Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki

Hendrickson Publishers Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki

It started out as the Full Life Study Bible; then it became the Life in the Spirit Study Bible. Now we know it as the new and improved Fire Bible—a reference library in one volume.

Originally conceived as a tool to help Pentecostal pastors and lay leaders preach, teach, and reach others with the Gospel, this study Bible is now available in the King James Version. It includes extensive notes, background articles on key issues, and authoritative commentary, along with dozens of other unique features. Created by Life Publishers International.

"The FIRE BIBLE has incredible tools for those who want to become effective witnesses and disciples . . . Every believer needs to have the Fire Bible."
—Dr. Charles T. Crabtree, President, Zion Bible College

Special Features
  • Themefinders point readers to 12 major themes of the Pentecostal tradition
  • More than 70 articles explain historical and theological aspects of major topics
  • Study notes for key verses
  • Book introductions
  • Subject index
  • Cross-references
  • Concordance
  • In-text maps and charts
  • One-year reading plan
  • Color maps
  • Ribbon marker
  • Presentation page
  • Silver page edges
  • 9.75" x 7.25" x 2.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki
Review 1 for Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Study Bible

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Helen Lee
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The KJV Fire Bible is a wonderful study Bible. I am very thankful that they produce this study Bible in King James Version (the most accurate Bible translation). The print is larger and much clearer than the Life in the Spirit Study Bible. Its paper quality is good, not much ghosting. I wish they have genuine leather cover on this Bible which is more durable. That's the reason I rate it 4 stars instead of 5 stars. I bought 2 of this Bible (1 for my husband and 1 for myself) and would like to buy more in the future when my children are older.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bobbi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the product. It is a great study bible. The price was great too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Bible

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
templar1992
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this Bible! It is a valuable help in personal and Bible studies. With it coming from a Pentecostal perspective, it gives you insights that a lot of study Bibles do not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome bible

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
vern
Location:Searcy Ar
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! Best study bible out there! Great service! Fast delivery!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent study tool

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I had our own copies of the Full Life Study Bible years ago, and we were hooked by the great study notes. A complaint with that Bible was that the names of the books were on the inside of the pages, instead of on the outside corners for quicker location of scriptures. The Life in the Spirit Bible changed that, which I found to be of great benefit. I didn't realize until today that there is yet another improved version, The Fire Bible. Ever since I had my first Full Life Study Bible, I wondered why the publishers did not include a self-pronouncing text. None of these three Pentecostal Bibles have that. While using my Life in the Spirit Bible, I had hoped that, if another version was offered, that feature would be added. Maybe next time? Still, an excellent Bible with great tools that cover a lot of material, but are still easy to understand. This Bible is a tremendous help to both new converts who need basics in studying, as well as to "seasoned saints" who like some in-depth notes as well. My pastor/husband uses this Bible in the pulpit as well as for his personal studies. The text size is comfortably readable. I highly recommend this Bible to all Pentecostal Christians. And if the Publisher should happen to read this review (by some small chance), please add self-pronouncing text next go-round. Perhaps some people think that feature takes away from the smooth reading of the text, but I really do like to know how to pronounce names correctly when I am studying to teach. I always have to reach for another Bible to look up pronunciations. God bless!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great tool for Bible study, or for sermon help

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
jon1206
Location:Kingsport, TN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great, love the layout, and places to write your own notes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

KJ Fire Bible

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
DCORONA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing foot notes! Filled with so much information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible with Pentecostal focus

