Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cinedigm Entertainment Holdings Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack

Cinedigm Entertainment Holdings Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack

For more than 40 years, Charlton Heston has captivated audiences with his thrilling portrayals of biblical heroes, including Moses in The Ten Commandments. Now sit back and relax as he shares his passion for Scripture and his unique insights into timeless stories of the Christian faith. Beautiful, captivating animation for the whole family to enjoy! 12 DVDs, approx. 50 minutes each.
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
5 out of 862%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack
Review 1 for Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The disk format was terrible but the stories Great

Date:April 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen Gray
Location:Burkina Faso, West Africa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I like the stories with this series but you can't skip all the BLABLA at the beginning!!! I feel forced to sit through all the comercials and Heaven forbid something skips you start back at ZERO. In this day and age one should be able to skip right to the main story on a disk! One review said the kids couldn't last until the end, if I use these for a group, I am forced to play through the first 10 minutes hit pause and than it is where my group can see just the real story! The music was pretty bad too...
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent !

Date:March 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jesus loves you
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the whole set of these movies and I am really happy I did. They are excellent and they really tell the stories well. Great characters, voices, songs. I have no complaints! Great way to learn the Bible stories !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not completely accurate

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gabrielle
Location:London, Ontario
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I know every kids bible story video is going to have some embellishing but it's been done too much. The bible doesn't say there were a bunch of snakes in the fish with Jonah nor that it took him 3 days to walk to Ninevah like the movie said. I bought these videos to show to my Sunday school class but I would be forever saying, "Just so you know, that isn't in the Bible." If I have to say that, why use them at all.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I'm disappointed

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
LaloNKrush
Location:Vienna, ON
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought the 12 pack set and have only watched a few of the dvds thus far. Sodom and Gomorrah confused me a bit. First we receive a very clear message that God is not seen but speaks to the heart, then when God is speaking to Abraham, God becomes this cloudy man figure. Also these dvds are a bit long for my boys (age 2 & 3) they get tired of watching long before it's over. Sarah was also supposed to be a very beautiful woman, even in her old age. My expectations have not been met!
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wish there were more DVDs in this series!

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mimi
Location:Houston, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I initially bought 3 DVDs of this series for 4 & 6-year old grandchildren. The animated characters are very believable, (not talking vegetables or animals), the sound track is pleasant, & the stories are Scripturally accurate. Our grandkids were absolutely enthralled from the first viewing, wanted to watch them over & over, and even asked to sleep with the cases! They have continued to enjoy the DVDs so much that we have purchased the whole set now. The duplicates from the set will make wonderful, inexpensive B-D gifts & provide opportunities for sharing the Lord with friends! These thoughtful, well-produced DVDs bring the Bible to life & are also appropriate for older children (even grandparents). Go on, pop the corn!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not for small children

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kristine Ahrens
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
These movies do a great job of explaining bible stories and my children love them. I only have 2 problems with them: They say they are appropriate for any age (they are not). There is much violence in it and there is a scene where Abraham and Sarah are in bed. Sara is bare shouldered. My 4 yr old asked me if Sarah was naked. My 2 and 4 yr olds after watching these movies started running around playing saying I’m going to kill you. It also gave them the belief that all soldiers are bad because they kill people. We have pulled most of these movies out of our viewing library and will wait until they are old enough to view. They have learned a lot from these videos.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding alternative for TV viewing!

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Praying mom of 2 boys
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am the mother of two boys (5 1/2 & 7). I have been looking for decent Christian alternatives to what is on TV for children to watch. We purchased the 12 DVD set for the boys for Christmas. It is now February and the boys have watched these daily since they received them. They choose on their own to watch these instead of looking for something on TV. The videos hold the boys' attention and are Biblically accurate. We have also used them in children's Church (4-12 yo). I could not be happier with our purchase and at $5 a video, they are a bargain. We just purchased (the childrens DVD) Ben Hur through CBD as well. I know it will be great! Oh - The kids have learned how to skip over Charlton Heston's intro, but I still like it!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Accurate and entertaining

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mom of two boys
Location:Maine
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little afraid that these were "too young" for my 6 and 11 year old sons, however they were entertained and watch them over and over again. We bought the box set and we were suprised that they really exceeded our expectations. Worth every penny!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kari
I rented a few of these videos online, and was pleased when my, then 2 and 4 year old, boys wanted to watch them over other popular cartoon TV shows. A year later and I have ended up purchasing many of the stories, and my boys still request them, over and over again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Pusey
I purchased four first, to evaluate for my young grandchildren, and ended up using for a children's church lesson. They held the attention of 4-12 yr olds, and were a good spring-board for discussing the Bible stories.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Diana
I bought these for my 9 month old daughter to help her in building a foundation of understanding in her faith and love for God. I got more than I bargained for! I expected overly simple and skimpy on the facts videos with maybe one or two good ones in the whole series. Instead I got very high quality DVDs, each tells a story and sticks to the facts, each has at least two songs, and a character throughout the entire series who explains in easy to understand terms what is going on. You can not do any better than this wonderful series. Well worth the cost as adults will enjoy watching them with the children.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Yullie Patricia
My sister from Indonesia sent me these DVDs, they are awesome. My children loved it and so did we, the parents! Give it a try.....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Greatest Heroes & Legends of the Bible 12 pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ruby Smith
This series is one of the most accurate accounts of Bible stories and my daughter loves it. A rare find.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.