Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Living Ink The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud

Living Ink The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud

2009 Winner of the Readers Favorite Award

When Max, a Scottish terrier, takes his usual morning trot to the loch one day, he hears a mysterious Voice humming in the reeds. "Come to Me," it says, "follow the fire cloud." He embarks on a strange journey from Scotland, meeting other animals along the way including Liz, a brilliant petite black cat from France. Max and Liz become the brave leaders for their group. The mysterious journey leads them across Europe to the Middle East, and is filled with danger, humor, trials, and triumphs. At the end of their travels, they find Noah and his family enduring ridicule from villagers while building an ark.

The moment these animals enter the ark is a spectacular one as the ark is magically transformed into the animals' natural habitats. As they enter their stalls, ice forms on the walls for the polar bears, a desert climate emerges for the kangaroos, a rainforest develops for the monkeys, and a waterfall flows from a rock where the crocodiles and tropical birds dwell. During the year aboard the ark, Liz finds ways to keep the animals occupied, including daily exercise led by the flamingos and talent night where the animals entertain each other with their natural abilities. But a sinister plot develops. Someone is out to kill Noah and his family. Liz follows clues that lead her to discover a stowaway who has deceived them all. Max and Liz foil the plot, but at a high price. Filled with unexpected twists and turns, readers find themselves wavering between despair to hope.

The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz is a magical fiction series that takes Max and Liz through biblical to modern times, causing amazing things to happen behind the scenes in human history. Recommended for ages 8 to 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Review 1 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
sunshine
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Ark, the Reed, & the Fire Cloud is a book written by Jenny L. Cote. She takes stories from the Bible and brings imaginations alive with the adventure of the main characters and their mates: two dogs, Max and Kate, and two cats, Liz and Al. They all embark separately on a journey of Faith, following the fire cloud after they all hear the Maker calling to them. They soon meet each other and together forge a friendship that is inseparable. They go through many countries and past many waters following the cloud, but also discover that they are not the only ones. Liz, the expertise on many things, notices that two animals from all over the world have been called, and struggles with her faith of the impossible. Meanwhile Max has a fear of water, and when they reach their final destination he discovers it is an Ark. After all of the animals are finally loaded, flood waters rise and the rains come down for forty days and forty nights. During the time of waiting to reach dry ground, Max has been declared a hero, and when things get out of hand Liz suspects one of Max’s friends, and in discovering this she could end her friendship with Max. Will Max be able to understand the importance of what is happening, or will he ignore the evidence?
The story is very exciting and involves the reader. The author writes in a very unique setting, many of which are not used a lot. Jenny L. Cote brings her characters alive and the details make you feel as if you are a part of the story. For example, in one scene she shows how when the animals step into their stalls, the animals’ natural habitat appears with everything they need, from waterfalls and rain forests, to deserts and ice.
In the end the main characters learn to not be prideful and to trust God, not trying to logically solve everything. Max learned to conquer his fears and not be prideful, like the waters from the flood, and to give he glory to God instead of himself, while God showed Liz how all things are possible with Him, like the ark stalls transforming into the animals natural habitats.
10 out of 10 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adorable!

Date:November 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this authors take on the story of the flood. God uses a dog and a cat to bring the animals to the ark. Along the way Mack and Liz find new friends and learn how to depend on God for all things. The most amazing thing I loved about this book was the authors take on how the animals lived on the ark. It was an amazing concept and it has given me much to think about.
The book itself is quit thick, 432 pages but you do get your moneys worth. Overall a wonderful book for children to read or be read to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dr. Doolittle meets the Bible

