Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Russ Doughten Films A Thief In The Night, DVD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Russ Doughten Films A Thief In The Night, DVD

Tribulation is coming and there will be no place to hide. A Thief in the Night is most popular "End Times" prophecy movie ever. Over 300,000,000 viewers. Patty disregards the prophetic Biblical warnings of the coming tribulation. Now the truth begins to unfold. Can she escape the dramatic, haunting circumstances? Is there a way out? The climax is riveting. Starring Patty Dunning and Thom Rachford.

Special Features:

  • Scene Selection
  • Producer/Director Track
  • Ministry Track
  • Movie Catalog
  • Digitally Re-mastered
  • Dolby Digital Sound
  • Average Customer Rating:
    3.786 out of 5
    3.8
     out of 
    5
    (14 Reviews) 14
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
    5 stars
    6
    4 stars
    4
    3 stars
    1
    2 stars
    1
    1 star
    2
    5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Review 1 for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 20, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    jcreif
    Location:Sun Valley CA
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I remember watching this movie back in the 80's and it really helps you to examine yourself to see if you really have a close relationship with the Lord I am very greatful to be able to find it on this website I have searching for it for quite some time
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    OK

    Date:May 11, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Precious
    Location:The Bible Belt
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    The movie was interesting. It is an old movie. But the plot was good.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5

    disapointed

    Date:January 9, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    dadaw
    Location:Hinckley, Ohio
    Age:55-65
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    Value: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    had I seen a review regarding this movie, I would have picked another. It would have been great for the 60's
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Wanted an old favorite movie.

    Date:June 13, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Barb
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    A dated movie as far as costumes, dialogue etc. but message is thought-provoking.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    just as i remembered it....

    Date:March 16, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    sandie
    Location:dade city, FL
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    i saw this movie in church in NJ when i was 15 years old and it scared the heck out of me! my husband saw it in HIS church in FL about the same time and he had the same reaction. we've talked about it over the years but never expected to find it...till i looked here! needless to say we bought it...the quality is good. the subject matter is awesome...the acting and film itself is a little....dated but that's OK. we've since bought part 2 and am contemplating getting 3 and 4 as well...
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:March 7, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    freebird
    Location:Sebring,FL & Castle Rock,CO
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I've seen this movie yr's back in the earley 80's. My father & i rented it. It was so real that i got goose bump's everywe're. Been trying to find it again & now i found it only because of this movie that is advertised on line (Standing Firm). Which made me look further. I've looked for christian store's to find this movie, it was on vidieo back than. I've told people, friend's & family all about it. Every now & than it came to mined. I have to get it & also the movie, Standing Firm. I wonder if their are Christian store's where u can rent their movie's. Any info please let me knw. Thank u !!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 27, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Brenda Finley
    I first saw this movie in 1980 a couple of months after I became a Christian and hadn't seen it in many years when I ordered it to show to a group at our church. I thought I would enjoy it a little less after all of these years because of new technology, etc., but I was pleasantly surprised to learn that I enjoyed it just as much this time--if not more! It's a great message at a time when not many people think about the imminent return of Jesus and the rapture of the church.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Date:June 20, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Mark
    It is obvious this a very low budget movie from the early 1970's, and certainly outdated by today's standards. I also think the price is a little high. However, the most important thing is the MESSAGE that the movie, and plot gives according to God's Word. For that alone I would give it a 5 STAR rating. It looks as if the writers really gave some deep thought of every angle of thought and the decisions that those people who are left behind will endure concerning the end times, and the tribulation period. When I watched this movie for the first time back in the 1980's it really woke me up and gave me more of an insight of what will happen durring those times. Jesus is coming again soon---are you ready? Is your heart right with God?
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:March 12, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Philip
    Campy good fun for the entire family or youth group. This movie is end-times hysteria at it's best and worst. Instead of focusing on Jesus as the author and finisher of our faith, let's instead focus on what Jesus made clear was not going to be made clear. Complete Christian silliness. I highly recommend. Our youth group laughed till our sides hurt.
    -4points
    0of 4voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:January 25, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    John
    Don't waste your money. This series is an embarrassment to Christians everywhere. Terrible acting, sciptwriting and sets. The only plus is that Larry Norman's song "I wish we'd all been ready" is in the movie. It was used primarily to terrorize youth groups in the 70's and 80's.
    -3points
    0of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 6, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Kim Davenport
    love this movie.I remember seeing this when I was a little girl;had to see it again.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:November 14, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Daphne Devonish
    Good witness tool, outdated and the DVD is overpriced. It appears this was done in the early 70's or 80's, it is outdated..
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:April 11, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Deborah Patrick
    If anyone wants to know what the rapture will be like, this is the movie. A must for non christians.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for A Thief In The Night, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:December 28, 2007
    Customer Avatar
    Darren Ervin
    This movie is the predecessor to the end-time genre, and the first in a series of 4 films (originally released by MarkIV films).Keeping in mind that this film was originally filmed in the early 70s, and therefore the quality and style may seem a bit dated..it is still a riveting, suspenseful, and thought-provoking movie about what life becomes once the Rapture takes place. It quickly becomes a matter of who you can trust, and what you must do to avoid persecution and death if you're one of those that was left behind.These movies, when played in churches, were the inspiration for mass alter-calls, resulting in widespread salvation.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.