Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Living Ink The Map Across Time, Gates of Heaven Series #2

Living Ink The Map Across Time, Gates of Heaven Series #2

An ancient curse plagues the kingdom of Sherbourne, and unless it is stopped, all will fall to ruin. The King, obsessed with greed, cannot see the danger. But his teenage twin children, Aletha and Adin, know they must act. A hermit leads Adin to a magical map that will send him back in time to discover the origin of the curse.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Map Across Time, Gates of Heaven Series #2
Review 1 for The Map Across Time, Gates of Heaven Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Map across time- a delightful tale!

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The "Map Across Time" is a fairy tale of the finest kind- full of adventure, intrigue and don't forget to throw in a little time travel! "Map Across time" is C.S. Lakin's second offering in her "Gates of Heaven series". Her first being "The Wolf of Tebron". Those who have read the first book will appreciate a lot of the background given in this book on the history of how the town of Tebron came to be, but you really can enjoy" The Map Across time" without having read "The Wolf of Tebron".
The Map across Time is a truly intricate tale about 2 twins-Aletha and Adin, prince and princess of Sherbourne with many sad predicaments in their kingdom. A dying Queen mother, a completely distracted and greed driven King father, and a dreadful curse that is taking over the kingdom in destructive and all encompassing ways. Adin needs to take a trek across time and return to the past to try and correct mistakes made there, in order to lift the curse that is systematically destroying the Kingdom. Aletha's bond to her twin brother is strong and she finds a way to follow him into the past to help lift the curse. Along the way there are many that help them and a talking pig named Winston was one of my favorites.
There are many great proverbs and scripture woven into the story in a really delightful way. The author also used the Old language or law'az, better known as the author puts it as "a liberal derivation of ancient Hebrew". As a tip to the reader, there is a glossary in the back to help with defintions- I just kept a bookmark there for easy reference, but most of the time the context would help you figure out what the word meant.
Yes, I was a lover of Fairy tales as a little girl and this grown up version is just as satisfying as the tales of old. It truly is a wonderful read and I am adding C. S. Lakin to my favorite author's list. Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Map Across Time, Gates of Heaven Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Fairytale!

Date:April 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
medytations
Location:Roseville, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I greatly enjoyed Map Across Time. Having read The Wolf of Tebron, I was looking forward to the next book with much anticipation! I loved how Ms. Lakin tied the two stories together, though loosely, through shared history in the same world. The time-travel mechanism was fascinating. The characters were interesting and well-developed. I disagree with the Publishers Weekly review stating that they were flat. If that is a characteristic of fairy tale characters, then I don't see why it should be listed as a criticism of this work. In any case, I identified with the characters in their flaws, fears, challenges, and triumphs. The battle between good and evil was well personified through human and non-human characters, places, and events. I would love to read more about these characters' lives, as well as any other fantasy that Ms. Lakin chooses to write. I think I'll have to dive into some of her writing in other genres since I have enjoyed these so well.
As a reference point, I enjoy Christian fiction such as C. S. Lewis, George MacDonald, Karen Hancock, Francine Rivers, Denise Hunter, and Frank Peretti. If you, too, like to read these authors, I believe you will enjoy The Map Across Time!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Map Across Time, Gates of Heaven Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Unforgettable Journey

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this story absolutely enchanting! The author did an amazing job of painting the picture of Sherbourne in its fullest. The characters quickly endeared themselves to me. I found myself crying at Adin’s pain and wanted to hold him in my arms and tell him everything would be alright. Aletha has such a strength of character that made you love her as well. The supporting characters of Reya, Jered, and O’lam added laughter and wisdom to the story.
It is a story of good versus evil, but it is definitely a fresh tale with some very cool twists. Another nice thing with this story is it is very entertaining for adults, but I think children will enjoy the story as well. The antagonist is very apparent and evil but I don’t think he would cause nightmares for younger children. My twelve year old was going to read it until he realized it was not on the Accelerated Reading List and he could get points for reading. I think this summer he’ll read it.
If you enjoyed the Chronicles of Narnia you will enjoy this story. This story is for anyone who wants to escape to another world and be lost in its beauty and wonder and learn how they recapture their freedom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Map Across Time, Gates of Heaven Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An epic fairy tale read

