Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Living Ink The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4

Living Ink The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4

As the fiery wall of Abraham dies away, the people of Second Eden wait for the coming war. Giants and dragons will soon break through the barrier and attack, powered by the hatred they have stored up for four years. Although they have prepared for the onslaught, a spy has come among them, one who learns their weaknesses.

Meanwhile, Bonnie, Shiloh, and Sapphira leave their protective hideout deep in the heart of Hades. Equipped with a new secret weapon, they are now ready to join Billy, Walter, Ashley and the others in second Eden to help them and the good dragons fight the invading army.

As the battle rages, a new helper arises, the only one who knows how to use Bonnie's secret weapon, but the spy is ready to destroy him the moment he arrives. And with Devin the dragon slayer in their midst, proving that more evil forces have descended upon their world, the people of New Eden don't know whom to trust.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Review 1 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect finale

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Victoria V
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usually the final books in a series are not my favorites; I read them because I want to know what happens to my friends (the characters) but I don’t enjoy them the same way I do the other books because I know when I get to the end there will be no more. This was not the case with The Bones of Makaidos. Somehow Bryan Davis managed to end the series is the perfect way, wrapping up all the story lines and characters in a very satisfactory way. Instead of leaving me sad it left me happy and hopeful. I won’t say anymore you just have to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ginacat
The Bones of Makaidos won the 2010 Clive Staples Award for Christian Speculative Fiction, and it definitely deserves the hype! This fast-paced conclusion to the Oracles of Fire series is quite honestly my favorite of Bryan Daviss books. Its masterfully written, and the pages flew by at a breakneck pace! I couldnt wait to find out what happens! Its been amazing to journey with these characters through their trials and adventures, and this book brings those adventures to a stunning, exciting, and inspiring conclusion. Im not ashamed to say that the ending brought me to tears! This book alone makes reading the Dragons In Our Midst and Oracles of Fire series well worthwhile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebekah Gyger
The Bones of Makaidos is an amazing book. It has an in depth way of showing good vs. evil and that only when we fight can good overcome the evil. The characters finally find out what they are truly made of and they find the desires of their hearts, their reward for being faithful to the end, even when the end was so far away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrew W.
The Bones of Makaidos is definitely a great ending to the awesome series. If youve read the other books in the series, (DIOM and OOF) (I highly suggest you do before reading this book.) then you already know just how excellent this book will be, I sure do. I could so easily relate to the characters, feel what they felt, and see what they saw. Bryan Davis has created a masterpiece with not only this book, but all the others in the series as well. I urge you to quickly get a copy of this brilliant work of art. (P.S. Bryan Davis is writing another series to continue this one!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Watt
This was one of the best in the series, and I loved the ending! it was a great book and I can't wait for the next one, Keep up the good work Mr. Davis!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vernon
"The Bones of Makiados" combines heart-stopping action with intelligent wit, and even includes poetry, romance, and redemption. The only thing wrong with it is that it has to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Watt
This was one of the best in the series, and I loved the ending! it was a great book and I can't wait for the next one, Keep up the good work Mr. Davis!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole
I waited a long time to read this book, but let me tell you, it was well worth the wait! The Bones of Makaidos is a beautiful end to one of the best series of books I've ever read. I loved the character development and the overall balance this book has, it's truly amazing. Bryan Davis has done such a fabulous job with these books, I didn't want them to end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
DragonsAreSnazzy
This book is soooo action-packed. I almost felt what the characters were feeling. I grew so much faith in God, with this book. I loved it and I always will. It was such a great ending!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melaleuca Man
This is the best series finale EVER!!!!!!!if you have read any of his other of his other books with Billy and Bonnie and everyone else you will love this ending!!!!!over 600 pages long and full of action,love,and sacrificeand the ULTIMATE ENDING!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Braydon
This is an amazing book! The plot was excellent, it makes you come alive with the characters! I read this book in like 2 days it was so good! You wont be disappointed by reading this book! EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT ending! It's kinda sad because you know it's going to end, but you also feel happy at the same time because of the ending. :) Thanks Mr. Davis for making me learn to love reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vernon
