Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Dateable: Are You? Are They?

Baker Dateable: Are You? Are They?

If you think you're clueless about the opposite sex, you won't be once you read Dateable. We've got stuff on them they never wanted you to know. It'll be like you're a fly on the wall of the locker room listening in on all the conversations you've always wanted to hear. We expose the inside world of guys and girls in this tell-all book. Don't try dating without first being Dateable.
Average Customer Rating:
3.828 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Review 1 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very relationally practical book.

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
EMAN
Location:Cleveland, TN
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Relationally practical and thought-provoking book were "rubber meets the road" when it discusses the spiritual heart and mind of relationships. Highly recommended for whatever stage of the dating scene you are in!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brianna
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
I didn't even finish the first chapter online, and I knew I wouldn't want to read this book. The four "truth's" he gives are hardly true. Like the third one: "You will date several people before getting married." Not everyone will. I won't. I have made the decision not to date, at all. I believe that when the time is right, God will bring my husband into my life, and He will show me that that's the person He wants me to marry. I've heard so many speakers say that dating young only increases the chances of you getting divorced. Personally, I don't see the point in dating young. As they said, "you're relationship will end"; another point that I didn't like. Who says it WILL end? They even go on to say that even at 18, you're relationship WILL end. I know plenty of people who dated when they were around 18 and are now happily married, for several years. I can't judge the rest of the book, but based on the first chapter, it's not a great Christian dating book. I've never heard a Christian say "oh yeah, dating's great. Experiment! It'll help you later in life". O_o I highly recommend reading the preview here, before buying the book.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
godwill
Location:Cisco, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good book for teens, we are teaching it in Sunday school.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
HIS daughter
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was an excellent read for my 14 year old daughter. She did not want to read it at first and then couldn't put it down once she got started. This book was everything I had been trying to talk with her about. As a single parent, it's hard and I appreciated the extra help! As Christian women and men we really need to stick together to teach our children the ways of the world and the ways of God. Thank you Justin and Hayley!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Berta
Location:Hawaii
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great book for leading young ladies. We are using it in our youth group for the jr high and high school girls. They are all enjoying the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alisha
I loved this book! I found the book to be very accurate and helpful. It was tough but fair. It breaks down the dating world in an accurate and understandable way. I would recommend it to any young Christian who agrees with the morals God has given us. I would also recommend the fallow up to this book "The Dateable Rules: a Guide to the Sexes". If this ONE book made you angry or pushed you away from Christianity then you have other issues. I'm truly sorry the true hurts.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Josh Vaughn
I read this book, cover to cover, which was a complete waste of time. It's completely inaccurate, and stretches the truth to totally ridiculous boundaries. Basically, these ignorant authors are stating that all men are sex-addicts, and they will stop at nothing to get it. That all woman are unable to be self-controling, that no young relationships will last, and that sex is evil. To teach a chile such hogwash is immoral. Men are not sex addicts. Woman can control themselves, relatioships can last, and sex is not evil. I purchased this book for my two children, but after reading it myself, I used it to start a fire during a snowstorm. This book almost pushed me away from Christianity, a religion I have believed in and upheld since I myself was a child, and I would not reccomend offering this to your son/daughter, as it may cause them to lose religion as well. There are much more accurate and less biased ways to prevent your children from having sex too soon.
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Edward Huston
This is an incredible book! A teen introduced me to it. I work with teens, especially girls, and I am regularly referring to it now and buying copies to pass on to the teens. It's truths are profound and life-saving. Justin and Hayley have a lot of wisdom packed in these pages. Get it, read it, pass it on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ashley
I just finished reading the book Dateable: are you? are they? and i have to say, now that i have finished this book it truely is amazing, it gives you a full depth few's on real life questions, emotions, feeling's and conversations that guy's and girl's have had about dating. I understand more about dating from a girls point of view and the guys part and what it truely means. Now i am having more confidence in myself to have a pure, true relationship with guys.Thanks Justin and Hayley.-ashley
