Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Living Ink #3: The Seventh Door

Living Ink #3: The Seventh Door

Join twins Matt and Lauren in the continuing adventure in the Children of the Bard series. Endowed with mysterious dragon traits, the twins must stop the demon Tamiel from disrupting the song of the ovulum. If the song is crushed, Tamiel will be able to bring about the destruction of the human race.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #3: The Seventh Door
Review 1 for #3: The Seventh Door
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this is an amazing book. please read it!

Date:March 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
makenna
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book was amazing. I could not put it down. I would recommend it to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #3: The Seventh Door
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite of Bryan Davis' books!

Date:March 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
LissaP15
Location:Brockport, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is truly inspirational, and had me on the edge of my seat the entire time! It's my favorite of Bryan Davis' books. Bonnie is a great role model of the Christian walk, and is a great example to follow. You learn so many Christian values from just one book! Forgiveness, discernment, trust, love, and faith just to name a few! I always look forward to reading Bryan Davis' books, and cannot wait for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #3: The Seventh Door
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:March 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Emilydm544
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Seventh Door is a story of love, sacrifice and forgiveness. A struggle of bitterness. Bryan Davis demonstrates that without Christ in us we are powerless against our own desires; but with Christ's forgiveness and love we can forgive and love others. This insightful message is portrayed throughout this enjoyable and extremely suspenseful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #3: The Seventh Door
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
anthrozil906
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic! In this installment of The Children Of The Bard series, Bryan Davis again captures the heart, mind, and imagination, to send you to another world. A world of dragons, loyalty, love, and most importantly: a world of faith.
In The Seventh Door, God’s servants work liberally to try to save the world from the effects of Bonnie’s diminishing song. You can’t help but fall in love with the new characters and see old friends in a new light. The biblical truth found in these pages will compel you to look deep into your life to see your phantoms for what they really are: phantoms.
The Seventh Door is beautifully written to combine Fiction, the love of Christ, and the very real hope of redemption. Filled with with truth, both veiled for those more mature, and some as easy to spot as a dragon, The Seventh Door is truly “The Cat’s Pajamas”.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #3: The Seventh Door
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Powerful Book

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Location:Stockbridge, MI
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bryan Davis presents yet another stroke of genius! After only a few minutes of reading, I found myself hopelessly bound up in this story-world, running side-by-side with each beloved character. Every step of both their physical and spiritual journeys, I laughed and wept alongside them, cheered them on when they triumphed, held my breath when they stumbled, and felt every throb of pain when they faced unspeakable loss and suffering.
This is not a book that you can simply set down and walk away from. The message within will take you captive with its vivid portrayal of the age-old tale of courage, sacrifice, and the quest for salvation. The Seventh Door will linger in your heart long after you finish it. Thank you, Mr. Davis, for giving us such a thought-provoking novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #3: The Seventh Door
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Amazing!!

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Elzabee
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Seventh Door is a phenomenal addition to the DIOM universe. The characters and plot far exceeded my expectations as Bryan Davis has continued to develop as an author. Readers will fall in love with the characters and find them easily relatable. The plot is full of surprises. Just when you think you have it figured out, a twist is thrown in. I have been reading Davis's books for many years and am never disappointed. I can't wait to see what he as in store for readers in the next installment! I highly recommend that book enthusiasts pick The Seventh Door up today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #3: The Seventh Door
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bryan Davis has done it again- another amazing book. The Seventh Door has a great variety of emotions in it, ranging from extreme sadness to incredible joy and love! Bryan Davis does a great job of intertwining reality and fiction, love and hate. I have never read a series like this one! Even though the books in this series are fiction, the use of the Bible, God, faith and forgiveness has changed my life. There are many things that I do now to practice my faith that I never would have started doing if I had not read the books in this series. There is truly no author that can write the way Bryan Davis does.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #3: The Seventh Door
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Throwback to favorite adventures

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Booklover4
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Seventh Door has been the best adventure yet since new characters Matt and Lauren Bannister made their debut. With an exciting throw back, Mr. Davis mixed much loved stories from the first Billy and Bonnie adventures with new twists! I loved seeing a resemblance to the original series I loved so much, coupled with a fresh perspective and new challenges. Despite the familiarities, the incredible reconciliations and sacrifices were what really grabbed my attention and set this book apart. In the end it was so refreshing to finally see all the character's united at last since the beginning of the series; I cheered when something good actually went the way of the Bonnie and friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #3: The Seventh Door
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely the best yet!

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Seventh Door is the long-awaited third book in Bryan Davis’s Children of the Bard series and the eleventh in his ‘series of series’ that began with Raising Dragons. In my opinion, it’s the best yet. I quite literally could not put it down. The plot is very fast-paced and almost every chapter seems to hold a new twist or mystery that will keep you constantly wondering what’ll happen next. I was pleased to see Tamiel featured more in this book, as he’s quickly become my favorite Davis villain. I also enjoyed the way the main plot of The Seventh Door mirrored a book in a previous series without turning into the same story with different characters.
In addition to being exciting, The Seventh Door is also encouraging and edifying. Through his characters, Davis gives readers strong examples of faith, redemption, sacrifice, and God’s love. Characters constantly risk their lives for one another, and some do make the ultimate sacrifice. Also, certain characters who’ve made less-than-honorable choices in previous books are given second chances to redeem themselves, and one of these quickly becomes my favorite character in the book.
The Seventh Door does have a few flaws. Though most of the plot was fresh and exciting, some portions, particularly relating to the development of certain characters, seemed like parts of previous books in the Dragons in Our Midst and Oracles of Fire books, with the only real difference being the names of the characters. Also, one of the main characters drove me crazy for a fairly large portion of the book. However, these are very small issues in an otherwise excellent book.
Overall, The Seventh Door is an exciting and uplifting book that will keep you on the edge of your seat while encouraging you in your faith. Fans of the series will definitely not be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.