Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker More Than Conquerors: An Interpretation of the Book of Revelation, Commemorative Edition

Baker More Than Conquerors: An Interpretation of the Book of Revelation, Commemorative Edition

Continuously in print since 1939, this acclaimed commentary on the Book of Revelation is a favorite of scholars and laypeople alike. William Hendriksen unfolds the mysteries of the apocalypse gradually to help Christians understand that "we are more than conquerors through Christ who loved us."This commemorative edition includes a biographical tribute of the prodigious author. Solid scholarship and simplicity are combined, making this commentary useful to laypersons, pastors, and teachers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for More Than Conquerors: An Interpretation of the Book of Revelation, Commemorative Edition
Review 1 for More Than Conquerors: An Interpretation of the Book of Revelation, Commemorative Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A helpful Guide to the Book of Revelation

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
RICHARD HOLT
Location:Clovis, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book has been around for quite some time. The fact that so many people are still using it says something about its quality. This is a clear, interpretation of a difficult New Testament book. I highly recommend it. However, it is probably a mistake for a pastor or teacher to use this volume (or any other for that matter) exclusively when preaching or teaching on Revelation. But when used with two or three other commentaries like Sweet, Caird, Morris, Beal, Hughes, or Mounce, it can be very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for More Than Conquerors: An Interpretation of the Book of Revelation, Commemorative Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best commentary on Revelation

Date:December 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eric L. Harris
Location:Missouri
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been on a quest to resolve once and for all where I stand on my interpretation of the book of Revelation. This book which my Dad encouraged me to read has changed drastically the way I view the Apocalypse. I agree with others that this is a very clear, logical, understandable interpretation. Very level-headed and easy to understand. Who would have thought that the explanations I have been searching for would be in a short, 70 year old commentary? Seriously, this book is worth its wt in gold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for More Than Conquerors: An Interpretation of the Book of Revelation, Commemorative Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leonard Verwoerd
My wife and I have read this book about 30 years ago and found it very clear and easy to understand . We loaned the book to someone and it never got returned , but I've wanted to replace it for a long time but could not locate it until i found "Christian book,com" .The explanations in "More than conquerors" are so clear and sensible that I wish everyone would read this commentary, It is the best interpretation of the book of Revelation .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for More Than Conquerors: An Interpretation of the Book of Revelation, Commemorative Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Giovanni
Great book. Though I must say that a lot of sections in the book look a lot like H.B. Swete's commentary (i.e. The Apocalypse of St. John). But, hey, it's still good material.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for More Than Conquerors: An Interpretation of the Book of Revelation, Commemorative Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joel Funk
Excellent book! If your going to have a serious study of the book of Revelation then this book is a must read. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for More Than Conquerors: An Interpretation of the Book of Revelation, Commemorative Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Louis Gockel
More Than Conquerors presents an interpretation of the Book of Revelation which has truly opened this book of Scripture for me. The Revelation has been taken down now from the shelf I placed it on, I no longer see it as an obscure, difficult to understand book of the Bible, one to be left to those with a greater capacity to delve deep into mysterious symbolisms and possible connections with historical and future events.The view of Revelation presented by Mr. Hendriksen avoids the pit-falls, at least as I perceive them, of the traditional Dispensationalist interpretation. His presentation is clear, logically ordered, and very understandable. His literary honesty is evident in the numerous citations of other authors, both those whose views support his, ass well as those whose views differ from his.Overall I find this book has given me the 66th book of the Bible, as relevant to me, to my church, indeed to all Christians, for daily living as a Christian in a fallen world. To be sure the Book of Revelation speaks of the future and climatic world event, the second coming of our Lord. Yet it is not with more mystery, nor with more revelation, than other epistles in the New Testament. The Revelation was intended for the believers encouragement and comfort now I too can find both in all 22 chapters of Revelation.I highly recommend William Hendriksens book, for those who, (like I once thought), think the Book of Revelation is beyond their useful understanding, and even for those who may feel they have a strong grasp of the meaning of this book of the Bible, indeed they may find a Scriptural challenge to their thinking, or be strengthen further in their understanding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for More Than Conquerors: An Interpretation of the Book of Revelation, Commemorative Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
George Gootee
This was an excellent book. One of the best on Revelation I've read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for More Than Conquerors: An Interpretation of the Book of Revelation, Commemorative Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rich Turner
This is by far the best commentary on The Revelation I have ever read.It does a fantastic job of expounding The Revelation, with the Bible as the guide, rather than human thoughts and ideas. If you are serious about understanding The Revelation and the return of our blessed Savior this book will prove invaluable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for More Than Conquerors: An Interpretation of the Book of Revelation, Commemorative Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2003
Customer Avatar
Ross A Taylor
This one first came out in 1939 and is a classic work. He uses the spiritual or idealist interpretation; he is therefore good on interpreting the symbolism of Revelation. He uses the bible to interpret the symbols. For him Revelation is relevant throughout church history and not just at the end. He recognizes that the purpose of Revelation is to 'comfort the militant Church in its struggle against the forces of evil'. He is amill on chap 20. He is perhaps best known for his concept of progressive parallelism. He comments on a section at a time rather than verse by verse. He is very readable and not too technical. He would suite the layman who wants an alternate to the 'Left Behind' theology. Students should read him as a prime example of the idealist method of interpretation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.