Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AMG Publishers Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather

AMG Publishers Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather

The Hebrew-Greek Key Word Study Bible combines essential tools for Hebrew and Greek with translations that accurately and clear. An easy-to-use style plus the benefits of the Strong's Dictionary numbering system makes this study Bible one for every student of God's Word, no matter what age.

The Hebrew-Greek Key Word Study Bible is a complete English Bible text for cross-reference study to the original languages from which the Bible was translated.

Features

  • Size: 6.5” x 9”
  • NEW! Wider margins than previous editions
  • Introduction to each book of the Bible
  • Words of Christ in Red
  • Table of Weights and Measures
  • AMG’s Concordance of the Bible
  • NEW! AMG’s Annotated Strong’s Dictionaries
  • Combining Strong’s dictionaries with additional material taken from AMG’s Complete Word Study Dictionaries
  • Footnotes on the original languages, Bible history, Bible doctrines, and difficult passages
  • Strong’s numbers on key words in the text of the Bible
  • Grammatical codes on key words in the text of the New Testament
  • Used with the Grammatical Notations, these codes identify the forms of Greek grammar behind the English translation

System of Study

  • Key Words in the English Text Identified by Strong's Numbering System
  • Codes in the New Testament Text Identify Grammatical Structure of Key Greek Words
  • Notations Explain the Significance of the Grammatical Codes
  • Hebrew and Greek Word Studies
  • Strong's Hebrew and Greek Dictionaries
  • Center-column Reference System
  • Concordance
Average Customer Rating:
4.62 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (108 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
54 out of 5992%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Review 1 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Study Bible for Your Money

Date:March 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
CeeSizzle
Location:Greenbelt, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is probably the best study Bible out, for many reasons. I bought this Bible (KJV AMG) in early 2013 and read through it in a few months. After I finished it, I put it on my shelf and moved on to other study Bibles. I have many study Bibles, but it is hard to find one that has everything a serious student of the Bible wants when studying God's Word (I will list what I mean at the bottom of this review). So, I often buy different study Bibles to compliment each other because each one usually excels in a few categories, but fails in others. I recently (early 2014) took this Bible off my shelf to compare it to my interlinear Bible, and as I took another look at it, I realized I had purchased a gem of a Bible! This is truly a complete study Bible with all the necessary study material under one cover; it is truly amazing if you actually use the material it provides you with.
Pros-
Introductions to every book - this is an excellent resource that I use before I start going through a Biblical book
Verse references - this is a must for Bible study
Notes/Commentary - this Bible has great notes. If you are reading a passage that strikes your interest, chances are there are notes on that passage. Notes are not God's Word, but the editors/authors of this Bible have good incites and are not liberal/modern scholars.
Concordance - the concordance is about 170 pages. That is pretty large and more than adequate.
Hebrew and Greek dictionary keyed to Strong's - The dictionary is 530 pages long! That is amazing! This is what I overlooked when I initially bought the Bible. I am here to tell you that a dictionary in a Bible that is 530 pages long is pretty darn good. I even use this Bible's dictionary when I use my J.P. Green interlinear Bible!
Price - You can't beat the price for what you get with this Bible
Cons-
The "Key word" system needs to be more exhaustive. Sometimes you want to look up a word in a specific verse, but the editors did not include the Strong's number to that particular word. Since the dictionary entries do not list every single verse that uses that word, you can't look it up because you cannot assume that the same English word found in other verses is the same Hebrew/Greek word you are looking for. E.g. If you saw the word "love" in a verse and you wanted to look it up but couldn't because there is no Strong's number attached, you are just out of luck. You can't look for other verses that have the word "love" because, although it is the same English word, it might not be the same Hebrew/Greek word. Bottom line: AMG needs to add more Strong's numbers to more words, even if they are redundant. They need to at least double the key word system.
The spine - I bought the genuine leather KJV AMG. The leather is ok (it's not an R.L.Allen), but the spine is flimsy and weak. It may be better to by the hardcover.
Textus Receptus - Some of you who prefer modern (critical text) translations will need to by a non-KJV translation. I think the Textus Receptus is the way to go, but it is ok to use critical texts to compare and come to your own conclusions. If you prefer critical texts, then I suggest the NASB AMG. The ESV would be another option, but I would NEVER get the NIV as a study Bible. The NIV is a paraphrase, not a serious study Bible. I'd read the NIV just to read it, but I don't study from it.
Conclusion: It is not perfect, but I highly recommend this Bible. If AMG doubled their Key system and made a better spine on this Bible, I would not have 1 single complaint. If you have extra money, get this Bible. If you do not have extra money, get this Bible. This is a gem of a study Bible!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great tool

