Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Living Ink #2: The Errant King

Living Ink #2: The Errant King

Deep in the caves of the distant Hinterlands, an ancient menace stirs. Townsfolk shudder at violent memories of The Red Queen and even dare to whisper the name Raudrim. At the same time, word comes to Alastair that Cythraul has at last surfaced, seeking a devastating weapon in the ruins of Grayvalon. Blood-soaked clues lead Alastair into a confrontation from which only one warrior will return alive. And with the new High King of Myriad, Lochlan, leaving the politics of the throne once too often, the people of the kingdom are suddenly put in danger. The fate of the world of Myriad all depend on the decisions of the errant king.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #2: The Errant King
Review 1 for #2: The Errant King
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Errant King Didn't Meet My Expectations

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Goldarrow
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
20 years has passed since Moral was banished across the Dark Sea, never to return again. Since then the kingdom of Myraid is flourishing. Lochland is doing a fantastic job ruling his prosperous kingdom from his late father's throne. His only set back is that he is young and feels the need for adventure. Fearful of growing old on the throne without truly meeting his people and facing adventure stalks Loch. Desperate for escape he goes errant, leaving the kingdom in his mothers aging hands for weeks at a time.
Alastair and Abbegael are proud of their son Telywn as he masters every skill he puts himself to. Only when Abbegael fears for her life Alastair and Tel go on a dangerous hunt for their eternal enemy, Cythraul. Sadly they are to late to stop the dangerous powers Cythraul has released in the last 20 years. A mighty dragon queen is one of these, Raudrim-Quevara is wrecking havoc on her homeland and will not rest till she destroys all who hinder her goal of bringing the world to ruin.
As a long time fan of Wayne Thomas Batson I was thrilled when Errant King came out. I loved "The Sword in the Stars" and was ready to learn more about Alastair and the world of Myraid. Upon receiving Errant King I saw it was over 500 pages I thought, "This is going to be great or just okay." Okay is what it turned out to be, I feel this book fell short of what it could have been.
First off the characters that we are introduced to overwhelmed me. I spent half of Errant King trying to figure out who on earth were Tango and Meli, not to mention what were they.
We start the story by meeting Arianna and learn of her fight for women rights and the past that haunts her. Next is Lochland, Maren, Sebastian, Ealden and the other lords of the land as they rule according to the One. Then we travel across the mountains to meet Tango and Meli, little ones who must flee their homeland and the blood hungry queen-dragon. Following this long line of characters to keep track of is Alastair, Abbegael and Telwyn and all the troubles they will have to face. Please, let us not forget the villains of this story, Cythrual and the dragon queen each have their own stories to tell.
This made it hard to attach to the 11 or so main characters, and harder still to keep track of their individual plots. At times I got tired of reading a about a great fight Alastair was about to have only to then jump to a kitchen and learn of Tango doing the dishes that I skipped large sections of the book (+30 pages at a time) to continue on with that character and then come back and read the parts I had skipped.
Unrealistic moments also had me in conflict. Some archery shooting skills portrayed in the book as normal are beyond impossible with modern fiber-glass bows, sights, and carbon arrows with plastic fletching, much less with traditional wooden arrows and recurves and without sights. As a archer and fencer I have grown to love Wayne Thomas Batson's style of using realistic fighting and shooting techniques for all his previous books, it hurt me to see him turn from something that I hold in high regard. Sadly fighting and shooting weren't the only things that took a turn for fanciful wish, someone being a master smith, swordsman, and expert in every weapon is also to unreal for me to over look. Another is fighting for over an hour straight. I do fencing, and I am out of breath within 5 minutes of hard fighting, doing an hour straight with broad sword is just too much for any man. Falling in love at the equivalent of first sight is there too, but I'll leave that view up to the individual reader.
The world was also very hard to follow for most of the book. With no map and multiple characters running around the map I got to the point that I didn't care where in Myriad they were. (Though I have since learned future copies of this book will have a map.)
Now for the pros of this book. The plot was very well laid out, with the multiple characters lining up according to the time line and other important things was done very well. The fight scenes, which is 90% of why I love Batson's recent writing, were masterfully written with amazing moves (though some-as stated-were above a little far fetched), tricks and cunning ideas. Also Batson is a natural at getting even the most reluctant reader hooked in the moment and to feel the joy, hope, pain, and despair at any given time that the characters are dealing with. Lets not forget the colorful world that keeps growing but still has secrets to tell. Finally, the ending of this book made up for many of the things I didn't like, as always it was fast paced and revealing while giving us just as many questions as it answered for the next book in the Dark Sea Annals.
This book has a big closing that I hope will lead to a bigger opening for book 3 in The Dark Sea Annuals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #2: The Errant King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent sequel

