Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords Any Minute

FaithWords Any Minute

Sarah Harper is driven to achieve success no matter what the cost. She wants to do good and not hurt the people she loves--especially her son, Mitchell, and her husband, Joe--but her desire to succeed in her career too often leaves little time for family.

One cold, autumn afternoon, all of that changes when Sarah's car plunges off a bridge and into a river. She is pronounced clinically dead to those on the "outside," but Sarah's spirit is still very much alive. What she discovers on the other side transforms everything about Sarah's view of life--past, present, and future.

When Sarah is revived, she is a changed woman. And the unsuspecting world around her will never be the same again.

Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Any Minute
Review 1 for Any Minute
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good Coverleaf

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nichole Rust
Location:Emporia, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I will start with the positives- The Coverleaf was well written and compelling. There is no vulgarity in the book and it highlights some important points for us to think about in our Christian walk and life in general. Has a sort of "feel good" theme.
Overall however, the plot was VERY drawn out- the first 10 chapters could easily be reduced to 5 or fewer because the point was made early on- VERY excessive.
I was in a serious car accident slightly dissimilar but not terribly different. It is highly unlikely that this woman would be returning to work TWO DAYS after a life threatening accident. It seems to me TOO MUCH time was spent on the drawing out of the beginning of the story and not enough time was allowed for the resolve.
I WILL NOT buy another Joyce Meyer Fiction Novel- she does well with non-fiction- probably best to stick with that
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Any Minute
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quality escapism!

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lillian MacDonald
Location:Leduc, Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The characters in this book remind me of myself and of others I live, worship and work with. Credible and soul-searching - and realistic in that even though God changes our attitude and behaviour, change in relationships and in circumstances often lags behind! But anything is possible with God's help... very encouraging reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Any Minute
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katrina
Very good book!! I don't have a lot of time to read, but I didn't want to put this book down until I finished it!! From chapter to chapter, it leaves you wanting to know what happens next and it is very relevant to peoples busy lives this day and time!! We should all check our priorities!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Any Minute
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
Joyce Meyer may be known for her non-fiction books filled with inspiration and spiritual insight, but she might just have something to offer the fictional world as well. Together with Deborah Bedford they have presented us with the book "Any Minute". What happens when a wife and mother obsessed with her career has a brush with death (maybe more than a brush, more like a punch)? Can she get her priorities straight? Can she salvage her relationship with her children? Her husband? Is it too late or not?I really enjoyed seeing how this story unfolded and I think my favorite part is that while Sarah may have changed, it didn't magically make everything perfect. Very real life, but still with a happy ending. Very good book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Any Minute
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna La Komy
Stressed out woman trying to be the perfect Wife, Mother, and Employee. Her heart is in the right place but her life is out of balance. This is a good book for anyone that needs a reminder about what is really important.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Any Minute
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2009
The message is that we don't know how much time we have left, and that any minute we could be taken away. Cherish the time you have with your family and don't take them for granted. Throughout the first half of the book, I just wanted to keep screaming at Sarah for the flippant way she was treating her family. I understand that her job was important, but the fact that she couldn't see how it was affecting her relationships really bugged me. I appreciated that the book did not try to make it seem that it was condemning women who work outside of the home and being away from their children. I have read some Christian fiction books that seem to make that point and it always annoyed me at how chauvinist it seemed that the women was supposed to stay at home while the man is the one that does all the work.. In this book however, the story is not blaming Sarah for wanting to work, just how she happened to handle everything.I think the harshest moment in the book was the fact that Sarah has sacrificed everything for her boss and the company, and has pretty much died trying to do things for them. Yet it doesn't seem to matter at all. Her boss, after finding out about her death, pretty much dismisses it and is already looking to replace her with no sympathy at all. Another heart wrenching aspect of the story is when Sarah realizes why her mother treated and acted the way she did towards Sarah her entire life. While it still doesn't give her the right to act that way towards her daughter, Sarah's mother becomes a more sympathetic character when we find out about her past. If there's anything I didn't like about the book, it would have to be the ending. I just thought it was too "let's tidy up everything" and seemed rather predictable. I thought it would have had a better effect if the unexpected had happened. Other than this, I enjoyed the book and thought it was a good read with a strong message. It makes you see life in a whole new way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Any Minute
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
TE
Predictable story line but a decent read. Some parts were confusing the way they were written. However, it's a good story from the standpoint that we need to realize what we have and what God has given us, and we cannot take it for granted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Any Minute
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
The First Carol
I cared about the characters and what happened to them, and although not all elements of the story worked for me (the mothers back story made more sense had it happened in the grandmothers generation) those were small issues in the overall delivery of a story of self-discovery. We are left with hope that life can be bettereven if not always by our own powerand what matters most are the relationships we nurture within our family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Any Minute
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura
just as with the first novel the penny, I picked this book up and read it from cover to cover without stoping, Sarah Harper has a lot on her mind all the time, things she shouldn't have there, they were not her burdens to carry, durning the book you find out durning the time she is gone (her words in the book) she mets wingtip who has already met her son mitchell, well i could go on and on and tell the whole book, but, buy it read it you will not be sorry, Sarah does come out of it a changed woman and goes about changing the way others view her as well. well worth the read and the price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.