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jeremy Greene
Location:Portland, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an excellent resource tool. Being able to look up key words in their original meaning in its original language are an invaluable tool to better understanding scripture. This bible along with the comparative bible (4 translations in one-KJV/NASB/NIV/AMPLIFIED) I just bought today from Christian Book will be an amazing combination of me being able to dive into the word and understanding it better. I like the fact that the commentary was written by a man who grew up in Greece and understands the language in which the New Testament was written. His insights are great! I have nothing but good things to say about this particular bible. Whichever translation you choose in this format, I think you will be pleased.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Complete Bible study tool.

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
waycat
Location:Rienzi, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought my first Key-Word study bible in 1990. Wanted the updated version and love the new features! You can't just sit and read this bible-it pulls you into an in-depth study of God's Word!! I mentioned in the summary, a complete study tool, but, it is nice to have a good commentary handy! I own other study bibles, and love them, but, there's something about this one that gets down to the "nitty-gritty"!! You can't go wrong with the Key-Word Study Bible, and of course, CBD!! By the way, I have NO formal Hebrew or Greek education. Mine is the Burgundy leather. Beautiful! Great print, well made!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
mphipps
Location:Mansfield, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now I no longer need to carry the Strong's Concordance to church on our bible study nights to get a complete understanding of what my pastor is trying to reacher/teacher us. It helps to have that explanation handy when it comes time to expound on what each individual got out of the message.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good size, but wish it had a bit more

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sean
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wish it chose a few more of the words to expound upon in the Greek / Hebrew dictionaries. Flipping back and forth is cumbersome, though nice to have it all in one book when traveling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linzman
Location:Columbus Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really like this Bible. I have it in hardback but wanted the learther to travel. Very pleased. It has become my daily reader.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not Sure

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Missey
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book isn't exactly what I expected, I know that it says Hebrew-Greek key word study bible, however, I thought that it would have the translations on each side. Instead, you have to turn the pages and look the words up in each translation. Overall it is very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean Hardy
Location:PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is excellent for reseach I find knowing what a word means in the orignal translation gives clear understanding of the meaning in creek and hebrew. My son was given ths bible as a gift and he recomended it to me .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Matt Swope
Location:Needmore Pa
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is a great study tool for learning the the Hebrew-Greek words and meanings. It will be a big help for me in my ministry. Thank you and GOD bless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must get

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bouvier des flandres
Location:Cobourg ont
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe the King James is the best and closest we have to the original text,and with the study guide it makes it that much better.We get a truer meanning of the word. I would strongly recomend this Bible to anyone who wants to know Gods word.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rita
Location:whitter,ca
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bible for those who want to be a studier of the word and is serious about digging deeper! this bible makes it easy and clear.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is an excellent study bible

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susie
Location:Va
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best study bible I have ever used. Two great features in this bible are the concordance and the Old and New Testament dictionary in the back.....
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helpful

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tlover
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible to help with studing and I am very inpressed with it it brakes down key words in the bible it has a concordance in the back. I love using this bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lord of all
Location:Westfield, ny
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is my main study bible, it's great when you don't have any other resources around. This is just about as complete a study bible as I have found.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
lessthantheleast
Location:Philadelphia,Pa.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an OUTSTANDING STUDY BIBLE, it sits right up there with the THOMPSON CHAIN REFERENCE BIBLE, and the 1917 Scofield reference Bible KJV. My 2 biggest problems with this Bible are the INCREASING THIN leather covers A.M.G is putting on this wonderful Bible. A Bible of this caliber deserves a NICE,THICK ,QUALITY LEATHER cover. additional - like so many Bibles printed nowadays , what they call ' RED LETTER' , is actually an dull, unappealling,HARD TO READ BROWN LETTERING. They need to print these Bible with a BRIGHT RED, LETTERING. Also, they need to print the rest of the text in HEAVY,BOLD PRINT, like they did with the 1984 edition Hebrew/Greek study Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Simply AWESOME Edition -- My Personal Favorite

