She Still Calls Me Daddy: Building a New Relationship with Your Daughter After You Walk Her Down the Aisle by Robert Wolgemuth, is geared toward dads who have recently had a daughter get married. However, I was curious what the authors take might be on giving his two daughters away in marriage. After all, I figured I could read it from the perspective of a daughter who has had a wonderful relationship with her father, not to mention seeing what might be in the future for my husband and our two girls.Wolgemuth uses the idea of remodeling a house as he delves into the building of a relationship with a married daughter and her husband. Chapters are devoted to the areas of protection, conversation, affection, discipline, laughter, faith and conduct. He includes lots of stories from his own experience, which make the information personal and interesting. I would have enjoyed seeing a few more practical tips on ways to develop and strengthen family connections in each of the areas he covered.My favorite chapter was the one on faith. The author uses the analogy of stirring ingredients together when following a recipe; in the same way, we as parents are to stir up the gifts that God has given to our children. God gives them ingredients or gifts; I, as a parent, am to do the stirring, those things that intentionally nurture and blend faith with everyday life. He also includes great advice on praying for our children once they have left home and are married.While I enjoyed reading this book, I am guessing it will mean even more to my husband and myself when we reach this stage in our lives. From all that is detailed in the book, it certainly sounds like the author has built great relationships with his married daughters and sons-in-law. I am a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.