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
MARISA MIRANDA
Location:Colorado Springs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventure, monsters, legends, kings, evil twins, a prince in disguise and a plot to take over the world. Oh, and of course the most charming, handsome, and amazing man in fantasy. The Errant King takes you on a journey you won’t forget, bringing back loved characters from Sword in the Stars and weaving a loosely allegorical story of love, sacrifice and adventure. With an ending that will leave you begging for the next book, The Errant King is a book I would recommend to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #2: The Errant King
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Errant King - 4 Stars

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
RAMH
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Storyline - King Lochland is overwhelmed by the work of the kingdom of Myriad. So he goes out and lives among his people, taking up new trades to blend with the town's folk. But old and new enemies are rising up and causing destruction and heart ache wherever they go. Hinterlanders, who live on the other side of the mountains, have an old queen, known as the Red Queen, returns, worse now than she was before. Now part dragon, she rains fire on whoever rebels against her. Alistair and Telwyn go off looking for Cetheral when Abbageal's dreams are haunted by him. But a worst evil is coming from the Dark Sea. Can this evil be turned away? Will the Halfainin be found and be called forth?
Personal Opinion - Good but perhaps too many characters to follow. Don't get me wrong, the characters were great and diverse, and I enjoyed them very much. But, because of so many character, it seemed a little long. Besides that, the story lines were intriguing and new beings were introduced as well as characters I hope to see more of. The Hinterland people were so interesting and fun (they reminded me a bit of Hobbits). I am curious as to how some inhabitants of the land have fared after the terrible battles. The story was good and is leading up to more, dangerous adventures for the next books in the series. So many questions need to answered with the ending of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #2: The Errant King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A riveting read, amazing book!

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kaycee
Location:NC
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am always reading all the time. Ever since I was seven, I've pretty much always had a book in my hands. And its an extremely rare occurrence when I finish a book to sit fifteen minutes in a chair just thinking about it.
Well, that's what happened with "The Errant King."
"The Errant King" is the second book in the "Dark Sea Annals" and sequel to "Sword in the Stars." Like "Sword in the Stars," "The Errant King" was filled with believable and lovable characters, a breathtaking fantasy world, and daring adventures. I could relate to all of the characters, from the struggling Alastair to the reluctant king Lochlan to headstrong Ariana. Mr. Batson did an amazing job with his world-building too. Each chapter begins with an excerpt from an almanac, diary, historical record, or just a saying heard at an inn. I thought this was a very clever and effective way of drawing you into the world of Myriad. Also, for other Christian fantasy fans, their were subtle and humorous references to characters from books by Bryan Davis, Donita K. Paul and others.
The violence in "The Errant King" is about the same as in his other books, sword fights, dragons, etc. There are references to a drug known as Witchdrale throughout the book (and in "Sword in the Stars"). One of the characters has an addiction that he must overcome from it. Its always shown in a negative light.
I was only disappointed with one thing in the whole of the story. There is one part where a woman heavily flirts with Lochlan, and he advises her to stop and not do it again. Its to demonstrate Lochlan's stability and wisdom, but I felt like it was maybe a little much.
Other than that one small scene the book met and exceeded all of my expectations! Mr. Batson is an incredible writer, and if he keeps this up, I'll be stuck in a chair much longer than fifteen minutes with his next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #2: The Errant King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chess match, anyone?