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jorgecito
Location:Walla Walla, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is simply the most awsome bible I've ever seen and handled in my life. I love this genuine leather edition and the pricing on these is incredibly reasonable. I do not think I could afford to pay what it is really worth so thank you to AMG, CBD, and anyone else involvedin making this volume affordable/accessible. Be aware, however, this is no compact or "personal size" volume. It would be quite impossible to pack all the resources contained in this library-in-one-binding masterpiece in anything smaller than it's current size and still be legible. I'm somewhat at a loss for words, which is rare, though this volume is never at a loss for words nor resources for better understanding these words. Do consider, if you're up to it, acquiring it in the KJV ediion since many of the best commentaries use the KJV as the basic test and point of departure. For one thing, though there are errors and weaknesses, these are well known and once known you will not have to be dealiing with that process again, such as the issue with the NIV '84 now being replaced by the NIV 2011. the Bible is a large book however you take it. I for one do not like to be learning the weak or wrong readings, in my opinion, in a new edition of the bible every few years or even every couple decades. I could gush on and on about this magnificent work, but I want to get back to perusing it. Whehter you choose the NASB, the NIV '84, or the KJV, I'm sure you'll love it, even if it would only fit in the pocket of a Paul Bunyan.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not quite yet perfected

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sunergos
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only been studying through this study Bible for a few days (2008 revision Key Word Study Bible, KJV, Hardcover; printed in Korea).
My first impression is that the publisher needs to spend some more resources proofreading. As an example, in Prov. 1:8, the Strong's number for "law" is listed as 4851 ("Mash"), which is a misprint of 8451 ("Torah"). Having just started using the book, I am not saying if these errors are common, but this one was found the first day I opened this study Bible.
Also, while the dictionaries seem to be very complete, the concordance is very abbreviated. It is also not keyed to the Strong's numbers, just to the English word. Both of which are understandable ways of keeping the size of this study Bible within reason, but to offer an example, "Wisdom" in the concordance in the back of the book only shows 24 verse references, and I am unable to see the pattern for how those references were selected for inclusion (nothing from Proverbs chapter 1 was included). There is always a limit to how much data a book can hold, but I would say that the concordance is more abbreviated than I expected when compared to the dictionaries and other notes.
I don't find the printing to be too light, and I think the contrast between the superscripted numbers in the text to be well balanced, but I do see some bleed through from the text on the reverse side of each page, which is not quite dark enough to be a distraction, but is very close (The words on the back of each page can be read clearly if there is white space on the front of the page, but they don't overpower the words that are printed on the page front). For some, it could be a factor in eye strain, but I think it is a fair tradeoff for fitting the extra details.
While the 2008 edition that I have includes larger margins, I would note that the inside margins are not suitable for writing notes (which is normal), so the extra width that was added to those margins seems to really be just wasted space.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Only slightly dissappointed...

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
James
Location:FL
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Key Word Study Bible is a great bible to use, which I have been doing for some years now. The last Key Word Bible I used became worn and needed replacing.
Unfortunately however, when I received the newer edition I was somewhat disappointed in that the pages seem a lot more flimsy and are even transparent to a point. You can see through the pages very easily, which was not the case with my older edition.
I strongly recommend to the publisher that they use stronger and more durable paper if they want to produce a more quality bible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the format of the Key Word Bible....

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Exodus2320
Location:FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
Truly enjoying my Key Word KJV Bible in conjunction with my KJV Subject Bible, there is power in the written word of God, to defeat the enemy, with, it is written.....
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Key Word Study Bible KJV (2008 new edition), Bonded Black Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glenn Bezerra
Location:Converse, LA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great Bible, specially for pastors, professors, seminary students or sunday shool teachers! Allow us to go all the way to the roots of etmology and the real meaning of the words!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.