Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Doubleday Religion Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Doubleday Religion Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life

Some days it seems easier to focus on what we don't have. Whether it's a better job, a spouse, or a home, whatever it may be, our lives begin to feel empty, and we think "If I could only have ___, my life would be better." We begin to feel more like victims than victors in life. Nick Vujicic struggled with these emotions too. Born without arms or legs, Nick felt wronged by God for many years, and was filled with hurt and resentment. Healing came for Nick when he realized that God made him for a unique purpose--to inspire others to make their lives and the world a better place.

In Life Without Limits, Nick shares his remarkable story of how he overcame his physical disability to live a full, rich life. His faith in God and the freedom he's found in an attitude of optimism, gratitude, empathy and forgiveness, have helped Nick to accept the things he could not control and focus instead on what he could.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
45 out of 4698%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Review 1 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda S
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have not read it yet but will soon. Looked over pictures and liked what I saw.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
lizzie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW !!! is all I can say. This book is a real inspiration to me and my whole family. You will have no choice but to grow stronger as a Christian after reading this book, and looking at life and its problems through different eyes. A great Christmas gift for any family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stan
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding book, very spiritually uplifting! Well worth reading.. A MUST READ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dixie2
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best book for encouragement and hope to overcome anything with the help of faith in Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Positive, Inspiring, and a fun read

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vicki
Location:Maple Park, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found Nick Vujicic's book uplifting and inspiring. I laughed, I cried, and I was convicted to reexamine my Christian life. Nick shows the reader that God has created each of us in a unique and purposeful way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
lovelyone
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It gives us hope to see how God can works in out lives, nothing is hard for him.he can help one to do anything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent for encouragement

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
God is 1 Lord
If you are looking for encouragement to overcome anything that life has dealt you, then this is an excellent source. I would have preferred that more explicit reference to God's faithfulness and grace was expressed for the unsaved, so that those needing encouragement would turn to God for the strength to achieve the ridiculous life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspiring despite polishing errors

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I cannot remember where I first heard of Nick Vujicic – I suspect I saw him in a video clip at church. Not surprisingly, he grabbed my interest, so when I saw that this book was available for review, I snapped it up.
I expected it to be more of an autobiography than it actually was. Vujicic is a speaker by trade, and he writes like he speaks – in fact, the book was like an elongated version of his talks. He tells jokes and stories about his life, and then he relates those stories to how his audience (or reader) should live.
Because he is a professional speaker, Vujicic’s writing is not as polished as it could be -- I noticed several places where he said essentially the same thing in two different paragraphs, and sometimes his plot lines could have been ordered better. Throughout the book, he discusses the “moral” of one of his stories before telling the story itself, and then reiterates the moral again after the story is finished. The reiteration, for me, was always more profound because I could sympathize better after the story was told. Honestly, I found myself skimming over that initial moral more often than not.
Other than that, I thoroughly enjoyed the book. Vujicic’s tone is light and conversational, even when he deals with deeper topics like depression. He was funny, and the stories he recounted were always engaging. He seems earnest and real. Because of that, I was inspired by his words. Reading his chapter about giving made me want to be more generous, and his thoughts on forgiveness and discipline challenged me. Overall, his passion for people and his talent for inspiring completely overrode any editing oversights. For this reason I gave the book 4.5 out of 5 stars, and I would definitely recommend it.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SO great!

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
grace
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the chance to read "Life Without Limits" by Nick Vujicic through a service at Blogging for Books that offers people free books in return for an honest review, whether positive or negative.
Firstly, if this book, and this guy, don't make you want to exclaim "I'm never complaining about anything ever again" then I don't know what will. Inspiration doesn't even begin to cut it. Nick Vujicic is simply, for lack of a better word, amazing. And the thing I love the most is that he doesn't see it. Most books like this were there is a pity story of some kind leave you feeling like the author was digging for just that, pity. But not this one. This guy, born with no legs or arms, doesn't even see himself as handicapped. He doesn't see himself as any different than anyone else. He has had every right to hate life and dig a hermit hole for himself but yet he chooses to do the exact opposite- he travels all over the world telling people how bless he is to get to live the life he has, and how thankful he is for it.
This book is so worth reading. It puts you in your place and forces you to see life with perspective, and I don't know anyone who couldn't use that.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Witnessing Tool for Young People

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Clarke
Location:Rochester NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had purchased this book as part of the homeschooling curriculum for heallth for my high school sons. We are looking at issues of Christian manhood and this book was recommended as an example of Christ working within a person with great obstacles to overcome. The story is incredible and there are so many you tube clips to find that go with the experiences in the book (for example when he writes about learning to surf, there is footage on you tube of the whole event). It is not "in your face" with the gospel and Nic goes out of his way to align everyone's life challenges with his own. A very good book to give to young people (high school/college) who are struggling with belonging and purpose.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very encouraging reading

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Yvonne Smink
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed he book very much. It is designed to be motivational and I would like it to have been more of a testimony than it was. However, Nick Vujicic is a remarkable young man, he has a delightful sense of humour and his life and accomplishments can't be anything but an inspiration to others. It's a good read and very encouraging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A most worthy read!

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
D Smith
Location:FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inspirational, encouraging, awe-inspiring, almost unbelievable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mama
Location:Brandon, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didn't know what to expect but a very positive read. Parts made you want to cry but others made you laugh out loud. Shows what can be accomplished even though you have a disability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product is awesome

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
peacherman
Location:nashville, tn
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What an inspiration..It makes you thankful for the things you have or don't have..praise God
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging book!