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Noah Arsenault
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was quite impressed with The Errant King, Batson's newest work. Knowing that many reviewers said there were too many characters, I disagree. There were certainly many "extras," if you may, but the amount of important characters was not overwhelming. This was aided by the fact that most came from separate settings and situations, which each showed us new pieces of Myriad. For this reason, among others, this book has become very important to the series. We don't encounter the same old problems, character flaws, and reasoning as we would have, had the story dawdled in Anglinore (the capital). The land of Myriad has matured in the series, as have the characters themselves. I found Loch's excursions and remarks comical and enjoyable, Shepherd Sebastian's advice compelling, and Fred's jovial manner refreshing.
When it comes to the story itself, The Errant King is a big set-up. Many pieces come in place, but the final result is still a mystery. The tragic ending served its purpose, and hinted at what a massive chess-game this series will become. Batson has become good at chess, it appears. I await his next move eagerly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #2: The Errant King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tremendous and Captivating read!

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gillian
Twenty years after the end of The Sword in the Stars, an ancient evil stirs in Myriad. King Aravel is long dead, leaving the throne to his wife Queen Maren, and his son Lochlan, who is about to be crowned High King of Myriad. There just one problem, Loch isn’t quite sure that he wants to be King.
Meanwhile, rumors abound. Cythraul, Morlan’s chief assassin, seems to have returned from the dead. Alistair and Telwyn set off on a perilous journey to discover the truth and end the villain once and for all.
But an even graver danger threatens Myriad. With Loch absent experimenting with a life of errantry and Alistair and Telwyn distracted on the hunt, the time is ripe for invasion. Evil descends on Myriad in greater numbers than ever before. Will the people of Myriad be able to survive the terrors approaching from all sides?
Whew! I have to start off by saying that The Errant King is now my favorite Batson book, topping The Door Within Trilogy, the Pirate series, the Berinfell Prophecies, and even The Sword in the Stars.
In the The Errant King, Wayne Thomas Batson spins a masterful tale filled with excitement, adventure, danger, and truly creepy villains with plenty of humor sprinkled on the side.
The Errant King is the second book in the Dark Sea Annals series, an epic story that will span seven books ere it reaches the conclusion. In this second book, Batson takes his writing to a whole new level, interweaving dozens of intricate plot lines, some carrying over from The Sword in the Stars, others reaching on into the next books. Because of the epic plot however, you don't want to read The Errant King without reading The Sword in the Stars first.
I felt like I really connected with all of the characters – especially Loch, Telwyn, Ariana, Fred. And of course Alistair and Abbagael. (As a side note, I had heard so many people talking about Fred, I couldn’t wait to read the book to find out what it was all about. All I can tell you is that Fred is one of the most creative and imaginative characters I’ve met thus far. Definitely worth reading if only to find out who Fred is.)
There are plenty of allegorical and Christian themes woven skillfully throughout the entire framework of the book. It's another one of those books that, as I call it, echoes eternity.
The largest difficulty I had with the book was when two characters fell in love in less than a week. It seemed somewhat ridiculous, but did not detract too much from the story.
Others have remarked negatively on the inclusion of a scene where the young King Loch has to deal with the overtly flirtatious advances of a young woman. However, I think the scene was well handled and added greatly to Loch's character as well as providing a good lesson for teens reading the story.
Overall, The Errant King was a tremendous and captivating read. Due to the violent battles and the somewhat gory nature of the descriptions as well as some extremely nasty villains, I would recommend The Errant King for an older reader, around 14 up to adult. If you're looking for a high action fantasy adventure, than the Errant King belongs on your list!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #2: The Errant King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!!!!!

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Belac
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best novel I have ever EVER read!!!!!! Mr. Batson intertwines these tales so well! It's an amazing book! Buy it NOW!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #2: The Errant King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Epic Adventure Continues!!

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Winterbane
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Legends of old come forth from dark caves. I dark figure speaks and a thunderous roar comes out from the deep. A young king becomes restless and longs for an adventure of his own. To cross his country that he has only seen from the windows of his castle. There is much that ways on the Shepherds mind if he gives his consent in allowing the young king to do so. Little do any know of what takes place during the Grey Hour, but one you girl does. She has witnessed the horrors that take place, but she tries to forget that fateful night. All of these roads will cross in The Errant King. Wayne Thomas Batson has delivered another epic adventure for the imagination! Following Sword in the Stars, The Errant King continues without hesitation, where Sword in the Stars left off. I would recommend taking your time as you read the Errant King for the soul reason that is very well written and serves the imagination well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.