Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ywam Publishing Why Not Women? A Fresh Look at Scripture on Women in Missions, Ministry, and Leadership

Ywam Publishing Why Not Women? A Fresh Look at Scripture on Women in Missions, Ministry, and Leadership

Multiplied millions of women all over the world are looking over the church's shoulder, longing to see the freedom Jesus purchased for them at Calvary. Millions more have found freedom in Jesus but are still bound by human ideas that pressure a woman to let culture, not God, determine her place in the Kingdom. Why Not Women? brings light, not just more heat, to the church's crucial debate with:
  • A detailed study of women in Scripture
  • Historical and current global perspectives
  • An examination of the fruit of women in public ministry
  • A hard-hitting revelation of what's at stake for women, men, the Body of Christ, God's Kingdom, and the unreached
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Why Not Women? A Fresh Look at Scripture on Women in Missions, Ministry, and Leadership
Review 1 for Why Not Women? A Fresh Look at Scripture on Women in Missions, Ministry, and Leadership
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Technical but readable

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shellie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are in need of research material this would be a good place to start. I appreciated the footnotes for further study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Why Not Women? A Fresh Look at Scripture on Women in Missions, Ministry, and Leadership
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Melancon
This looks at a topic that many pastors fear touching -- a woman's place in the church. This book looks at what the scripture says and gives many examples from real life that sets women free to be all God calls them to be. God has gifted many women with such leadership qualities -- and surely He means for them to use them. This book will especially help those of us who want to obey God's Word fully, while releasing us to fully use the gifts God has placed within us.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Why Not Women? A Fresh Look at Scripture on Women in Missions, Ministry, and Leadership
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pastor Barb
This book was recommended to me highly by a pastor friend who had bought the book and put in on her shelf. When she read it in preparation for speaking at a conference she said to me, "This has given me everything I need to know, this has answered so many questions for me so I speak about women in ministry. She called me to tell me about it, brought the book over and asked if I would speed read through it so she could have it back. I ordered ten books for her at Christianbook to give to other women. She is passionate about sharing this message for the rest of her life to free women to be who God has meant us to be in him. I also found it be highly informative and helpful for me as a woman pastor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Why Not Women? A Fresh Look at Scripture on Women in Missions, Ministry, and Leadership
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mrs Tom
I wish the body of Christ all over the world had this information. Christ came to set free the prisoners, and women have been prisoners to the lies of being second class citizens in the body of Christ for far too long. Accolades to the authors of this book who are bold enough to go against the flow and rise up to speak life and restoration to the body! Rise up daughters - you are needed in these last days. Take your place!!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Why Not Women? A Fresh Look at Scripture on Women in Missions, Ministry, and Leadership
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tim Cole
~ The authors tend to paint "worst case scenarios" and then argue against them.~ The authors' starting point and frame of reference tends to be experience, rather than biblical revelation. ~ The authors base some of their key biblical assertions on scholarship which has already been disproved. Meanwhile, few of the main scholarly works on the topic are quoted.~ Cunningham (hereafter "LC") and Hamilton (hereafter "DH") are passionate about missions. But neither has done graduate studies in an accredited biblical or theological institution. The result is sloppy scholarship.For example, does the Greek word "kephale" as explained by DH in ch. 12 mean "leader/authority" or "source/origin" - this is crucial in understanding I Cor. 11:3 and Eph. 5:22-33 as they relate to roles of women. DH is strongly in favor of "source/origin" but: ~ He asserts there is a battle between Greek experts and Greek lexicons over which translation is correct. As evidence, he cites one lexicon that doesn't include "leader/authority" among its listed meanings for "kephale", giving the impression that lexicographers are divided. Actually it is the only one of scores of general lexicons that doesn't include the meaning "leader/authority. And no lexicon from the New Testament era gives any example of "kephale" as "source". ~ Out of 2336 uses of "kephale" in ancient Greek literature (most of which literally meant "head") there are 49 clear metaphorical examples of "kephale" as "leader/authority". DH asserts "...we find many, many times in ancient literature where head/kephale meant "source" or "origin". In reality lexicographers actually only acknowledge 2 such uses. His statement is simply false.This is just one of numerous examples of DH's lack of scholarly credibility as applied to every one of the key texts. The omissions are so obvious that one can only conclude that either he is so biased as to be incapable of objectivity, or inept in scholarship.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Why Not Women? A Fresh Look at Scripture on Women in Missions, Ministry, and Leadership
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
PeaJay
Truly amazing book. Based on the doctoral thesis of one of the authors. This isn't about the 'popular' women of the bible, but the equality of men and women in biblical scripture, equal to serve God and Christ. Discusses Greek, Roman, and Jewish culture to show how women were denigrated. And how even English translators used their own bias to 'dumb down' Greek words when used re: women (i.e., the same Greek word would be translated to deacon for men, but helper for women). It becomes obvious when you read it. Also includes some areas identified as theoretical, but most is based on digging out the facts. Bless the TWO MEN who wrote this book. If you have one book on women, especially in ministry, service, etc., this should be THE ONE. It makes a woman feel empowered, but more importantly, equally loved and considered by God for His service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Why Not Women? A Fresh Look at Scripture on Women in Missions, Ministry, and Leadership
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Steve Emmett
In the context I'm in, where women are still (bonded) by hard sticking unscriptural habits and traditions I pray that the insight and the solid study of the Word of this book may help many churches and boards see that our Lord didn't create our girls, sisters and wives to just hold out in the corner. We are cutting our strengths by half in keeping women on their chairs. May our Father open many eyes of men and take care of their fears!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Why Not Women? A Fresh Look at Scripture on Women in Missions, Ministry, and Leadership
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lenora Runge
I'm only a third way through it, but it is a mighty awakening story of what Tradition has done to us as women. I grew up in churches that put women under men all the time. So thanks for this wonderful, well documented, highly detailed book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Why Not Women? A Fresh Look at Scripture on Women in Missions, Ministry, and Leadership
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
jj25
I have read many books on this subject, and this is the most approachable and thorough book out there. If you can only get one book on the subject of women, THIS is the one to get! It is excellent, and a must-read for anyone who has pondered a woman's place in God's Kingdom. The authors' knowledge of Greek is evident, as is also their sensitivity to the Holy Spirit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Why Not Women? A Fresh Look at Scripture on Women in Missions, Ministry, and Leadership
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
Rebekah S.
This has been the most impacting book I have ever read on the topic of women,and also the most well studied and laid out.Its very solid.The message of this book long over-due.The devil fights dirty and will use anything to try to disable the Church,as we all know,and in light of that this book is a must read,by everyone men and women alike.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.