Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Inheritance - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Inheritance - eBook

Desperate for a fresh start, McKenna Ashford accepts her cousin's invitation and moves west with her rebellious younger brother to the not-so-quaint mountain town of Copper Creek, Colorado. She arrives only to find that life there is far from what she expects. Having practically raised Robert on her own, McKenna is burdened both with her failure as a parent and her deep conviction to not let her brother throw his life away. Trusting has never come easily for her--especially in issues of the heart--and that inability to trust is put to test when she meets U.S. Marshal Wyatt Caradon.

After years on the trail, Marshal Wyatt Caradon finds himself at a crossroads. He's brought countless men to justice, but he questions what lasting good his life has accomplished. When his path intersects that of young Robert Ashford, Wyatt glimpses himself, years ago, in the boy's pride and arrogance. He also sees a boy without a firm hand in his life. His well-meant attempt to help Robert brings him face-to-face with the one situation he never wanted to encounter--and the one woman who holds the key to helping him find his future.

Set against the rich, untamed backdrop of the Colorado Rocky Mountains, The Inheritance is the first historical from WOMEN OF FAITH FICTION, and is a journey that explores the depth and breadth of a parent's love, the inherent risk in learning to trust, and the cost of laying down your life for one you love.

Average Customer Rating:
4.848 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Inheritance - eBook
Review 1 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Memorable Read!

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Tuller
Location:CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This was my first novel by Tamera Alexander, and I thoroughly enjoyed it! Vivid descriptions and well drawn characters make for a story you won't soon forget. The writing is stellar, and it's a story not to be missed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast Paced Adventure

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeannette Claridge
Location:B.C., Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
McKenna has a lot to learn, but luckily there are kind-hearted people to help her get through the tough times in a frontier town. And an unlikely romance helps too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lacey Jane
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is fantastic! I received this for my birthday last year and I read this book in a day! Loved the characters. Tamera Alexander has a way of bringing characters to life! I fell in love with this book and many of her others!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, Mystery, and Action in the Wild West!

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa Michele
Location:Pacific Northwest
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent! I've loved every novel I've read from Tamera Alexander, and I'm convinced that she can't write a bad book. McKenna, Wyatt, Emma, Mei, Chin Li, and even Robert were characters that I cared about and rooted for. The Inheritance has it all-- top-notch writing, plenty of action, some mystery, a beautiful love story, and a spiritual thread woven naturally throughout. I stayed up well past a respectable bedtime to finish this book because I couldn't put it down. I highly recommend it for readers who love quality historical fiction!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great historical fiction!

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trish
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tamera Alexander brings her characters to life in such a way that the reader feels they are there taking part in the story. I haven't read anything that she has written that I didn't love. I recommend her books to anyone who likes to read good, clean, uplifting fiction!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I dont' come across to many books that are so well written that they really touch my heart. The Inheritance is one of those books. It isn't one specific thing or anything I could put my finger on, its just overall when I come to last page, I sigh out loud and am sad it's over. This is my second time reading this book.
With her parents gone, McKenna Ashford is trying to raise her brother to the best of her ability. She accepts an offer from a cousin to move out west and start again. She has a unique gift for saddle making, but must keep it a secret.
When she meets Marshall Wyatt Caradon, who has heartbreak of his own, she struggles to keep her independence even when she realizes that she is beginning to have feelings for him.
I love McKenna and Wyatt. They both had issues and a past that they needed to begin to heal before they could become a couple. And they find that healing within each other.
One of the best things that I loved about the book was the writting style. One chapter we get McKenna's point of view and in the next chapter we get Wyatt's. I loved this because it gives a bigger overall picture of the characters. It gives them more depth.
This book is a real winner and I have recommended it over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Tamera Alexander!

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've come to love historical fiction & Tamera Alexander's
books are some of my favorites. I've read her other series
and they are very good stories. They keep your your interest
until the very end! I'm also very pleased with CBD's service
and the quality of their products. Thank you CBD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed this book very much

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa Fletcher
Location:Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like when books make me think and explore my heart and mind. Exploring the tough-love issue is very timely for many families. On a lighter note, it was a good story and recommend Tamera Alexander highly. I really enjoy her style of writing, have read all her books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5 Stars- And Absolutely no less!!!