Date:December 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Randy A Brown
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hendrickson’s Fire Bible series is an improved version of the original Full Life Study Bible. It’s an all-in-one reference library for Pentecostal Christians. It was originally developed for Pentecostal Pastors and lay-leaders as a tool for preaching, teaching, and outreach. The Fire Bible has been available for a while in NIV and is now available in KJV.
Features include:
• Paragraph format
• 10-point font
• Red-letter
• Themefinders - 12 major Pentecostal themes
• More than 70 articles on historical and theological topics
• Study notes for key verses
• Book introductions
• Subject index
• Cross-references and textual notes
• Section headings
• Concordance
• In-text maps and charts
• One-year reading plan
• Color maps
• 9.50" x 7.00" x 2.00"
Cover and Binding
This edition is hard cover. It is also available in imitation leather with 2 ‘his and her’ design options. One is blue with black and grey. The other is pink with khaki, red, and tan. The binding is sewn.
Layout
The layout of the Fire Bible is different from the Full Life Study Bible. It is still two columns, but the text is now in paragraph format. The verse numbers are large and in bold, so verses are easy to find (which has always been an issue for me with paragraph format). There are section headings in the text that are in bold. References are located on the inside margin near the gutter. Notes are at the bottom of the page. In my opinion this layout is much nicer than the NIV edition.
Paper and Font
The paper is the basic paper you would expect to find in today’s study Bibles. It’s slightly rough. It looks opaque in the text sections and is not distracting where it counts, but there’s much more ghosting in the other sections. It does the job, but it’s my least favorite feature of this Bible. The font looks around a 10 point with 11 point leading. That’s a guess, but I think I’m close. It’s very readable and print quality is consistent. The red-letter is a medium to dark shade. It looks nice and is easy to read. Notes are around 8/9 (again just guessing).
Book Introductions
Each book is introduced with a nice outline, author/theme/date info, background, purpose, survey, special features, interpretation principle, reading plan, and ruled notes section. This takes around 4-5 pages depending on the book. Each of the sections takes a couple of paragraphs. The reading plan is for reading that Testament through in one year and includes boxes to check off when that day’s material is read. The notes section is different from one book to the next because the space for it is simply the page that is left after the reading plan. It’s usually at least a half page. Not every book has the notes section (Mark does not).
Cross-References and Textual Notes
The references are located on the inner margin. The references have the verse numbers, but they are not keyed to the text. This keeps the text more readable, but tracing down the references takes a little more work because you have to go to all of the verses to see if any of them apply to the portion of the verse you’re looking for. The references are not the same as the Zondervan version. Gen.1:1 has three references. The textual notes are keyed to the text.
Study Notes, Maps, and Charts
The notes (and articles) were written by missionary Donald C. Stamps, M.A., M.Div. His focus is on missions and witnessing with a Pentecostal emphasis. They follow Church of God/Assemblies of God doctrine. The notes also include historic facts, general facts, people, places, customs, etc. They also include 45 maps and charts. Some of the charts take several pages and give references to topics like the Passion Week, the Gifts of the Spirit, and the Last Days of History. There is an index in the front with names and page numbers for the maps and charts.
Articles
There are 77 articles that are spread throughout the Bible. They range from doctrinal topics such as Creation, Christ in the OT, Speaking in Tongues, and the Rapture, to personal growth such as Praise, Worship, Effective Praying, and Bible Training. They also have a Church of God/Assemblies of God mindset and doctrinal focus. End-time studies are Arminian, with end-time events being still future, the Rapture as the next event, then the Great Tribulation, and then the Millennium (pre-trib, pre-millennial).
Themefinders
The Themefinders are a chain reference system with symbols in the margin. There are 12 Pentecostal themes (Spirit Baptism, Gifts of the Spirit, Fruit of the Spirit, Healing, Faith, etc), each with its own symbol. In the front is a list of the Themefinders and the first reference for each one. In the back is an index of all of the Themefinder references. When you go to any one of the references you will see the symbol for that theme in the margin at the first verse, then a line drawn down the page to the last verse. Along the line, printed vertically, is the reference for the next verse in the chain. Themefinders can be used for personal study, group study, teaching, preaching, witnessing, etc. I like the way the Themefinders work. I’ve used this type of study system in my other Bibles. Any topic can be used with this type of chain reference system.
Subject Index
The subject index gives references to articles, book introductions, verses, charts, and similar topics where the subject is discussed. It’s a very helpful tool for me because I do a lot of topical study. I’d like to see more Bibles include subject indexes.
Concordance
There is a 75 page concordance. It has two columns per page. It doesn’t have a lot of entries and in my opinion is the weakest tool in this study Bible. Given Its size, I’m not sure if it’s possible to get much more in this Bible. Since they are not using ultrathin paper, I’m sure they had to cut something back, so they went with a smaller concordance. It’s not as nice as the 109 page concordance in the Life in the Spirit version from Zondervan.
Maps
Not only are there maps in the notes, there are also 16 maps in the back. They are limited in colors and almost look cartoonish. Still, they get the job done. I would like to see an index added (the Zondervan had the index). That would make the maps easier to use.
Conclusion
The KJV Fire Bible from Hendrickson Publishers is a great study Bible with a Pentecostal perspective. Like all study Bibles, I caution readers to search the Scriptures for themselves and to always question the notes in their study Bibles. With that said, there are lots of great articles and notes in this Bible for personal growth and a spiritual mindset, making this Bible an excellent study tool. In my opinion, this edition has the nicest layout of the three versions of this Bible (Full Life, Life in the Spirit, and Fire Bible).
Hendrickson Publishers provided this Bible free for review. I was not required to give a positive review- only an honest review.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Date:November 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scott
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely what I was hoping it would be. Love using it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I would recommend this Bible to all

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
milly
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:male
We know several people that have this Bible and they are very pleased with all the great features. The price is reasonable...Thanks
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maria
Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Awesome and a beautiful Bible well put together. Thank the Lord!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fire Bible KJV version, imitation leather rose/Khaki
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressed...

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joseph
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good quality and i really like the Bible's content from a Spirit-filled perspective.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.