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Story Hunter
Location:Venice FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Welcome to the fairytale land of Sherbourne where evil lurks in the shadows and talking pigs are eloquent speakers. Adin and Aletha, teenage brother and sister, are saying a final farewell to their dying mother. Sadly, it would seem their kingdom will share their mother’s fate. With the queen of Sherbourne on her deathbed and the king’s mind being manipulated, the survival of Sherbourne falls into the hands of Adin and Aletha. With a magical map as their guide, the two will encounter another time–one from their kingdom’s past.
The keys of Sherbourne’s plague can be undone if only the two will hold fast to the ancient truths they’ve learned from Reya, their beloved friend. In this epic of unfailing love, readers will view the world through the eyes of the innocent. The Map Across Time is a story able to stand the test of time. Its themes run deeply through the body of work, drawing on the ever-present ideals of worth beyond measure, good over evil, and love that is stronger than death.
Adin’s character was most intriguing as he navigated the rocky road of being less than perfect. Crippled, and a disgust to his father, Adin harbors no ill feelings toward the king who has rejected him. Strong biblical messages are on the page, but they are handled with both grace and elegance. Though it’s considered an adult novel, I think younger audiences will enjoy Adin and Aletha’s journey. The Map Across Time is told with a youthful voice able to capture young readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Map Across Time, Gates of Heaven Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A well-crafted story with depth and heart

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Morris
Location:Atascadero CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fairy tales can come true…it can happen to you…if you’re young at heart . . .
Oh, so fun to be young at heart again and plunge into a saga from “once upon a time,” where characters can follow magical maps, put their feet into glowing impressions, travel back and forth in time, and take advice from talking pigs. Equally enjoyable is relating to the plot as the characters learn, grow, and make personal sacrifices so others can become what they were created to be—sort of like us, right? Lakin weaves a well-plotted, stand-alone tale of royal intrigue and peasant wisdom. Allusions to biblical stories and paraphrased proverbs add depth and richness to her stated theme: that those who feel they are insignificant and unworthy have merit and serve heaven’s purpose, even if that purpose is hidden.
Even if you don’t consider yourself a fan or reader of fantasy (I am in that group), you will not regret reading this captivating, heart-gripping story. If you are a home-school family, this book is a must for your pre-teen-and-up students. Lakin includes a theme-centered discussion guide that refers readers to relevant biblical stories and Scripture references. I can’t imagine a better introduction to learning how to engage a Christian worldview into the reading of literature.
The Map Across Time will be released in March of 2011 by Living Ink Publishers. Pre-ordering is available.
**I received an Advance Reader Copy of this book from the publisher**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Map Across Time, Gates of Heaven Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fairy tale for all ages

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
beverly Grider
Location:Moore, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Blurb:
The next installment in C.S. Lakin’s multi-part “Gates of Heaven” series, “The Map Across Time” introduces readers to Sherbourne, a fairy tale land of mystic and wonder. The king’s teenage children, Adin and Aletha, use a magical map to travel back in time and find the cure for an ancient curse plaguing the kingdom. A sweeping epic of God’s unfailing love and trust, “The Map Across Time” shows how those who feel they are insignificant and unworthy have merit and serve heaven’s purpose, even if that purpose is hidden. Similar to its prequel and other works by fantasy greats like C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien, “The Map Across Time” relies on biblical messages of love, trust, and salvation to drive the story and characters.
Readers who read the first book in the series, “The Wolf of Tebron," will remember the introduction to the first sacred site—abandoned at the base of the Moon’s house. In book two, we learn about the significance of the star, its symbolism to the Keepers and are introduced to the second sacred site. Each book will show a different site—a Gate of Heaven.
As in “The Wolf of Tebron,” the setting is a mythical world inhabited by good and evil. The main characters are fighting not only against an evil enemy, but also their own self-doubts and fears. As the story progresses, Aletha and Adin mature and come of age, learning they are capable of more than they ever thought they could accomplish.
Ms. Lakin continues to paint vivid pictures with her words as she moves the characters across majestic landscapes. The characters that Adin and Aletha meet as they fulfill their destiny are as colorful as the landscape.
The use of Scripture and allegory in Ms. Lakin’s series help to draw the reader in as the characters wander through the story. As the characters find their way home, Ms. Lakin hopes the reader finds their way home to God.
"The Map Across Time" also tells of the beginning of the village of Tebron, introduced in the first book. While it is not necessary to read the first book to understand the second, fans of C.S. Lakin's books and fairy tales will want to read the series as they were written. I highly recommend this treasure of a fairy tale to all readers and can not wait for the third book to be released.
**I received a copy of this book from Phenix & Phenix Literary Publicists on behalf of the author for review**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Map Across Time, Gates of Heaven Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Are you ready for a fairy tale for adults?