"The Bones of Makiados" combines heart-stopping action with intelligent wit, and even includes poetry, romance, and redemption. The only thing wrong with it is that it has to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
FreakofNature
This book looks big. That's because it is. It is a big adventure. Follow your favorite characters from Dragons in our Midst and Oracles of Fire as they finish the journey they began in Raising Dragons. This book has it all dragons, adventure, love, and a great ending. What more could you ask for?!?!?!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
DragonofChrist
While fans of the Dragons in our Midst series may take a while to become accustomed to a wonderful new spread of brave, heroic characters, all who venture into the pages of this book will soon learn to love, bleed, and cry with all of the children, youth, ancient prophets, and four-thousand year old teenagers through their tribulations and bold conquests as they battle against whole new heights of evil. Plus, this exciting prequel to Dragons in our Midst offers plenty of new dragons and worlds to discover and explore, while elaborating on a plethora of briefly-mentioned historical characters and events from the previous series that you know you want to know more about!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Seth
The climax of the eight book series and sequel series. I don't know what to say about the plot actually. It was fast-paced as usual. Exciting and original. But those are just adjectives. It certainly was a great way to end the series, though. After reading it I simply can't put my reactions to word.there is only one thing I remember having trouble with in this book. At the half-way point in the book you really have to force yourself through. It is just really dry. The first two chapters in the second book are like this. I would explain more of why it's dry and describe it in more depth, but that would spoil some of the plot, and wouldn't want that now would we?I learned more about the characters and understood them on a deeper level than in any of Mr. Davis's past novels. When I heard one character went missing in battle my heart pounded. When I found out one character was mortally wounded I put the book down and literally blanked out for a moment or two. I had no choice but to care.Go ahead and hate me for it, but strangely enough, with my fascination of swords and war and fantasy in general, I'm a sap for romance novels mind you, but novels with romance. When proportioned right and well done I think they make a great addition to a novel. This book has great balance. Just the right amount for me. I love the finale in this book, but I will keep my mouth shut about it.As I said in the Plot section, there was a period that was lacking the usual engaging writing. I had trouble getting through those two chapters, but afterward the story takes a jumpstart that is even more exciting than before.Other then this I had no problems with the book writing wise. Not anything that stuck out at me, anyways.To say I am reluctant to give a book five stars (or Pens) would be an understatement. So when deciding what to give this book it was clear to me. This book was one of the most emotionally and spiritually gripping and powerful books I've read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elijah Duval
A fabulous finish to the Oracles of Fire series. I hope everyone enjoys this book as much as I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kaitlyn Stickley
The Bones of Makaidos is my favorite book out of both the Dragons in our Midst and the Oracles of Fire series combined. It's such an inspiration! It takes you on an incredible journey with all of your favorite characters from before. I've read it at least four times now and no matter how many times I read it, it gets better and better and the story never fails to touch me and leaving me feeling breathless. This is one book you won't want to miss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Galadriel
Eight books. Over a million words. It comes down to this: The Bones of Makiados, the final novel of the Dragons in our Midst/ Oracles of Fire series. As Hades and Earth unleash their fury on Second Eden, the stakes have never been higher. Our friends have grown since we first met Billy setting off the sprinklers in the boys restroom in Raising Dragons, but can they handle the sacrifices required to bring new life?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dancing Oracle
The Bones of Makaidos may be my favorite book of all time. It is full of epic battles, a touching romance, fiery trials, and the answer to the questions of many: What is an Oracle of Fire? The beautiful wedding reveals the benefits of purity, as the virgin bride and child of doubt come before the alter to join hands in marriage. Friends separated by time, distance, and even different dimensions are reunited. It offered a magnificent conclusion, with a Happily Ever After feel, yet emitted a bit of mystery, leaving room for a few more adventures. I was in tears by the end of the book, missing those characters who sacrificed their life along the journey of eight books, and so entirely happen for those characters who had kept the faith despite the trials and struggles they went through. Bryan Davis has created a wonderful, amazing, and all around beautiful story. He has helped me learn to become an Oracle of Fire. I highly recommend you continue the adventure of our beloved characters in this spectacular book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Bones of Makaidos, Oracles of Fire Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brianna Darrow
This book is a masterpiece, worthy to be in peoples private bookshelves. Bryan Davis has made the best book of all the books he has written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>