Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan True Light, Restoration Series #3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan True Light, Restoration Series #3

On so many chilling levels The "what if" question arises as a global catastrophe affects the residents of Oak Hollow. They now have had to deal without electricity for eight months and the deep winter nights have set in. Tension mounts when a young man is murdered. Is Mark Green the killer? The darkness from the blackout also reveals the darkness in human hearts as the survival of the fittest gets more intense.
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
0 out of 10%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Review 1 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good story.

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marie Mcintosh
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The story is fine.
However, I'm very disappointed in the CD set-up.
CD's in envelopes is inadequate and very poor quality.
Why not put them in a case that will ensure the safety and quality of the CD's.
This is probably not your responsibiilty. Pass it along is all I ask.
Marie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lucy Colt
Loved this series!!! I couldn't put them down! Makes me wonder how I would do if I had to live through a black out like that!! Can't say enough about them!! Great books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tina
I found this book very good in terms of christian principles. It was convicting. Yet, one has to read ALL the books because some of the storylines are not explained, and not followed up or very involved. The characters were not as detailed as I would have liked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dawn Lamertha
I stayed up nights reading the series. I think I read each book in the series in 2 days. Couldn't put it down. The "what ifs" made me think about what I would do in like circumstances. With ice storms and tornados some of these senarios could happen for a few days. I am going to pass the books on (for loan only, I want to be able to re-read them)they were that good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Romelia Adams
I have read three of the books in this series. I am eager to find the fourth one and find the conclusion. The series is maintained with problems solved and problems caused by the events which destroyed the functioning of cars and planes and other electrical units. Through the series, the characters respond in ways that reveal their Christian commitment or their evil intentions. Ambition, greed, compassion, etc. are revealed as the characters meet their daily problems. This is an unusual circumstance which the author uses to develop the series. I found each book, including this third in the series to be fascinating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nicole Goodwin
I love this series. The book kept me on the edge of my seat. This book is a great book for Christians, it helped me grow in my faith. It teaches us to always trust God no matter how bad the situation is. I fell in love with the character Mark Green. He put God first even in the worst of times. He cleaned toliets in that jail for people that tried to kill him because God told him to, that's faithful. He is also so nice to Deni and i wish i had a guy like him in my life. Anyway great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sabrina Nord
I really love this series, as soon as I start the book I just can't put it down. I love how she begins the action right at the beginning of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stacy
This series is great, I have enjoyed the suspense and the characters life lessons and how they are learning to depend on God and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Daphne Cottrill
Excellent book.......I have read the first 2 books of this series and this one was just as good......did not want to put it down......cant' wait for the next one to come out.......Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nancy Currin
Great book. This series is really good for the suspense and for the Christain values. I recommend it and we should all look at how we would respond if our life was totally changed overnight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lisa Pratt
I really enjoy reading Terri Blackstock. I hope there is a 4 th book in this series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2007
This was my favorite book out of the series so far. I think the characters have become more well developed. The Brannings aren't as shallow as they were in the beginning of the series. They finally act as if they want to get along well in this new society they are living in. The scenes in the jail were surprisingly realistic and difficult to read. You really felt for Mark as he chooses to turn the other cheek and ignore the hurtful remarks made by the prisoners. It's also scary to think about a world where criminals run free because we have no means of keeping them separated from society. Very suspenseful reading about the police chief's son wanting to get revenge. What I like best about this series is how much is really makes you think about how we take technology for granted. In the first book, the community is clueless about what to do without electricity. Even simple things like heating water or even using the bathroom are now almost impossible to do. If a situation like this would happen in our world today, I think it's a possibility our country could collapse. How would governments work without communication? It's interesting to think that all the top moneymaking jobs in this country like engineerings or informations technology would be useless. That's when all the jobs like history, geography, and geology would be high demand again. I'm really looking forward to the last book in the series because I want to know if, when and how society will be able to truly function again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2007
I enjoyed this book, I think maybe my expectations were too high because the first two were so great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Laura Ervin
A book so well written on what could happen if the electricity were totally off, how man's greed would come out and a true test of survival. The book was hard to put down with so many big if's! Mark Green always managed to keep God in the midst of his problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2007
Ive never begun a review of a book where I suggest reading other books before the one Im reviewing. This review is for True Light, but in actuality it covers all three books. If you want to really enjoy this marvelous series, please start with book one.Terri Blackstocks Restoration Series includes Last Light, Night Light and True Light. This series is a gripping saga that begins in Last Light when the world as we know it ends. Cars die, planes fall from the sky, all electricity vanishes, taking every modern convenience we have come to rely on with it and taking the Branning family back to our ancestors world without the knowledge, skills, or tools to survive in that hard working lifestyle.In book 1, Last Light, we find the Brannings struggling to cope with the need to find food, water, and other basic essentials. In Last Light, Blackstock portrays mans innate need to survive and the lengths we will go to insure that survival. And through all the lawless behavior that stems from that need, including murder, she gives us a family who turns to God instead of following the crowd and comes out far richer for their choice. Night Light and True Light, books two and three, continues with the Brannings life without modern conveniences. I have always enjoyed Terri Blackstocks work. Ive read many of her books and enjoy her no nonsense, practical writing style. But in this series she captured me by playing off an event that, though it is almost too impossible to imagine, I found myself fully believing in the possibility of such a meltdown in civilization. Found myself, living in the Brannings world and wondering what I would do if faced with the same situation.Though I hope to never experience this event in my life, and Im sure you wouldnt either, Blackstock allows us to live the terror, turmoil, and tension in the pages of her books. So go out, buy the entire series at one time, as youll want to move from one book to the next without a break.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sylvia Mcbrayer
It is always a pleasure to read a book that remembers our Lord and puts him first and foremost. Really a good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kim Hodges
I read this book on a recent flight to Alaska. It was so good I couldn't put it down. I finished it in one day. I can't hardly wait for the four book to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Linda Johnson
This book kept me on the edge of my seat almost to the end. It also left me waiting for the next book; Dawns Light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gina Gangwish
I love this series! It really makes you wonder, how prepared would we be if something like the pulses were to really happen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for True Light, Restoration Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gail Fannin
It was a good book. It held my attention and was hard to put down. After reading three of these books, I am looking forward to the next. I think I would rather have read the first and last and maybe left out the two in between. I am still anxious for life to start returning to normal, and seeing how it happens. Now I have to wait again!.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>