Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Living Ink I Know Why the Angels Dance

Living Ink I Know Why the Angels Dance

When atheist psychology professor Phil Grayson loses his only child to disease, he's furious at John Hanson's attempt to console him based on his daughter's deathbed conversion to Christ. While Phil seems blind to the truth, John struggles to grasp the concept of "weeping with those who weep." Can another remarkable child bring them together? 400 pages, softcover from Living Ink.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Review 1 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book!!

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was such a good book!!!!! I couldn't put it down. It was really thought-provoking, and had me crying at the end. Once again, congrats Mr. Davis on writing such a great book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bryan Davis' Contrast Ability

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elijah Duval
Location:Marion, Iowa
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bryan Davis has a great ability to write in different genres of fiction. This book proves it. He weaves a touching story about grief, loss, and ultimately rejoicing. It will be sure to leave you stunned by it's beautiful ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Moving Story

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ginacat
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Know Why the Angels Dance is a truly moving story about how good can come out of even the most horrible tragedy. An atheistic family is stricken with grief, and it seems that no one will be able to breach their hearts and allow God’s love to flow. Can a little girl named Tabitha be the key? And when the unspeakable happens, can her father make the angels dance again? Bryan Davis’s beautiful writing brings this story to life. If you can read it without shedding a tear, you have a have a heart of stone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful story.

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Victoria V
Location:TX
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If anyone thinks an author who writes mostly fantasy books can’t write anything else they are wrong. This book is very different from the other books Bryan Davis wrote; there are no dragons in this one. In this book Davis shows the effect one little girl can have on the lives of the people around her, and how grief is handled by Christian and non-Christians alike. If you like Bryan Davis’s work take the time to read this book, it is very moving and worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart Moving!

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Braydon Coyer
Location:Lancaster, TX
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Know Why the Angles Dance is awesome!
In the beginning of this book, I thought it was kinda hard
to figure out which characters was which. But as the book progressed, I was able to
really feel the different personalities,and was able to grow and love them. This book has a atheist family, and a Christian family, each with their own perspective of the world, and of death. I really loved this book. I have never been disappointed with one of Mr. Davis' books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very spiritual.

Date:October 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
DragonsAreSnazzy
Location:Roxbury, New Jersey
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is amazing. I was able to be joyful with those who joyed. I wept with those who wept. This book made my faith even stronger. this is another great novel by Bryan Davis!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
FreakofNature
This book has the taste of tears in it. Bittersweet. It makes you laugh, cry, smile, and think. It makes you wonder and learn. It teaches you and it is also for enjoyment. It is a fictional story that has so much truth. This is definitly a heart stirring story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
DragonofChrist
At the heart of this incredible story is an amazing young girl with a wonderful gift from heaven who brings the concept of "kindness" to an entirely new level. She almost wouldn't even need a story to be loved by almost everyone. Yet her story, intermingled with the varied lives and tales of other characters, offers a power of belief and emotion that is far too often either dulled or simply not concieved by humaity at large. No matter what kind of person you are, even if it doesn't shake your emotions, this story will find some way to touch everyone who reads it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
FreakofNature
Why do the angels dance? This book tells us along with a wonderful story of faith in sadness and in rejoicing. It tells so many stories and they all tie into one: God's story! What joy this simple statement gives! Come with Tabitha and her family and friends and learn why the angels dance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Galadriel
I Know Why the Angels Dance is modern realistic fiction by Bryan Davis. Readers of his other novels will find the same passion flowing through the story of two families, two daughters, and the response of faith to tragedy. While I normally prefer fantasy novels, this book held me enthralled with the relatable characters and hard-hitting questions. The back cover asks What happens when the darkness of unspeakable tragedy collides with the infinite glory of heaven? Something beautiful and glorious, as this book relates.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah A Quental
Do your heart and soul a favor and buy this book. Prepare your tissue box but it will lift your spirit! I've bought three (3) so far: one for me to keep, two for friends, as gifts. I have a feeling I'll be buying more. The author has created a piece of Christian magic!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
I Know Why The Angels Dance is filled with tales of faith, sorrow, heartache, and love. Through the life and example of one precious little girl, these emotions overflow out of the pages and into the hearts of its readers, showing them the truth of God's love. Tabitha's harvest will bear fruit, even beyond the limits of this story. While reading this book, you will truly weep with those who weep, and you will rejoice with those who rejoice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roy Chrisitan Church
Excellent book! In my book club we take turns picking out books. This one was a great pick. It shows God's love for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Fran
Once I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down. It is one of the best books I have ever read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janalyn Voigt
Bryan Davis gives us a rare glimpse of heaven through a child's eyes in this moving story of death and life.Young Tabitha experiences a series of visions and prophetic dreams that confuse the adults around her. Tabitha's dreams predict deaths, and they contain details she would not know on her own. When they begin to come true Tabitha and her pastor father, John, bear a grave responsibility, for they must work to bring lost souls to the saving knowledge of Christ before time runs out. Tabitha's childlike faith cuts through disbelief and unbelief. John struggles to overcome his glib sermonizing and truly engage the heart of his hearers.John and Tabitha labor under the conviction that to grieve the death of a Christian who has gone to heaven can only be a selfish act. And yet, the Bible tells Christians to weep with those who weep. As the book unfolds, this basic conflict resolves in a moving and sensitive finale.I highly recommend I Know Why the Angels Dance for its passionate and beautiful prose and timeless story. Such a book can change the lives of those who embrace its message. It can make the angels dance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Luke Gledhill
Bryan Davis, probably best known for his young adult fantasy novels, once again proves himself a master storyteller in I Know Why the Angels Dance. It is a tale of sorrow and joy, of death and eternal life, at once applying a healing balm and encouraging catharsis.Ive read his books in the past and am quite a fan of his work, but nothing quite prepared me for this newest story. Readers will be most familiar with Dragons in our Midst, Oracles of Fire, and Echoes from the Edge. And they may purchase this book, expecting a similar story.Its not. As with all his books, IKWTAD is filled with spiritual insights, but this book is outside his usual genre. And this is by no means a negative. Instead, it is delightful to see something new from Mr. Davis, a break from the fantasy he so frequently writes. None of his passion is lost; in fact, this may well be the most powerful story he has written.Two fathers, one in the light and one in the darkness. Two girls, the best of friends. What happens when tragedy strikes, when the joys of youth are cut short, and the laughter of childhood is replaced by the silence of the grave? What balm could possibly bring the fathers comfort? Readers will laugh and weep with the characters in this breathtaking novel that will thaw even the coldest of hearts, as they discover why the angels dance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Curt Harrison
The emotional story of a heartbreaking loss takes the reader on a journey of love, hope and healing. The characters are well-written and suit the style of the story ... very enjoyable and sure to be read by the reader again and again.Curt Harrison
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nathan R. Petrie
I Know Why the Angels Dance is a remarkable story of faith, hope, and love. Covering many topics about life and death Bryan Davis answers such questions as: How should a Christian react to a brother's death? the death of one lost? How do we comfort those in need and still win them to Christ? This book is a beautiful tale of the extraordinary faith of a child in a God that is able to do anything.Grab a box of tissues, and brace for the ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for I Know Why the Angels Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Modeltrainman
Bryan Davis has done it again. A novel filled with life, sadness,redemption, death and the ultimate reward. Five stars out of five. Every Christian should read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.