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
smasters
Location:Georgia
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Without Limits was a great read! Nick was born with no arms or legs. The book is about the obstacles and challenges that Nick faced growing up and how he has chosen to focus on the positives rather than the negatives in his life. Nick refuses to let his physical disabilities get in the way of living a full, exciting life! He travels around the world sharing hope and encouragement with all that he comes into contact with. I was definitely challenged to be more aware of the blessings in my life that I often take for granted. Reading Nick’s story has helped me to realize how my small “trials” in life pale in comparison to so many of those around me. I really enjoyed this book and would encourage others to read it!
This book was provided to me free of charge from Blogging for Books in return for my honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
gramma
Location:Albuquerque,NM
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Extremely inspirational, motivating and encouraging.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
martlau
Location:Melbourne, Australia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an inspiring story with a bit of a laugh at times! Nick is truly an inspiration for those days where you can't be bothered or think that your own life sucks!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Inspiration and Read!!

Date:May 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
A Restful Place
Location:Missouri
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes you just feel like a book or sermon was written or preached just for you, right? As if right at this moment you are the only one in the room and this message is just for you. Well this book has hit home for me so much that Nick might as well have just started it like this: "Dear Tabitha, Read this book, I wrote it for you..."
Life Without Limits - Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life!
I first heard of Nick with no limbs several years ago and was amazed at almost everything. I watched his YouTube video of him doing things for himself and was surprised at such skill! How can someone without arms or legs be able to do anything for himself? When someone we know breaks an arm or leg they feel like they can't do anything, right? And that's only for a few months compared to a lifetime, that's nothing!
I have thoroughly enjoyed this book and I will be reading it over again! Many times! I don't want to ruin the book for you so I won't tell you too much! : ) ...First Nick is a GREAT writer and captures your interest right away! I don't know about you but I love stories! In this book Nick gives a challenge and then gives stories - some are of failures and others of success! But non-the-less captivating! His sense of humor is everywhere and there have been many times that I couldn't keep reading from laughing! : )
Nick's heart in this book is to really help others take a look closer at their situations, evaluate them and succeed above them through Jesus Christ! No, not everyone has the same struggles but we do all have the same God and we can rise above our situations. Take a different & better look on life and realize we aren't the only ones here suffering!
Again, I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to many!
***I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review all opinions are honestly my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Inspiring, but not biblically solid

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christin
Location:Tarpon Springs, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nick Vujicic is an inspiring person. Born in Australia without either arms or legs, he has overcome just about every obstacle life has placed in his path. Rather than viewing himself as "disabled" and letting life pass him by, he believes that his lack of limbs has "enabled" him to live a ridiculously good life, by the grace of God. In Life Without Limits, Nick shares his strategy for overcoming life's challenges and says that everyone can live life to the fullest regardless of the difficulties they face. Coming from such a joyful person -who has no arms or legs- it's hard to argue otherwise! Life Without Limits is choc-ful of inspiring, personal stories of struggle and triumph, as well as the stories of other inspiring folks Nick has met along the way in his world travels.
I had high expectations for this book because I've seen a video of one of Nick's speeches on YouTube and thought it was excellent. I am also a huge fan of the short film, The Butterfly Circus, which Nick stars in. Even though Life Without Limits is contagiously optimistic, I was disappointed by its blend of Christian and humanistic ideas. Throughout the book, Nick encourages the reader that anything is possible if you work hard and never give up. He frequently used the saying, God helps those who help themselves, which is not a biblical concept. The main focus of the book was how you can live a happy life. I am thrilled that Nick is a joyful person who is not wallowing in self-pity. Like I said at the beginning of this review, he truly is an inspiring person. But God's main focus for us is not that we would live a happy life here on earth, but that we would turn from our sins and believe in Christ so that we can live a happy life forever with Him in eternity. Unfortunately, Life Without Limits is not a book I would recommend.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing for this review.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring and Encouraging

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tiffany Cole
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an incredible book about the triumphs and trials in the life of Nick Vujicic. Nick was born with no arms and no legs which then created an interesting journey not only for him but also for his family. From the beginning of the book till the end, you will read the most encouraging stories, meet an incredible array of encouraging people and realize the potential you may not even know you have!
If I needed to rate this book I would give it five brilliantly glowing stars! Our family fell in love with Nick immediately! He has a warm, funny and very caring way of communicating. It is easy to feel the compassion that he has for people and the situations they are in, the passion that he has for life and the love he has for Almighty God!
We read this book out loud as a family. I felt that this was a story that my children needed to hear…especially before the teen years hit. Every person struggles in one way or another with acceptance and “fitting in,” some people just hide it better than others. I wanted my boys to see what a real struggle with fitting in looks like. By reading this book out loud to them, I wanted them to understand that no matter how bleak a situation can look…someone else may have a situation much bleaker than we do.
A great lesson learned from this book is to look beyond yourself. When you stop trying to fulfill your own desires and try instead to meet the needs of others, not only can you change a life, but you will change yours in the process. I recommend this book to everyone…literally. For anyone with teens or pre-teens, please get this book and read it to your children, it could be one of the most powerful moments you could have as a family by reading this book together.
I received this book free from the publisher through the “Blogging For Books” book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.