Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for God & Country Press Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq & Afghanistan: Battlefields & Blessings

God & Country Press Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq & Afghanistan: Battlefields & Blessings

Battlefields & Blessings is a 365 day collection of inspiring stories of courage perseverance and faith based on first hand accounts of more than seventy who have served in the war in Iraq and Afghanistan. Through multiple, never-before-told stories, you'll uncover the personal challenges of the battlefield and hear the experiences and perspectives of deployed soldiers, chaplains, military wives, parents, organizers of humanitarian escorts, and veterans suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq & Afghanistan: Battlefields & Blessings
Review 1 for Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq & Afghanistan: Battlefields & Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Personal views on Iraq and Afghanistan

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bettina
Location:Washington, D.C.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the recent 2010 congressional elections, polls indicated that the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan were not anywhere near the top of many voters’ minds as they went to the polls. But every day, our troops and their families continue to sacrifice and serve in both of these wars. Battlefields and Blessings – Stories of Faith and Courage from The War in Iraq and Afghanistan is the much needed call to remember not only the sacrifices our troops and their families have made and continue to make in these regions, but how the hand of God is ever present in times of trouble.
Written as a daily devotional, the book shares the stories of members of the armed forces, parents of service members, spouses, children, missionaries who have served in these countries and also politicians and civilians who serve our military. A source of encouragement amidst stories that could otherwise be overwhelming and disheartening, each day includes an inspirational story from the conflicts, along with an applicable Bible verse and a one or two sentence prayer. The varied perspectives from not just those who have served in the conflict, but many others affected by these wars, gives the reader a multifaceted look at not only the challenges, but also the positive outcomes in times of battle.
One of my favorite entries was the story of Stephanie Olsen, wife of military police officer Joe Olsen. Stephanie talks about how she answers when people ask her how it feels to be the wife of a serviceman. Her one word answer is “personal.” Thanks to the efforts of Jane Hampton Cook, Jocelyn Green and John Croushorn, we have in-depth and encouraging insight into the very personal world of those affected by the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan and the blessings given by the One who watches over all of them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq & Afghanistan: Battlefields & Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:November 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
lczta
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The structure of this book is totally different than what I was expecting, though looking back at the format for Faith Deployed, it makes sense and it fits with Jocelyn Green’s style. Each account is broken up into days. There are 365 stories, real life stories, from real people and in their own words. Each day is titled, explained, and then summarized with an amazing, simple, yet effective prayer.
I read the first few months of the book aloud to my husband who just returned from his third deployment in 2 years. He was able to relate to a lot of the stories and even add comments on things he had been briefed on or learned through training exercises. For being a military spouse, who doesn't experience deployment in the service member’s shoes, it definitely made me understand and appreciate my husband and all others serving in our armed services.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq & Afghanistan: Battlefields & Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book!

