Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AMG Publishers Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study

AMG Publishers Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study

Call a few friends, meet at your favorite coffee shop and delight yourselves in God's word with a Coffee Cup Bible Study. Designed to fit into your busy lifestyle, each weekly lesson is broken down into five segments of study questions (with the Bible text included!) and two days of more passive readings which include application and insightful illustrations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Review 1 for Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This study speaks to the heart

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michele
Location:Dubuque, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only completed the first week but what a week! I am more than pleased with the study. It "shows how a person who is in right relationship to God should conduct ones self and outlines the true fruits of repentance." The author developed questions that will stir the new and seasoned Bible student into deep reflection. The only thing I would change is the text print color to black for easier reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
catak
Location:Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Were using this study for our women's group so far were all enjoying it.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Texas
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my favorite of the series. I love it when our study group chooses one of the Coffee Cup Bible Study to do; it's easy to do and I get so much out of it. I highly recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Louise G
In my opinion the best of the series. One of my friends is going through it with teen girls, who are loving it. So it's great for women of all ages. The author does make clear that Jesus lays out God's standard in the Sermon on the Mount: Be perfect as I am perfect. But she also stresses that we cannot measure up in our own strength apart from Christ. I love that the scriptures are included, the depth of the material, the fun and funny anecdotes, and the conversational style.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stacy Newell
My Bible study group is loving this study. It does not require a lot of weekly homework BUT it makes you think and really pulls out life application. Very easy to use in a group study. We are moving to another coffee cup study on Ruth.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Peg
This book is confusing. In one spot it teaches that we cannot measure up to this great sermon and then on the other she encourages us to. She does not teach that apart from Christ in us we are helpless and desperate to live the Christian life/sermon on the mount. For great reading on this subject you will be changed by Oswald Chambers "Studies in the Sermon on the Mount."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Louise D.
Hold on to your socks... this is not "lady light"! It's meaty and thrilling. Jesus speaks and we listen. Is there any better way to spend a day? There's 6-weeks worth of lessons which is great for a Springtime ladies Bible study (sometimes 8-10 weeks can be too long). There's a decent amount of homework daily and I love that the Bible passages ready to read right in the book so you can study anywhere you are. Be blessed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nancy Holak
As a facilitator and leader, this unique study encourages woman of all walks in their faith to study the Bible. We appreciate the scriptures printed right in the book so we can study anywhere! It is easy to understand and not to mention little time is spent to prepare and complete the questions on a daily basis. Our study is set up for an hour but we continue our discussions for another hour! We just can not seem to get enough! We LOVE this study! Highly recommend it for any woman's group...guaranteed discussions will never cease.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Renninger
This Bible study is easy to use and well liked by the variety of ages in our study group. It is helpful to have the Bible text included in the study book. Also, it would be nice to have a larger darker print version for those who have visual difficulties.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
Carol Fruge
Smell the coffee brewing. A rich blend of personal insight and theological training combine to make the Coffee Cup Bible series full of possibility for spiritual growth. Whether two or twenty people meet to interact with the weekly lesson and share their own answers to probing questions, everyone will appreciate the lovely format and original style. A practical, friendly tone leads to personal application of biblical truth. From Mocha on the Mount, for example, What are some ways people demonstrate that theyre enslaved to money? Then, List evidences that youve been affected by materialism? Sandra Glahn reveals vulnerability as she raises questions contemporary women confront. Six lessons in each compact book contain the scripture, commentary and discussion questions (Espresso with Esther has five weeks of lessons). Planning a womens Bible study to correspond with the school year, this series lends itself to complete two studies before Christmas, then after the break, offer two more. If you do one study, you will want to complete them all. As a former BSF Teaching Leader, its great to be able to recommend a study I know God can bless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Emily
This is the most convicting book that I've read out of the series. This 6-week walk through Jesus' Sermon on the Mount is for every women who desires to take an honest spiritual inventory on her walk with the Lord. And like the other books in this series, Sandra again breaks this passage down section by section, giving practical applications and devotional thoughts. Perfect for group study or individual devotions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
A reader
Blessed are those who invest in this book!In Mocha on the Mount, Ms. Glahn weaves personal stories, real-life anecdotes, and Jesus' own words to bring fresh perspective to the Sermon on the Mount. Recalling the context and culture Christ addressed, she sheds historical light on those, "What did he mean by that?" questions.No fluffy fourth grade Sunday School class approach, Mocha on the Mount examines issues applicable to this generation, this culture, this day and age. Do you and Jesus measure success on the same scale? Do you lay up more of your "treasure" on earth or in heaven? Are you a person of your word? Is Christianity simply a crutch for the weak? Open up this study and you WILL be challenged.I love the book's dimensions and that all the referenced Scripture is included. That, and the fine art resources listed on the author's website, means my friends and I can easily meet for our three favorite things: coffee, God and art. (There's three of the five senses right there!)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mocha on the Mount: A Coffee Cup Bible Study
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
A Reader from TX
Mocha on the Mount was my second experience with the Coffee Cup Bible Studies and I loved it, too! (My first read in the series was the study of Esther.) Mocha on the Mount is a six-week study of Matthew 5-7 -- six weeks of reflecting daily on Jesus' teachings. Very powerful! Like the Esther study, this one is also very readable and full of rich spiritual insights, as well as, thought-provoking questions. Other features that I like are the compact size, the spiral bound cover, scriptural text included, and daily study portions that are easily manageable in one's day. I am now looking forward to participating in a group study this summer with the ladies from our church with Mocha on the Mount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.