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
DonaldJamesParker
Location:Crossville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think the story of Noah's ark is the most fascinating of all the majestic tales which have been chronicled in the Bible. Never has it been told like Jenny Cote tells it here. From a flatulent cow to a cerebral cat, which chooses as a mate Garfield's prototype, to aerobic instructing flamingos to a poetry spouting frog, several of the myriad animals booked for passage on the ark come to life for the readers. The characters speak with native accents and sprinkle in words from their own languages. So the French feline named Liz purrs in Francais, and the Scottish Terrier named Max growls with a Scottish brogue. Of course in reality, at this time in Earth's history, languages such as French and Spanish and English and countries such as Canada, America, Russia, Scotland, and Argentina were just a twinkle in God's eye. This is fantasy after all, and a reader must suspend a modicum of disbelief in order to enjoy that genre.
Jenny attempted to give us a different and entertaining perspective on this whale of a tale. She succeeded admirably. If you're looking for wholesome and faith building entertainment for your children, you can't go wrong with this book, and I suspect the same for the rest of the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderfull book

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
happy mom
Location:Long Island NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my ten year old son, loves this book, this is the third book that he reads from this author in a year. He loves to read books so I am very happy to be able to get him biblical oriented literature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gideon
I just loved this book!!! It had awesome themes and characters! I just love how Jenny made me feel like I was in the story!!! You should really read this book!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
emmy
i LOVE the max and liz book!jenny l. cote is sooo awsome,www.maxandliz.com tells you all about her and max and liz, and her books!the story is sooo exciting and all the twists and turns make this story wonderfully unique :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sara
I LOVED these books! I actually got in touch with Jenny, and now I will be an advanced reader for The Prophet, the Shepherd, and the Star. Thank you for your amazing books, Jenny!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie
My 10 year old daughter read this book in a few days and could not lay it down. This book as over 400 pages and she would read it to sleep at night and again when she woke up in the morning. Her eords to me were,"Mom you have to read this". After reading this book she had to have the other book and is enjoying that one just as much. She is hoping that there will be a third book.I think Jenny Cote did an amazing job in captivating the interest of young lives and by showing the faithfulness of our Heavenly Father.i would recommend this book to young readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Samuel Kim
1-2-10 I LOVE these books. It has me envoloped in a world of god. It has me happy always when I turn pages, the swish whispering, an image in my mind. If I could, I'd keep the two books in a glass case with gold on the edges, a pedestal of gold. Silver outlining the image of Maxilliam Braveheart the Bruce and Mademoiselle Lizzete Brilliante. I can't express my love for Jenny L. Cote, her pets and her books. If I met Jenny and her pets, I'll bet I'd faint. LIZ, MAX! LIZ, MAX! Cheers my mind when I read Jenny's books. Jenny, if you are reading this, I think you deserve the best prize an author can get.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joy
My 9 year old daughter loved this book. She couldn't put it down. Every night she would read herself to sleep and in the morning she couldn't wait to tell me all about it. I felt as though I have also read the book. The day she finished this book it was off to the christian book store to buy the next one. She even used her own money to buy it. And she says its even better than the first one. Thanks Jenny Cote for finally writing a book thats worth reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy
This is a great book with suspense and a lot of fun. It shows God's amazing power and is great for all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laina
My eight year old son LOVED this book, he absolutely couldn't put it down. Some reviewers (adults) thought this book might be a tad long for young readers, however my son read this in 5 days and when he finished he asked, " Why did the book have to be so short?".I agree that some biblical facts have suffered poetic license, but I too enjoyed reading about these sweet, comical creatures!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Libby
I have to agree with Jennifer's review. A cute story about animals traveling to the ark, but the facts relating to after the ark landed were "skimmed through" you might say. I did enjoy the book, but I definitely think the ending could have been better. As a "read-a-holic", though few, I always admire books that have a real ending. Endings that don't always turn out the way readers desire them to. I am not criticizing the book, only pointing out that it did not have a "real" ending. Libby, 14
