Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AMG Publishers Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors

AMG Publishers Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors

Joseph Beyond the Coat of Many Colors is an interactive Bible study in the familiar Following God format that offers hope, encouragement, and practical answersto life s problems. As one of Jacob s twelve sons, Joseph is a blueprint for understanding blended families with broken and betrayed relationships. The study also serves as a leadership manual for churches and businesses; a handbook for employees and employers; a guidebook for resisting negative peer pressure and instituting moral purity, grace and forgiveness. Literally, it has something for everyone.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
Review 1 for Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Very Interesting and Enlightening Bible Study

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
jacquiR
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joseph's story and the "character" of Joseph have long been Biblical favorites. Mary Englund Murphy's study delves into the real story of Joseph's family--on one hand, dysfunction, deception, jealous rivalry, favoritism--on the other hand, restoration, faithfulness and the blessings of a great God. The author explores attitude, character, morality, forgiveness, success in life, and God's continual direction. Each scripture passage is explained with reference to the Biblical story as well as to our story. In the margins are key scriptures, main ideas, and motivating truths to apply to our lives and to point us to God's Word and to His unfailing direction. Everyone can glean encouragement and hope for the difficult times and trials in our lives. The study inspires us to live a life in trust and obedience, aware that God knows the end of our story, too, and He directs our life journey. I found this to be a most interesting and worthwhile study. I plan to keep it as a reference and to study it again. I received this book through The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond the Coat of Many Colors is an indepth study

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joseph ~
Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
By Mary Englund Murphy
Joseph Beyond the Coat of Many Colors is more than just a study of Joseph and his life. Starting with Abraham we are taken on a journey that brings us up to Joseph. Joseph and his brothers are directly affected by how Abraham, Issac, and Jacob manipulated to get what they wanted.
We study Joseph and his brothers and we relate them to our daily life. Just as God didn't give up on on Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and his sons - He doesn't give up on us. We can use Joseph as an example of how to live a life that honors God because he exemplified Christ's life through his own.
God sees beyond the outward aspects He sees beneath the mask. He knows our heart and He sees our true character. And we can use Joseph Beyond the Coat of Many Colors to help us grow and become whom He desires us to be.
Often we see Joseph portrayed as someone bigger than life, but felt fear and betrayal. He was tempted and was punished for overcoming it. Through Joseph Beyond the Coat of Many Colors we can experience this and take strength from this in our own lives.
I liked the activities in each lesson and the scripture readings from throughout the Bible - Old and New Testament. Each week is broken into 5 days and there are a total of 8 weeks. This study would work as either an individual study or a family/group study.
I was provided a copy of this book by BookFun (dot) org and the author/publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Bible Study

Date:November 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful Bible study that would be great for church groups or the individual reader. I love the story of Joseph and this study gives you more insight into his life and the trials he was able to overcome because of his faith.
The study material is for five days a week for a period of eight weeks. The book has a lot of scripture verses to read and questions for the reader to ponder and see how the verses apply to your individual life and draw you closer to God. There is plenty of room to write your responses and make notes.
This study can strengthen your faith, help you in times of trails and offer hope and encouragement.
I recommend you read this Bible study.
I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Study

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joseph Beyond the Coat of Many Colors is a fabulous bible study. It would work great as a group or individual study. Presented in eight weeks with study material five days each week, this study delves intensely into the life of Joseph. It also provides areas for the reader to ponder and apply the lesson in their own lives. I especially loved the Doctrine, Word study and Put Yourself in Their Shoes sections. The Doctrine provides scriptural references while the Word study enlightens the meanings behind words used throughout the scriptures. Finally, the Put Yourself In Their Shoes section allows the reader to think and use the material in their own life. There are personal questions that take the history of Joseph out of a storytelling format and into current, real life principles. At the end of each week’s study material is a prayer to help apply what has been taught throughout that week’s homework. This study is substantial for the schooled believer, but not overwhelming to a new believer. Whether new to Christianity or a seasoned believer, this book will enhance and edify the reader to new levels. I would absolutely recommend this book. I received this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The many layers of Joseph

