Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint

FaithWords What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint

Philip Yancey has toured the world and met Christians from different aspects of life and different cultures. In What Good Is God?, he explores how faith makes a difference in the lives of those who suffer or those who have experienced great difficulty. From Mumbai, India to Virgina Tech you'll hear stories of real people with real faith. Large Print Edition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Review 1 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Creatively written, short on biblical support

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dave
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is an interesting read from the start. Yancey interweaves a backstory with an actual lecture he made at various venues over the past 5 to 10 years. The writing is beautiful and the stories are gripping. But this is little theological, biblical reply to the question asked in the title. Anecdotes are cleverly written, and only a cold heart would deny that the events recounted display an opportunity to warm the questioning soul toward things of God and probe the bigger question of God's value in daily living and in His goodness. But I did not find consistent take-home messages that could be universalized, because so little scripture is sighted to substantiate Yancey's claims. Interesting book to read, but not what I thought I was getting from reading the title or the description.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yancey is my favorite Christian author!

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Location:Akron, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I plan to give it to my 2 sons who have wandered far from God
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pumpkin
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Philip Yancy is the writer all true seekers of answers that we would ask if we dared. He has done it again. Read it if you want an honest answer to the question.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yancey has always been one of my favorite authors!

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sparkie
Location:Chicago suburbs, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Philip Yancey has long been one of my favorite authors!
He has an honest and engaging writing style that draws me into his subject matter. He makes a strong presentation of God's amazing love and grace to all who seek Him. He uses his own life experiences and personal struggles to teach how God deals with each of us in a unique way to bring us to himself. Yancey also uses stories to present real life examples of God's mighty work in all our lives. I am always deeply touched by his books.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth the read-

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jo Ann R of Niceville
Location:Niceville, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There isn't enough time for all the good books written, so focus on the great ones. This is a great book. Yancey demonstrates the purpose of faith in the hardest of circumstances with his simple and clear approach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye opening, thought & action provoking book.

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dania Reid
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the easy, conversational style Philip Yancy uses. It's as though I'm right there alongside with him discovering these ideas.
This is my first Philip Yancy read . . . and now I want more!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life's hard questions

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Bremerton, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phillip Yancey guides the reader through questions provoked by some of life's most difficult circumstances. Real life examples of faith that has been tested to the extreme are presented in this book. These examples are thought provoking and enlightening. The reader can't help but come away encouraged in their relationship with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book shows the greatness of God

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
oscar karok
Location:mount vernon, wa
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
God is relevant in ALL situations. The author, Philip Yancey, has done a beautiful job in illustrating this point. He describes situations in various parts of the world, such as China, South Africa, etc. where God plays a key role in the outcome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
ladytink
Location:Washinton
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a gift to the only non-Christ follower in my family. Given on the recommendation of a friend who had left a very legalistic church. She found truth in God's Word & believed the book would help my family member recover from the hurt she has felt from "hypocrites" in the church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read, as is always expected from Yancey!

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jim Nelligan
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well written, terrific topics, very enlightening and challenging. Just what I've come to expect from Yancey!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I had heard great praise for this book

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
bje1
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I have only read the first three chapters and think the book is great for small study groups, but sort of drags for private reading. It's sort of like someone took their blog and published it. Still, it is a great resource for adult small study groups and is well worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much to chew on, a joy to read.

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rejoyce
Location:Newberg, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If anything, What Good Is God exceeds my expectations.
Philip Yancey lassoes me from the first sentence. Much to chew on; many passages to highlight. A joy to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT QUALITY - well written.

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
AndyB
Location:Tampa, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ten "subjects" that Phillip Yancey covered, kept my attention throughout. Of course I have always enjoyed his writing style, and wasn't disappointed in this, his newest book.
I would recommend this book to anyone who thinks they have it all together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stan
Location:Georgetown Ontario, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read all of Mr Yancey.s books, I hate to classify but this one is #1. You have received, at my suggestion additional orders. I would like to contact him but do not have an Email address.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great book by Yancey

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the format of this book. Yancey begins each chapter by giving us the background or the context. Then we get his speech. What he chose to say to speak into the situation. As a pastor I feel it gives us an added dimension to the wisdom Yancey writes about to hear how he applied it in these tragedies.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for What Good Is God? In Search of Faith That Matters, Largeprint
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating concept.

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chap
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phillip Yancey has a great gift of communicating the truths of God and sharing his insights of living out the Christian life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.