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Are you ready for a fairy tale? Here we have the second book, "The Map Across Time", of the "Gates of Heaven Series by C.S Lakin. I must admit this is not a book I would have chosen for myself. I am not a fantasy reader, but this book came and and I read the back cover. These words hit me, "The Map Across Time, a sweeping epic of unfailing love and trust, shows how those who feel they are insignificant and unworthy have merit and serve heaven's purpose, even if that purpose is hidden." It was these very words that brought me to open the pages. For this is how I was feeling at the time of the arrival of this book. It was one of those God moments that you just sit back and say, "Wow".
Some might say this book is written for young adults more so than adults. I am not so sure I agree. Is it a fairy tale? Yes, but one adults can relate to. It is one with deep meaning. I am hoping to go back and read the first book of the series, "The Wolf of Tebron" and follow up with the third, "The Land of Darkness". I think I could have gained even more from reading the first of the series. It would have unlocked many questions.
We find ourselves in the Kingdom of Sherbourne. This land is destined for destruction by a curse. The king is filled with selfishness and pride. He really is an ugly character. He has two twin children. Aletha, the daughter of beauty and strength and his son, Adin. Adin captured my heart. I loved his character. Although Adin appears to be weak and sickly, he is nothing of the sort. Adin stays clear of mirrors. He doesnt' even want to see himself. Why? He is the prince, but he isn't one the king is proud of. Adin is trying so hard to capture his fathers love, but nothing he does seems enough. The bond between sister and brother is unbreakable.
There are many rich characters within this story. Reya, a woman who cares for the children protects them that all costs. She knows of secrets and they unfold throughout the story. I found myself turning pages and wanted to see just what was next. I was cheering Adin on!!
We see how just one person can make us feel so unwanted. All we want in life is to be loved and accepted. This book tells the story of our Savior who is rejected daily. Who is found unworthy of our love after He has given all so that we could have life.
We all have a purpose. Sometimes we are trying too hard to find acceptance in others and that is where we miss our own gifts and purpose in this life. This is a story you will love. It is one you will love reading to your children and passing to your young adults. Others compare it to a C.S Lewis book. I do not. I think this book can stand alone and doesn't need to be compared to another.
This book was a gift from AMG Publishers for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Map Across Time, Gates of Heaven Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent read for YA readers

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
GinaBurgess
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the second in a series called The Gates of Heaven. You would do well to read the first in the series called The Wolf of Tebron because this one starts in a different place, but refers to the other characters without a lot of explanation. I really like sequels like this because rereading a book is tedious.
The storyline is good, the promises of what the book is about is also good. I have found that isn't always the case.
In the first of this series, we are introduced to the Kingdom and several lovable characters. Sacrifice, trust, truth and other morals are probed.
In this one, the author probes unfailing love, trust, and something much less obvious in how even the least and unworthy has purpose. It is an interesting study, but it is classified as "adult" and I believe it is more in line with young adult. The ten years old to sixteen year sold age range would find this a fascinating adventure, I'm quite sure. Judging it from that perspective, I give it 4 stars out of 5.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.