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
shanfromcan
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the set up of this study book: large workbook style, lots of place for notes on pages throughout the lessons as well as book. The five day plan is great because it gives us the opportunity to catch up if life gets in the way. Each of the chapters begins with an introduction, focus of the day, as well as this prayer: "Open my eyes that I may behold wonderful things from Your law." Psalm 119:18
Bible readings with questions, word studies, facts, explanations and details are provided. There is much to be learned, or reminded of through this study and God will open our eyes and hearts if we allow Him. Major points are highlighted on the side and are a great reminder of the lesson. Then it is time to apply what we are learning.
This study does not begin with the life of Joseph but rather with his ancestors, moves on to his family and the sibling rivalry and through the ups and downs-literally of his life, on to seeing God's plan for Joseph's life.
The first week, day one, ABRAHAM AND SARAH INTEGRITY MATTERS, we learn about lying and are provided with translation for different Hebrew words found in the Old Testament book of Proverbs. We then move on to some New Testament passages before dealing with specifics from their story found in Genesis.
None of us is perfect and we are so blessed to serve a God whom is patient, forgiving, and does not depend on our goodness to fulfill His plans in our lives. Sadly, though, our choices affect not only us as individuals but also family and those we come in contact with.
A great first week as we learn about Joseph's descendants, their quirks, choices and the consequences. The fifth day is used as a review of all learned, but more importantly as a time for reflection and thanksgiving.
The 2nd Chapter on SIBLING RIVALRY, was especially close to my heart, as one of 9 surviving siblings, I know a little of what this is all about, especially with 29 foster children passing through our doors, and then one whom came at 5 days old, and took my place as baby of the family. As with Joseph, I also knew what it was to be the beloved of the father.
"Have you ever thought about what you would like people to say about you at the end of your life--how you want to be remembered? I want to live my life so God blesses others because of the way I served Him. I want to be remembered as a person who had failures and disappointed the Lord many times, but finished well. I want to be a loser who was used by God to accomplish His purpose. I want to say, "I have fought the good fight, I have finished the course, I have kept the faith." 2 Timothy 4:7 pg. 172
This in an excellent study for personal or small groups. Come meet the Joseph you never knew, and learn some very good lessons.
I was given this book by bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review. Pick it up today, you will not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
chris
Location:Selma OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bible study book Oct 27, 2013
This book is an absolutely great Bible study book Joseph life honored God, even though he was handed huge problems he stayed serious about his Lord. The author did an excellent job with this book
I was given this book for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A really great Bible Study

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cher
Location:NW Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joseph-Beyond the Coat of Many Colors by Mary Englund Murphy
As I read through this Bible study book, "Joseph, Beyond the Coat of Many Colors", I was excited to share this with others. I have had occasion to do other study books similar to this and I would say this one is at the top of the list. I have loved the story of Joseph since childhood and was really excited about the different truths that can be learned from his life. I would recommend this guide for individuals or groups to study.
I was given this book by Bookfun Club in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Joseph

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joseph: Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
By: Mary Englund
Joseph is one of my favorite stories in the Bible. This book goes much deeper then other guides I have seen. I would suggest using this book as a guide for a bible study. Would be good for a couples study or for family. I would probably use it for a teen youth group. The study touches peer pressure. Purity, grace and forgiveness. This is a 5 star book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Relevant for today

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gloria Penwell
Location:Jenison, MI
Age:Over 65
The current thought is that the Bible doesn't apply to me in the here and now. JOSEPH: BEYOND THE COAT OF MANY COLORS blows that concept out of the water. If you're having family problems, here's the study for you. If there's trouble in the workplace, this give you guidance. Check this study out and see how relevant God's Word and Mary's study actually are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW!

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diana
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you finish this study you will have a closer relationship with the Lord and a better and deeper understanding of Joseph! This study does take you beyond the coat of many colors! Mary writes with such style and clarity that blows your thought process. I learned things I never thought of before. WOW is all I could say as I was going through the study!
~Diana
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Joseph - An exemplary life

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
SHARON
Location:Nebraska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study has changed my perspective on living a life or grace, foregiveness and integrity - it really does go "beyond the coat of many colors". You will rejoice and know that God is in control and He has a plan for you. He can take a tragedy and turn it into a triumph - Joseph is a perfect example. Joseph's story is more than a children's Bible story. It is an example of life - a life of struggle, uncertainty, favor and power wrapped in faithfulness.
This book brought Joseph alive to me in ways I never before imagined. His story is a true character builder. Encouragement, trust, diligence, endurance, discipline, acceptance, forgiveness, unconditional love, purity, and integrity are all character qualities of our Heavenly Father and Joseph exemplifies these qualities. Whatever your station in life, Joseph's story will encourange you on your journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie Jane
Location:Loveland, Colorado
Truly amazing! Joseph: Beyond The Coat Of Many Colors stands in the gap, bringing a life changing experience and spiritual growth in your relationship with God. With the turn of each page, your heart, hope and walk with God will be recharged! Don't be surprised if you jump out of your seat from the inescapable conformations of how well God knows us and how much he loves us! No matter where you are in life, young or old, married couples, family, singles, addiction recovery, I recommend this bible study, you will be blessed!
Many thanks to Mary Englund Murphy and those who encouraged her along the journey.
Carrie Jane
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Following God: Joseph--Beyond the Coat of Many Colors
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You'll love this Bible study!

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
JeannieStJT
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you love Beth Moore's Bible studies, you'll also love Mary Murphy's. Joseph comes alive in a new way in this book. You'll walk with him through the scorching desert, feel the sand burning your feet and the metal collar chafing your neck raw. You'll understand Joseph's true motivation for sharing the dreams God gave him and feel shocked and heartbroken with him when his brothers hate him enough to kill him. This book will inspire you to practice patience as you trust God more.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.