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tamera's Books have been on my TBR list for a long while, and I've decided to start with this one.
The more I read Christ-base novels, the more I encourage other fellows, to do the same. I mean, why turn to ungodly writers when we DO have TALENTED authors in the Kingdom of God. Authors whose books will not leave you with the impression that you've wasted your time. Authors who use their talents to really communicate an empowering, truthful message to the reader. Yep, You've guessed where I'm going with this. I'm talking of authors such as the uniquely GIFTED Tamera Alexander. This story was just beautifully written. As I read it, I felt like I was watching a movie and the story just hooked me right from the beginning. Readers who are going or have gone through a similar situation to McKenna's , will really be able to relate to her story (and might want to grab some tissues while reading :) (Oh, and did I mention that the love story is just so CUTE!! Get ready to sigh, girls.)
I knew I would like this book, and I'm glad I did!!!
The story is touching. And this will definetly NOT be my last read from Mrs. Alexander :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely amazing!

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary A
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough about how gifted of an author Tamera Alexander is! This book is a masterpiece and a must have! Marshal Caradon is an endearing character with his tough love toward McKenna's brother and his protectiveness for McKenna, an independent and determined woman. Their relationship is beautifully developed and sweet. Very well written and a page turner from start to finish! You'll be reading far into the night to finish this one!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kamoe
Location:Rockford, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this story. It offers insight into tough love as well as surrendering fully to God and his Love and his will for ones life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lime
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An enjoyable journey with the characters not just through their physical lives, but in their spiritual journey's also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Tamera is a great writer!! Our book club decided this would be our next book and I finished it in 3 days!! I would've finished it sooner but I had to work haha. McKenna's story is such a great one. She bears so many burdens but it doesn't make you annoyed as if she is whining like some books would make it out to be. And Wyatt? He had to be such a handsome strong Marshal!! Great book, it's like you were living there!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Catrina Mackes
Loved it! Tamara Alexander has a way of drawing you into her characters' lives and to the Colorado Territory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Annette M. Irby
Brokenness is Tameras theme in The Inheritance. She brings her characters directly to that placeMcKenna almost loses everything. Again. Robert (her rebellious brother) has to face his failures. Wyatt lives in a state of brokenness as he overcomes a deep loss. I appreciated Tameras reference to dependence upon God and how brokenness brings sweetness to our relationship with Him. She has written a beautiful historical novel I believe readers will love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
Tamera Alexander has an unmatched skill at taking her readers on journeys into the west and history. From the first sentence to the last, she draws the reader into her story world, with characters that are real, scenery you can almost touch, love that moves your heart, and faith that makes you envious. The Inheritance is a journey back into the settling west, and a trip into your very own heart.McKenna Ashford moves to Copper Creek, Colorado seeking a fresh start for herself and her brother, Robert. U.S. Marshal Wyatt Caradon is content to live on the trail bringing fugitives to justice. A chance meeting between the two of them on McKenna's best friend's ranch changes the course of both of their lives forever. Can two independent souls learn to trust and rely upon each other and allow love to grow in unexpected ways? What if they have to lose everything to gain the world? As McKenna and Wyatt journey into a beautiful love story, the reader travels with them. Readers will hope to return to Copper Creek in future books. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2009
This is by far my favorite Tamara Alexander book. Not to mention one of my all-time favorite books all together. I love Marshal Caradon's and Mckenna's characters, and I definitely recommend this book if you like Tamara Alexander reads. This is probably one her best books yet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2009
This was the first Tamera Alexander book that I read. It is by far one of my favorite books of all time and I have read close to 100 books from CBD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Dufek
Didn't enjoy as much as her other books. Jumped around too much. Still an ok read
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Inheritance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
McKenna Ashford moves to Colorado, hoping to make a new start for herself and her rebellious younger brother. But when she arrives at her cousins doorstep, things are nothing like she hoped theyd be. McKenna struggles to be a parent to her brother, figure out the surprise shes left with, and still make ends meet. Throw in rugged U.S. Marshal Wyatt Caradon, who has memories from his own past, some very interesting and well-done minor characters, and youve got Tamera Alexanders The Inheritance.Sweet. Sassy. Simply wonderful. Thats The Inheritance in a nutshell. I love historical romances with sassy heroines, and this book did not disappoint. The main character, McKenna Ashford, grabbed my attention right away. I was pulled into the story through the struggles, surprises, and genuine love. It leaves you feeling warm, fuzzy, and happy. If you like historical romances, dont miss this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>