Date:November 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie the Army Wife
Location:Tennessee
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battlefields and Blessings is a book made up of a bunch of different stories/devotionals. Co-authored by Jane Hampton Cook, Jocelyn Green and John Croushorn.
The book has 1 entry for each day of the year. Now I read the book all the way through over a few weeks. But you could also just read 1 entry a day based on the day or a couple each day. The entries are from different people associated with the military in some way. From Chaplains who work at the Pentagon who were there on 9/11, to military wives having to get through deployments. A lot of people who wrote them have about 3-4 entries each. I found this pretty cool because it let me know a little bit more about each of the people who wrote them. At the end of each entry, there is a short prayer for us to read. I could really see this book as a great tool to have during a hard situation such as a deployment. There are stories of faith, what people have gone through and some very inspirational thoughts that just stick with you.
The people who wrote in this book felt very real to me. Sometimes there were entries from a husband and wife and it was great to hear from both of them. There were stories about 9/11, the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan and life back at home. Stories from mothers and wives and from those who have been to war. I also really enjoyed the layout and even how the book was put together. Just a great mix of people.
The one entry that sticks out to me was from a military wife Kerri Hartwick who lost her husband in Iraq. One of the prayers listed said, ”Lord, prepare my heart for whatever you have in store for me.” Really this is what we have to deal with in life. We don’t know the future or if our prayers will be answered but we can know God is there for us through whatever we must go through. There were many other entries that made me feel very encouraged as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq & Afghanistan: Battlefields & Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
VIC PRIMEAUX
While this is meant to be a DAILY book of meditations for anyone involved directly or indirectly with the global war against terror -- from 9/11 to today's battlefield -- most of us will find it almost impossible to stop from reading days or weeks ahead. The authors weave these stories together so adeptly as they are shared from the hearts of those in the battle, from those waiting at home, and from those called alongside as chaplains and medical staff. Our memories of the news accounts from the battlefield often dim with time, but these stories of our modern-day 'heroes of the faith' will be carried for years in our hearts and shared long into the future with our loved ones. VIC PRIMEAUX, CMF Director of Ministry to Coast Guard Forces and Families
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq & Afghanistan: Battlefields & Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tricia Mae Price
Testimonies of Gods power, grace, protection, love and deliverance are clearly displayed in this devotional. My husband served during the war in Iraq and is soon to serve in Afghanistan so this really hits home. It is a true blessing to us as a military Christian couple, as well as a blessing to anyone who reads it. VERY INSPIRATIONAL, LIFE CHANGING AND A MUST READ!~Mrs. Tricia Mae Price, Army wife, health and fitness professional
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq & Afghanistan: Battlefields & Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lacy Merrill
Chills, Chills, Chills!! I am a better person for having read your book. I was moved by the faith and courage of every person's story. I laughed, i cried- well bawled actually :) It was eye opening to say the least, a side of deployment most spouses never see! I am so thankful you wrote this book, these are stories that EVERY American needs to hear.. incredible stories of hope, faith and perseverance! "..loved her more than all the sweat on all the soldiers in Iraq.." OMG.. I Love that! And soo many other parts. Especially the Scripture and coordinating prayer. One of those books you cant put down.. my breath catches in my throat and sticks there and I just Have to keep reading! I could go on and on! Beautiful.. a written work of art.. i must read it again, I rushed thru it cuz i couldnt stop reading it! Now I need to go back and reread slowly savoring every blessed morsel!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq & Afghanistan: Battlefields & Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Arlene James
One of the most moving and illuminating devotional books ever to cross my path. We worship a real God, as demonstrated here in real stories from real people who are among the very finest of this or any generation.~Arlene James, author, Steeple Hill Books
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq & Afghanistan: Battlefields & Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy L. Guzzo
Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq and Afghanistan isn't just for military families, it's for anyone who wants to learn of Gods care and comfort from those that have experienced it firsthand in the midst of war. The honest heartfelt perspectives in this devotional reveal to the reader the reality of the uncertainties thats part of everyday life for anyone involved in OIF or OEF. The combination of the narratives, the daily short prayers, and Bible references bring together the truth that in the midst of heartache, tragedy, loneliness, separation, battles, and fear, God is always present offering hope, faith, love, peace, and comfort to those that chose to accept it.~ Kathy Guzzo, mother of a former Marine
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq & Afghanistan: Battlefields & Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jessica Crow
Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq and Afghanistan was such a testimony to me! It has had a stronger impact on me than any book I have read in a long time. These stories clearly show what life is like for our men and women in uniform, as well as their families. It has truly spurred patriotism, pride, and being more of a prayer warrior. This book has challenged me to respond more biblically to the reality of war.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stories of Faith and Courage from the War in Iraq & Afghanistan: Battlefields & Blessings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
hsrowley
This book is a real treasure to anyone who has a loved one that has served in Iraq and Afghanistan and would like to have an understanding of what they may have gone through. It reflects on personal stories of conflict and how the Faith and Trust in Our Lord has prevailed and has endured them in times of extreme trial. This book will be a true comfort to me while my son is deployed and a reminder to me that no matter what happens, Our Loving God is in control and carries him in the palm of His Mighty Hands. ~Susan Rowley, Blue Star Mom
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.