Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AMG Publishers Espresso With Esther: A Coffee Cup Bible Study

AMG Publishers Espresso With Esther: A Coffee Cup Bible Study

Call a few friends, meet at your favorite coffee shop and delight yourselves in God's word with a Coffee Cup Bible Study. Designed to fit into your busy lifestyle, each weekly lesson is broken down into five segments of study questions (with Bible text included!) and two days of lighter devotional readings for the weekend. Espresso with Esther explores how God works through his people who are willing to trust him and take risks. Designed for group or individual study.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Espresso With Esther: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Review 1 for Espresso With Esther: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been Teaching Bible Studies for many years and was intrigued by the format of this book. I love the historical background offered and the time spent explaining where Esther "fits" into the Biblical timeline. I also appreciated that we were encouraged to dig a little deeper and ask some hard questions about the people in this book. HOWEVER, the conclusions that the author seems to have come to about those people were perplexing and somewhat difficult to accept. Upon MUCH research, I could not find a SINGLE source that agreed with her conclusions. It felt like she had made judgements about the heart attitudes of each character before even starting the book, regardless of what Bible scholars and historians had to say on the subject. I absolutely would not recommend this book.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Espresso With Esther: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, little Bible study

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
LaChaton
Location:Ontario, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Glahn has put together an interesting and thought provoking study on Esther. The daily chapters are fairly short, although there are occasional days when they are longer and take more time (but still nothing more than 30 minutes a day) so it's easy to fit into a schedule. This study includes the Scripture verses being studied directly in the book which is handy to have with you.
My only complaint about this study is that some of the questions can be difficult to answer with very little guidance if you don't understand a question or two. Nearly all of them are very straightforward but there were a couple that I found tricky.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Espresso With Esther: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All of my Bible study ladies love this series.

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
englishtutortoo
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The "content isn't fluff" as my ladies say. All look forward to our weekly discussions and feel the growth from their personal involvement in the Word. Having the Bible in the study book is wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Espresso With Esther: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Valerie Johnson
A wonderfully concise yet in depth study...a true feat. Perfect for daily devotion or a weekly study with friends at a coffee shop. The college women I'm leading this for thoroughly appreciate the contextual nature of the study and the history that goes along with this amazing story of how God places people where he wants them so he can bring about the events necessary for the deliverance of a people. And S. Glahn's prose is interesting and applicable. The girls are loving this challenging and unique approach. And I appreciate the adherence and respect of Scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Espresso With Esther: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Carmen Bucher
In researching many studies to do with a small group this one is wonderful. As a Bible study teacher I am always seeking studies that can apply to all the ladies no matter where they are in their faith journey. Sandra Glahn has a way of making the story of Esther come alive as well as providing extensive details for a good in depth Bible study. If you are looking for a study to do on your own, this work well also. It really gets you in the habit of being in the word every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Espresso With Esther: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Carol Fruge
This study will assist those who interact with its message to explore the difference. Sandra Glahn offers insights, examples and applications that encourage students of the Bible to consider just how incidences in our own lives stack up for the glory of God and the good of His people (see p. 45). Glahn reminds readers of the exquisite literary quality of Esther as well as the beauty of its story. A Bible study indeed "for such a time as this."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Espresso With Esther: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
M Poole
In Sandi Glahns, Espresso with Esther, the biblical character Esther comes alive. Through the detailing of historical facts and events, the cross-referencing of Scripture and the vivid imagery of the character, the reader is drawn into the heart of Esther, and the world around her. Espresso with Esther, skips the surface of mere Scripture reading and goes straight to the heart of inductive Bible study. Never before have I experienced a Bible study to-go. Having the convenience of enjoying Bible study during my lunch hour, without the pressure of remembering to bring my Bible. The text is included. I highly recommend Glahns Espresso with Esther as a great way to jumpstart your day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Espresso With Esther: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
Emily
Not only excellent research but devotional as well!The first thing I appreciate about this study was that it challenged my childhood understanding of the woman Esther. It encourages all women, regardless of their past regrets, to obey to the Lord in the present. Surprisingly, in a book where God is not mentioned, the study brings to light invaluable devotional thoughts on what He is doing in life behind the scenes. Lastly, I appreciate Sandras historical research behind the bookit helped me link other books in Scripture to the main characters and also provided a fundamental background to reading the book of Esther. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Espresso With Esther: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
A reader
My small group Bible Study recently finished Espresso with Esther and it left us begging for more!Ms. Glahn offers scholarly insight into the book's historical timeframe, and a challenging consideration of the character of Esther: was she a shrinking violet? the reluctant-but-resolved heroine? an innocent victim? a dutiful wife and daughter? an upstanding Jew? My small group especially enjoyed Glahn's incorporation of the fine arts. Her recommendation to create our own tangible reflection of each week's lesson made Espresso with Esther that much more interesting and personal. This study is perfect for both the modern and postmodern Christian!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Espresso With Esther: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
A Reader from TX
Esther has been a Bible character heroine of mine since my first Bible book study, at the age of 10, when I was a member of a mission organization at my church. To find that her story, Espresso with Esther, had been included in a new series by Sandra Glahn was very exciting and appealing to me. Glahn's writing style is easy to read and prompts the reader toward reflection on our amazing God and His works. The research and knowledge of the time in which Esther lived, included in the study, is spiritually enlightening. Physically, the book is cleverly designed and sized to make studying/reading convenient anytime, anywhere and is displayed on a soft beige paper and brown font that is easy on the eyes. Having the scripture printed in the content of the study pages is another bonus feature. I will read more of this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Espresso With Esther: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Katherine Anderson, ThM
Sandra Glahn's study, Espresso with Esther, adeptly uses probing questions and pertinent historical and cultural insights to draw out timeless truths from the book of Esther and guide you to an understanding of how these truths apply to life today. In the optional devotionals, Glahn skillfully weaves biblical examples with modern day experience to make the lessons of Esther come alive! Great for any group or individual seeking deeper understanding of God's control and timing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.