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
a person
This book is really, really good. It explains why guys and girls do the things they do, and it helps prevent you from experiencing heartache. Over all, this book speaks the truth and that's something we all need to hear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenae
This is a great buy for any Christian teenager, girl or guy. It really tells it like it is, though I noticed that people have given it only three stars, because they just don't want to hear the truth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Becky
This is an EXCELLENT book! if it "offends" anybody or makes them feel "uncomfortable", it's because the truth hurts! if you want a book that sugar-coats everything and lies to you about what goes on in a girls/boys life . . then find a different book. this book is full of Truth, wisdom, and love. if you struggle with what the authors write in this book then they have done their jobs right! all pre-teens and teens should read this book with an open heart and mind, take what is in the book and chew on it, pray about it, and apply it to the areas in your life where it is needed. this book is a WAKE UP CALL for all hormonal girls and boys!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
c lopez
well i got this book cuz i heard it was a good relation ship book but its not. this book almost made me and my girlfriend break up. and it mostly talks about how guys are jerks. not every guy is like what is says in the book. so i recommend that u don't read it unless u want problems in ur relationship.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kate
This book had its good points and bad points. I think it went overboard about the 'truth' with guys- the authors portray them as Neanderthal and also hint at girls being, in complete essence, hopelessly and horribly connected to their emotions. I also found the point of certain chapters confusing and contradictory towards the purpose of the book. Though it does offer some funny points (the 'be a man chapter' was humorous), predominantly, the male author portrayed a one-sided account rationalized on his own experiences and not too much else. And while I would suggest reading this book and gaining an insight, I would also STRONGLY suggest not taking every word too seriously.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gwendolyn
Okay. So, for one, I'm a teenager myself, so your first thought may be, "Don't listen to her; she's still naive." Second, I'm Catholic, not Christian, and this book was given to me by a Christian friend of mine. I started reading it knowing that it's best to wait till marriage, but what if I don't? I mean, will I go straight to the burning gates of Hell? And I know Christians are Christians, but it kind of stung when I read that the main standard was indeed that if the guy you dated wasn't Christian, he's not good enough. I know SO many nice, perfectly good guys who don't practice the Christian faith. If the guy isn't Christian, is he automatically corrupt? I took the quizzes, too, and none of them were positive. So I know that teen dating might not last, but at least let people DREAM. Getting hurt is part of life. All the quizzes say "if you date, you're lying to yourself." "If he's not perfect, OH NO! Kick him to the curb." I admit some of this stuff is true--a lot of guys I know do think about sex, sex, sex but guys CAN control themselves, as crazy as it might sound. This book mainly is implying that guys are pigs and girls can't control themselves. I'm sorry. This book is hardly accurate.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Georgia
This book is a joke. Plenty of people HAVE dated young, and grown up, had amazing marriages, and children and raised them well. the entire book is saying "NO DATING. IT'LL BE THE DEATH OF YOU. AHHHH The quizzes- one of them is frog? or prince charming? EVERY result you can get is like, hes lying to you! your lying to yourself! There's no way that this guy can be good for you at all! Not all guys are like that. These authors are just kidding themselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Elena Rabago
I love how it tells us how some guys are and will be! I love the fact that it tells girls how it is not supposed to rate how your relationship on how long your conversation is on the phone. Guys also lie to you when you ask, "What are you thinking about?". I also like how it has the point of veiw from a guy and a girl not just one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Must Have for Teens!! I'm no longer in my teens but I couldn't put this book down. I longed to read it every free second I had. An awesome guide to how to become dateable and why its so hard to snag a guy. I was doing everything wrong. I was so amazed and embarrassed to read a description of me in the book. Def. will change the way you date. Thanks a bunch!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dana
This is a must have for teenagers!! I have a 14 year old daughter who is in a relationship. I bought it for her and she couldn't put it down. The very next day she was telling her friends about it. It was really an eye opener for her to see how guys think and how much it related to her relationship now. I just wish we had a book like this when I was young.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dateable: Are You? Are They?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marlaina
Every high school-er should read this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>