Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Living Ink #1: Masters & Slayers

Living Ink #1: Masters & Slayers

The dragons of Starlight have been enslaving humans for over a century. At long last, warrior Adrian Masters and sword maiden Marcelle vow to find the mysterious portal where the Lost Ones disappeared---and save the slaves. Will they turn back when they learn that only the ultimate sacrifice can bring freedom to the oppressed? 400 pages, softcover from Living Ink.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #1: Masters & Slayers
Review 1 for #1: Masters & Slayers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very enjoyable

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Masters & Slayers" is a fantasy novel that is a companion to his "Starlighter" young adult fantasy novel. Both are set in the same world and follow the same events (from different viewpoints), but I highly recommend that you read this novel before "Starlighter." The characters in this book are driving the events and know what's going on, so reading this book first will make "Starlighter" make a lot more sense, add suspense to it, and overall make it more enjoyable. On the other hand, there are only a very questions raised in this book that are explained by the events in "Starlighter."
The main (good) characters were honorable, earnest, and cared about helping others. The story was fast-paced and full of suspense created by the physical danger to the characters. There was also some relationship tensions that increased the suspense. The world-building was very good, with an interesting mix of high technology and the typical medieval fantasy setting. The author created unique societies and worlds without getting bogged down in description or made-up words.
There was a very minor amount of "he cussed" style bad language. There was no sex. Overall, I'd recommend this well-written fantasy novel.
I received an electronic review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #1: Masters & Slayers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Thrilling Journey

Date:October 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dancing Oracle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Masters and Slayers, you join characters Marcelle and Adrian on a heart rending adventure. Traveling through two different planets, their story is constantly packed with excitement and exhilaration. At selective intervals, characters from the book Starlighter make their own appearance in the eyes of the new acquaintances the book has given us, as well as the mysterious starlighter, Cassabrie. Dragon slaying, sword fighting, damsels in distress, and children in need of rescue all make their common place story into Bryan Davis’s gifted imagination, becoming a new story ready to be well loved and received. This book is filled with beautiful quotes, inspiring characters, and the ever-present theme self sacrificing love. The adventure was gripping, and I was left ready to continue the journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #1: Masters & Slayers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
FreakofNature
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a wonderful book. I would definitley recommend it. I'd also read it over and over. This book is definitley a keeper. It has knights, and dragons. Two great things I love to read about and you will too once you read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #1: Masters & Slayers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great new read

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you think that Bryan Davis can't get any better, think again,
for this book is one of the best!! The plot is ingenious, and with a lot of twists that will
make sure you keep turning the pages!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #1: Masters & Slayers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating!

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ginacat
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Masters and Slayers, the first of the Tales of Starlight series, has earned a prominent place on my “favorite books” shelf, right next to Starlighter. While Starlighter follows the adventures of teenaged Jason Masters, Masters and Slayers is about his older brother Adrian as he sets out to locate a legendary portal and bring the Lost Ones home. Bryan Davis’s take on this story is truly unique. Flawlessly, he weaves these two series into one tale of excitement and inspiration. While both Starlighter and Masters and Slayers can stand on their own, reading both has offered me a deeper understanding for the story world. I cannot wait to read the next book in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #1: Masters & Slayers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Book Ever!

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Knapper1176
Location:Reseda, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Masters & Slayers is a truly amazing book; I stayed up all night reading it! I could so easily relate to the characters, feel what they felt, and see what they saw. Bryan Davis has created a masterpiece with not only this book, but all the others in the series and companion series as well. I urge you to quickly get a copy of this brilliant work of art.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #1: Masters & Slayers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eli Duval
Location:Marion, Iowa
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome book! It's the story of Adrian Masters and his quest to rescue the enslaved humans from the dragons on the planet of dracon. Everyone should read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #1: Masters & Slayers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally a book for adults!

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Victoria V
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Adrian went off on his adventure in the beginning of Starlighter I really wanted to know what happened to him, and now I get my wish. Plus this books deals with adult characters which I appreciate. I am nineteen years old, which still puts me in the category of teenager but also legal adult and I still enjoy reading books for teenagers, but I begin to feel old when the heroes of the story are fifteen and sixteen, who says once you hit twenty-five you can’t have fun? As an older reader I appreciate having characters closer to my age that still go on the sword swinging, dragon riding adventures that I have always loved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #1: Masters & Slayers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Book Yet!!!!

Date:October 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Braydon Coyer
Location:Lancaster, TX
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Masters & Slayers...... The Best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This is the best book I think Mr. Davis has ever written!
It is epic!
I got this book and couldn't put it down until I was forced too. :)
I love the story, the characters, and the possibility's for the next upcoming books.This book answers a lot of mysteries from Starlighter. You won't be disappointed about this book, even the cover is so special with that sword design! Thanks Mr. Davis for the best book I have ever read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #1: Masters & Slayers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Galadriel
This book is a great work of art. It molds fully dimensional characters and enthralling dilemmas into a gripping tale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #1: Masters & Slayers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elijah Duval
Masters and slayers is an excellent story of courage and sacrifice. The captivating story of a quest for the freedom of slaves held by dragons will keep you up late into the night, just to see what happens next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #1: Masters & Slayers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Galadriel
Masters and Slayers stands leagues above cliched sterotypes with well-formed characters, a tightly woven plot, and heart-rending decisions. Can Jason's brother Adrian Masters trust the mysterious phantom of Cassabrie? Will Marcelle's bold moves compromise attempts to bring the Lost Ones home? Whose side is Arxad really on?While Starlighter serves as an excellent introduction to the twin words of Starlight and Major Four, Masters and Slayers provides a closer view of the dark life of the Lost Ones. Questions are answered in ways that will take even the most asitute readers by surprise.Both newcomers and fans of Davis' previous works will be pleased with this enthralling tale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.