Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness

Baker Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness

In this up-front book packed with girl talk and plenty of pep, Camerin Courtney reveals how she transformed from a self-conscious single girl to an I-am-single-hear-me-roar woman. While she admits that she still has "singleness stinks" days, she doesn't indulge in pity parties or offer readers a guide on finding Mr. Right. This book is, instead, an optimistic, upbeat look at the many emotions, expectations, joys, frustrations, and privileges of singleness. It shows how to dive into God's plan and purposes for this phase of life--whether it lasts for four years or forever. Fun and encouraging sidebars sprinkle the text, covering everything from must-see movies to a list of great things about singleness (i.e., "if we buy floral sheets, no one complains.") This savvy, girlfriend-to-girlfriend guide to singleness will delight and inspire single women. It offers great insight for friends, families, and church leaders who want to encourage them as well.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Review 1 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not for me

Date:April 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
hopiey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not sure what I thought it would be about, but it wasn't interesting for me. I'm content single and the book was more on the side for those not content.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Informative and Thought Provoking

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness - by: Camerin Courtney
Informative and thought provoking. It took me a couple of weeks to read this book, it started slow but ended strong. I actually purchased this book because of the title. Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness. This is my anthem I am one of the weird people who can actually go to a restaurant, and even to the movies on my own. Some of the women from church cannot believe I live alone. I liked the book very much. The author actually got it right. Camerin Courtney was honest and that was what I liked she did not make singleness sound like a life sentence or a picnic. She talked about the ups and downs. She even had great tips on how to embrace your singleness. I found it very informative and I even laughed in some spots. Being single is not the end of the world. It is a life full of adventure and preparedness. God prepares you on how He wants us to be, and not how the world says we single should be. I did enjoy the book and I can only recommend if your single pick it up you will truly enjoy it. God Bless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Catherine
This is the best Singles book I have ever read (and trust me I have read several). Many of the experiences Camerin talked about in this book, I could relate too. It's amazing because Just when you think no one else goes through what you go through as a Single. God shows up and says I know just how you feel and youre not alone.It's ok to be at Table for One and trust God for Table for Two in the future--however long that may be...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Krystle Nale
I have already lent this book to one of my single friends and she loved it as well. It's like having a girl talk anytime you want and I love Camerin's sense of humor!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
lois-hudson
I am an older single (widowed)woman who enjoys life as it is. I purchased this book as a gift for a young single friend who would like very much to be NOT single! I hope Camerin's realistic, but lively and empathetic style will encourage my young friend to love life as it is right now for her, which will make her a more delightful person when, or if, she becomes a wife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kim
I really enjoyed this book. I liked the fact that it was an encouragement book, not a dating self-help book. I am now focusing on the wonderful things about being single. I am seeing the things that I should take advantage of until my mate comes along. I should appreciate the little things such as the fact that I can take naps on Sunday afternoons between church services and not have to worry about fixing dinner for my husband or child. I have the freedom to travel and explore. This book is definitely one that I will read again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
GAIL K KROLL
WOW! This is a great book! Delightful and witty! I realized exactly who I was and am at 53 and thinking I should be "there for my widowed Mom all the time" and NOT! I am a single woman with goals and desires etc. too. And? Camerin's book made me start thinking about all of those things in my life! I loved it! Take a look and see both men and women exactly what you are living in the now for and searching for in the future! Honestly one of the best books I've ever read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2005
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Today is Saturday I bought the book yesterday and I am done. It was a great read, it was funny, it was inspiring, and it was exactly what I needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2003
Customer Avatar
Lou Gagnon
NOT for women only!!!Camerin knows our hearts...both women's AND men's!As a 40ish never married male I bravely (somewhat) purchased her book today...and I'm really glad I did!She really can relate to struggles and feelings of us over 30 singles: the alienation, the awkwardness, the frustration, profound disappointment, pain, longing, the feeling left out...of our society AND the church.She has really fantastic tips and ideas for how to build a friendship support system, how to open up to your parents to give you the support you need (instead of the "why aren't you married yet" that we usually suffer), how to realize the benefits of single hood (yes, there are perks, just ask a married friend), etc.I really liked her middle-way approach...between the typical "how to find a (wo)man" books, and those which encourage one to basically give up and resign oneself to a lifetime of singleness. Personally, I don't think I have the "gift" of singleness (as it's called in Christian circles), and if I did get it, I'd stamp on it "RETURN TO SENDER"!Come on guys, get up the nerve and buy the book and read it. If you just can't face the cashier, ask a woman in your life to buy it for you, a sister, mother, friend, whatever. You'll be glad you did!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2003
Customer Avatar
Brandye Bradley
WOW!! Is just one word I can use to describe this book. My friend recommended this book to me after hearing Camerin on a radio show. It's so good to know that I'm not alone when I have those "singleness stinks days"!! Thanks Camerin for writing this inspirational and fun book. It was such an encouragement to me. She shed new light on being single and how to deal with the ever-asked question - "So, why aren't you married yet?" Table for one was awesome, one of the best encouragement books I've read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2003
Customer Avatar
Kaylene
Apart from Gods Word the most mind-set altering and hilarious book I have ever read. I used to be obsessed and miserable with my singleness now I am content and making plans for my life in ways that please God. I also bought other copies to give to friends and they feel the same. Camerin, I thank my God for your singleness!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2003
Customer Avatar
Angela Woodall
I have read many books on singleness and "Table for One" is the only book I have throughly enjoyed. Camerin is very insightful and encouraging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2002
Customer Avatar
Sacha Bellinger
Every SSC(Single Sista in Christ) should have "Table for One." It is a funny, well-written take on surviving & ENJOYING one's singleness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2002
Customer Avatar
Rachel
I couldn't put it down. I was thinking, "She's talking about me." I'm even handing it over to married friends to educate them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Table for One: The Savvy Girl's Guide to Singleness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2002
Customer Avatar
Amy
This book was awesome! The whole book is on the level and provides practical information and insight on the joys and struggles of being single. A must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.