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Though Cotes unique retelling is light-hearted and fun-filled, Gods glory, honour and righteousness are always front and center, contrasted with the lies, deceit and self-interest of the enemy who makes his presence felt upon the ark. The importance of a personal relationship with God is illustrated through Maxs need to set himself aside and full rely on his maker.A full-length novel at 476 pages, this series debut seemed longer than the plot warranted. Though I succeeded in reading through the work aloud to my young ones - and they were duly entertained by the comical carousing of Al, the plump orange tabby, throughout - I wonder if many readers in the targeted age range of 9 12-years-old will make it through. A huge amount of character development, background and detail was included that seems to only puff up the page count rather than truly contributing to the storyline.Though a generally enjoyable read, I was disappointed to find several of the doctrinally important occurrences following the landing of the ark rewritten to be pet-friendly. The sacrifice made by Noah and his family, resulting in Gods pleasure and his promise of the rainbow is glossed over, and Gods ensuing promise and new commands for life in this post-flood world are entirely rewritten and inaccurate as well.From an author who claims to stay true to the facts and events that God gave in His word, and the facts known from eyewitness accounts in history I find this deeply disappointing. I truly enjoy Biblical fiction, but firmly believe that the basic facts as laid out in scripture should be clearly incorporated within storylines to avoid confusion - particularly in writings for young children. As a result of this omission of facts that could have been easily included in the story, Im unable to recommendThe Ark, the Reed, and the Fire Cloud to potential readers. Perhaps future installments will provide more in step with scripture.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol G
It is a wonderful adventure story that looks at an familiar event (at least to most of us) from a different perspective -- how did Noah get all the animals on board? Did he go after them? Maybe, but not in this story -- God called to 2 of every kind from all over the earth and they journeyed to Noah and arrived just in time. I hadn't thought about it before, but how did the animals from different climiates survive being on the ark, let alone the journey?I'm a children's librarian and can't wait to both use this as a read-aloud and to recommend to my older students.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Liana Metal
Jenny L.Cote has a passion for God, History and young people. She lives in Roswell, Georgia, where she writes full time. The Ark, the Reed and the Fire Cloud is an enjoyable story about Noahs Ark. Actually, the innovative aspect is that this story is retold from a unique perspective; via the adventures of a dog, Max, who is called by the Voice to follow the red cloud and fulfill his own destiny. What is going to happen to him on the way to the Ark? Max feels lonely but soon he comes across a lot of new friends that he will protect during their long journey to the other side of the earth.The author manages to retell this old Bible story from a fresh point of view. The language is simple for all children to follow and the cover is very attractive. In this book the kids meet all kinds of animals from all parts of the world, and it is humorous at times, sad or exciting to read about all the details Jenny provides her young readers with. This book caters to young readers, age 8-12, but it is also suitable for everyone in the family as it is entertaining and educational. It is a good read for schools and reading groups as it provides input to talk about and encourages readers to see old biblical stories in a new light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christine M. Irvin
This is a clever and imaginative tale based on the Biblical story of Noahs Ark. Thousands of animals come to Noah from all parts of the world, called by the Maker to follow the fire cloud, a bright cloud in the sky. The animals reach the ark safely, after many trials, but things still dont go smoothly. How conflicts are resolved is both amusing and thought-provoking. We start the story with Max, a dog, who is traveling alone. He soon meets Al, a cat. They are joined by a pair of gulls, another cat, etc. Much of the first part of the story is about their adventures and exploits, but we are then introduced to other characters. Max, and a cat named Liz, become leaders of all the animals. Many of the animals have quirks A dog afraid of water; a giraffe afraid of heights; a horse that runs in his sleep; a rhino with anger management issues; etc. And each animal has its own personality.The animals come from many countries and speak many languages. They interject phrases from their own countries into the dialogue. The reader is treated to bits of Spanish, Italian, French, Japanese, and Russian, among others. This enhances thestoryline and educates the reader. There is much good to be said about this story, but there are also some other things that should be mentioned. First, there is a discrepancy in the story line. At one point in the story, Al removes the seed bag he carries and lays it on the ground. Seconds later, he is sent crashing down a mountainside during an avalanche. There is no mention of his ever picking the bag back up, but it shows up later in the story with no explanation as to how it got there. There are also a few typos in the text. And, there are places where the writing would benefit from a bit of editing. All in all, its a good story, laced with lessons about obeying God and doing whats right. Its also a story about friendship, forgiveness and tolerance.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz #1: The Ark, The Reed, and the Fire Cloud
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cecil Stokes
Fantastic read for all ages. The creativity of this author is nothing short of amazing. What a great way to learn about history and the Bible. A must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.