Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Baker Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control

Very few books on dating have stood the test of time like Passion and Purity. Using her own life as an example, beloved author and speaker Elisabeth Elliot guides singles of both genders and any age on how to put their love lives under the authority of Jesus Christ.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Review 1 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is about choices we make that honor Jesus

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
smiley 2
Location:Liverpool, New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must tell you that this book offers young people and older singles the perfect way to honor the Lord . We want to honor Him in everything . I would recommend this book to anyone who loves Jesus and trust Him to bring everything together at the best times in our lives.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a MUST-READ.

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
serenecsl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first came across this book when I was reading I Kissed Dating Goodbye by Joshua Harris. Harris quoted from Passion and Purity numerous times and I have been wanting to read it ever since.
With all the books on relationships, even the Christian ones, I didn't have high hopes about it. But the moment I started reading Passion and Purity, I was challenged.
The book is split into short, relevant topics with rather catchy titles. She writes about her experiences particularly with Jim and more importantly, her walk with the Lord. Of course, there are multiple Scriptures included which makes it all the more solid. Her honesty and straightforwardness about topics such as surrender, heartbreak, relationships is what sets it apart from other books. She doesn't offer a How To Succeed in relationships but rather, reminds us of surrendering and trusting this very fragile area in our Lord's hands.
A friend of mine whom I lend the book to could not go through the book; she said Elisabeth's views were too radical. Perhaps there are others who would think so. But we are in fact called to be radical, set apart and this is exactly what Elisabeth exhorts us to be.
As a whole, this book doesn't just touch on relationships but on living a life that honors God in every aspect. I am glad to say that this book got me started on spiritual journaling; it's been 3 years and I have not missed a day. I thank God for writers like Elisabeth Elliot who knows exactly what we need to know. A real treasure.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is awesome!

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abigail
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldnt hide the great happiness inside from receiving Passion and Purity by Elizabeth Elliot. But when i read it i couldnt believe it was much more better than i thought! It was so practical, adventurous and helped me in what i am going through right now. Thanks to the Lord Almighty for wonderful books like these and the wonderful authors that write them! I STRONGLY recommend this book to anybody girl or boy...Anybody! Praise God!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jujube
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a great book! This woman's story encouraged me to wait patiently for the good man.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Matthew Hall
Elisabeth Elliot is best known as the wife of martyred missionary Jim Elliot, as chronicled in her book, Through Gates of Splendor (1957). Christians are still awe struck by her unceasing ministry to the native people responsible for his death. While I have not yet read that work, an error I intend to correct, I have had the pleasure of reading her book Passion and Purity (1984). The subtitle Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control suggest an emotionless book of prescribed behavior to deal with Christian singleness. Passion and Purity is neither cold nor tactical. The strength of this book is that it is personal. At times it reads like great historical fiction as Mrs. Elliot answers the questions of modern single people by opening up the journals and letters of her youth and sharing her courtship with Jim. The Elliots courtship was intentional, Christ-centered, painful, beautiful and as humanly possible pure. This is not a how to book, but a why to book. The reality is we all know the mechanics of being pure, the challenge is holding onto our convictions in the face of ill-timed passion. I am grateful for the example of the Elliots.Elisabeth Elliot as an author proves herself to be wholly inspiring, convicting, and absolutely readable. Unwilling to part from her at this time, I have begun to read another of her many books. Single people and those who love single people should visit with Mrs. Elliot and her great God in this book.Review first posted at MattHallBlog.com
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Francine Smoke
I loved this book. It was encouraging from start to finish. As a mature widow I have found some books on "dating" and "singleness" to be from a young view, while a good read, but not necessarily relevant to my season in life. That was not the case with this book. It broke the information down to waiting on God. It goes beyond age; it is for everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Erin
This is an excellent book for all seasons of life. I was blessed and challenged during my time of singleness, God is currently using it greatly during my season of dating, and I know it will apply to me if God brings me into marriage. Elisabeth Elliot's passionate heart for God encourages her readers to settle for nothing less than God's best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2008
I FULLY recommend this book! I ate it up. I have quite a decent number of friends who have read it and all of them loved it just as much. Personally, people may not like her bluntness or language but Elisabeth Elliot is a no-nonsense person and full of wisdom. We could learn a lot from someone her age because she has been through so much and has been faithful. God blessed her and you can see his hand in her love story with Jim.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Erin
My friend really loved this book, and so did my mom, so I expected great things from it. Instead, I found it to be horrible! I can understand why she used alternate words for sex, but what she used instead were far worse for me, and conjured images in my mind. Also, it seemed like she was saying, "This is how I did it. It is the right way, it is the only way." And I know I'll sound stupid for saying this, but the way she spoke made her sound old, as in from the fifties, unrelevant, out-of-date, like she wouldn't know what she was talking about if she were trying to talk to ME, NOW. I found "When God Writes Your Love Story" much more beneficial and encouraging. Joshua Harris' books are better, too, in my opinion. Get them. I can't recommend Passion and Purity, though. (By the way, when I swapped books with my friend, she had the same response over my the Ludy books, "Authentic Beauty" and "God's Gift to Women". I guess it depends on what causes you to think unwholesome thoughts. Ha!)
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Erin
This book, second to the Bible, is by far the best book I've read in my Christian life. It has challenged me not only to set boundries for sexual purity but also has helped me to draw closer to Christ in every area of my life. An absolute gem in the books world of books!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Though I have always considered myself to be very wise in regard to relationships with the opposite sex this book challenged me in many ways and gave me a new, fresh perspective. This is one of my favorite books by Elisabeth Elliot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sarah Guidry
My husband is a youth pastor and I teach a small group of girls. This is the 2nd time I've taught this book to highschool students. My Mom gave it to me to read when I was 14. God used the wisdom of this "older woman" to teach me, the "younger woman" how to truly walk in purity. Purity is God's idea! I reccomend it for all young girls (boys can read it too!), and any woman who is seeking to please God. Elisabeth Elliot is a woman I would love to meet, she has such wisdom and insight. She tells it like it is. In our culture, it is a refreshing dose of the truth found in the word of God. Add that to the testimony of her own life. Yeah... I love the book. She targets the heart, and commitment to Christ in love and honesty. The world is very loud about what this area of our lives should look like, and they are very wrong. We need to be just as loud about what God designed and commanded. God's will is indeed for our greatest joy!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2005
Customer Avatar
Megan
This is an awesome book! Definatly a must read! It shows you how Ms. Elliot trusted God's will even when it meant not even contacting Jim Elliot!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2005
This book is absolutely amazing. It really challenged me to set firm boundaries for my future relationships with guys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2004
Customer Avatar
Magan Hollowell
This book is awesome! It changed my point of view on dating and on any form of interaction with the opposite sex. It is radical but it definitely challenged me. I would even dare to call it the best book on relationships. It is a must read for any single who longs to live and walk in a deeper relationship with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.