Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook

Thomas Nelson Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook

Serafina must rely on her wits and newfound trust in God to save her from a killer known only as "The Slasher" in the story that concludes the Lady Trent Mysteries. Women from the upper end of British society are being targeted by a killer known as The Slasher. When her best friend becomes the latest victim, Lady Trent vows to capture the murderer with the help of her partner Dylan Tremayne. The case sends her head spinning, but her personal life is even more complicated as she finds herself falling in love with Dylan. Having sworn to never marry again, she is shocked by the depths of her feelings for this charming actor. When all clues point to Lady Trent as the killer's next intended victim, she has to come to terms with the fact that she's not ready to die. Dylan, a devout Christian, has to lead her to a new life of faith-a life she finds is not as easy as she'd imagined.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Review 1 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed the whole Lady Trent mystery series.

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr Mom
Location:Houston, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I simply loved reading the entire Lady Trent mystery series. The author held my interest throughout reading the series. The characters, the Christian content, and historical facts made for a cannot-put-down reading experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this series

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Location:Central NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of my favourite summer reads ever. i bought the series a few years ago and just loved it. the main female character is a strong woman who has a vulnerable side. i love that they didnt make her a clinging vine and that they gave her a fabulous career for the times. its a fairy tale that draws you in and still gives credit to the Word. nicely done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sonya Stepherson
I have read the first two books and enjoyed this one. I was a litle disapointed that Dylan did not figure out the sonnet sooner. I had no trouble figuring it out without a map.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Penny Hardaway
Gilbert Morris creates the most wonderful characters. Lady Trent and Dylan Tremayne are both strong and compassionate. I love Dylan's humor. I would love to see more of these 2 characters. The ending of this, the 3rd in the series, opens so many doors for future stories. As always, Morris has combined romance, mystery, a fair amount of excitement, and humor into another book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lida Chikos
For a light read, this book is just okay. I felt the character development was pretty good, but the historical inaccuracies over shadow the story. Anyone who enjoys Victorian mysteries will have a hard time getting through it. I am surprised that it was not edited better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
Pretty neat series.I would recommend to friends who like suspense. If they are into romance only, probably not.I too have some serious concerns about the homosexual situation being the moving element. Did that era really come out like that without someone needing the vapors in a fainting spell? I felt it was somewhat contrived and personally I would have looked for a different motive for the slasher. I like the "educated" Lady Trent. Pretty unusual for that time.All in all I would say if there is more from Lady Trent, that will be nice. Though once the 'parties involved' get settled with each other that is usually the end of any series?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenny Lazuardi
I read all three of Lady Trent mysteries. There was just enough suspense,humor and hystery to make worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2009
This is the best of the Lady Trent Mysteries. It keeps one turning the pages and it had a good ending. The author is a good mystery writer and I enjoy his other stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
rebops
Warning : This book, while not explicit or glorified, contains mention of lesbian lovers. (See page 298) Won't recommend this book to anyone, doesn't capture the feel of Victorian times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathryn Hupp
This was a very goo d book. Kept me guessing. Hope there are more Lady Trents to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty Detwiler
I never cease to be amazed at how Gilbert Morris can be so prolific a writer. As I had read the other two books at least a year ago, I had forgotten most of what the main characters were like, But within one chapter I could remember who Lady Trent, David and Dylan were. While I was glad to see Morris was limiting this series to three, I was also a little sad that there won't be any more Lady Trent books in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill S Jones
I love this series! It is so entertaining! I enjoy the mishaps of Lady Trent! A good read! I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janice H. Johnson
I thoroughly enjoyed the entire Lady Trent seires. Gilbert Morris writes in a style that keeps you reading to see what happens next. It is NOT a good chioce if you are trying to go to sleep, but it is very entertaining. Thanks, Mr. Morris. I knocked off half a point because I picked out the murderer before he discosed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dorothy K. Johnson
I think the Lady Trent mysteries were great - as all of Gilbert Morris's books are. I rate it #1.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty D Duffer
A reader would enjoy this book most, I believe, if they had alreadyread the other 2 in this series. Having read all three, I felt it was aperfect ending to a set of very well told stories placed in 19th centuryEngland. I would, however, hope to see 1 or 2 more ofthese involving Serafina and Dylan as a team.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sonnet to a Dead Contessa - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Johnson
This third book of the series is well worth reading. I think I enjoyed the first two books more than this one, in a sense, because both contained more about Dylan Tremayne, a thoroughly inspirational character. The only negative aspect of the book is all the pages devoted to Meredith. I got so tired of her! (And, possibly, Dylan was acting rather stupidly. I really don't think that living honorably means that we turn our brains off!) The book's ending is completely satisfying for Dylan, Serafina, and her son and father. The second romance in the book was very nice too. This series is excellent, and I wish that the author would write more historical mysteries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.