Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook

Dr. Eggerich's book, Love & Respect, launched a revolution in how couples relate to each other. Now in The Language of Love & Respect, he presents a practical, step-by-step approach for how husbands and wives can learn to speak each other's distinctly different language - respect for him, love for her. The result is mutual understanding and a happy, successful marriage. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Review 1 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

To Love and To Respect

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:Fort Myers, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so satified that my husband and I have found time to read the book and do the workbook together, it has been very helpful in explaining the differences between us and how we think, feel etc.. I wish we had done this years ago.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great communication techniques if practices.

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marlana R
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book discusses ways a wife and husband can learn to communicate better to enable the marriage to grow. If used, the concepts and suggestions also help the individuals to grow closer to God as well as each other. Since men and women are so different, it’s a good thing to know and practice effective communication techniques especially with those that we are to love and cherish. Great book! I will be sharing this book with my husband and practicing what I learned with and on him!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betty
Location:Detroit, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must-have book for couples struggling with marital issues based on trust and respect. I've used it in my practice and have gotten great results with my clients.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best - get one for both of you

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dusty
Location:WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Love and Respect theory is provided in a way that allows you to benefit from reading it immediately. You will get the direct coaching you need to begin communicating. Small investment in reading it can pay great dividends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellant resource for married couples.

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pastor Joe
Location:San Antonio, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is currently opening the eyes of my students to help them see how they communicate with their spouses. They appreciate the practical help and guidelines the book gives and it is helping them to communicate better than ever. They still have to remind themselves of the being able to listen and determine to do so with the proper perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Gentry
A wonderful follow-up to "Love & Respect." This, too, is Biblically sound and promotes understanding of why most married couples have difficulties and what can be done to lessen the conflicts. If the principles of this book (which are based on God's Book) are followed, lives will be changed and marriages transformed into the wonderful relationships God intended them to be. I have shared this book with many others and plan to always keep some on hand to give as the need arises.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cyndi Jennings
I recently received the book The Language of Love and Respect. I had heard several people talk about Love and Respect which was also written by Dr. Eggerichs, so I was very interested in receiving the new addition. The Language of Love and Respect was a follow up from the first book. I wish now that I had read Love and Respect first, because I must admit I had a hard time following Dr.Eggerichs writing. To be fair he did give a brief rundown in the beginning of the book about the first book. I also found it to be rather long, and think the format may be good for those who are doing a follow-up or group study on marriage.I agreed with many of the ideas that he had in the book, although I know it was probably very hard for women and men who have formed a set pattern in their mind on what they need in a marriage. He does a good job of laying out what the role of a husband and wife should be and I believe if I had read the first book along with my husband that my response may have been different. I do plan to go back and read Love and Respect, so although I felt lost at times I am still interested in pursuing the idea he has outlined in both books. I would recommend the books to others even though my review is mixed, but I would first suggest reading Love and Respect and perhaps using the material in the context of a small group setting, along with your spouse.I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as a part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to give a positive review. The opinions expressed here are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, part 255
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Krissy Mclean
I am a little mixed about this book. Did it have some great advice, yes! No doubt. However because the author repeated himself so much and overemphasized so many of the points the book almost became a drudgery. The basic premise is that men need respect and women need love, that you can get from reading your Bible however the author does a pretty good job of going into detail as to how and what men and women can do in order to love their spouse in the way that they need. If the book were about 1/4 shorter (due to repetition) I would think it would be much better. The advice is still great however so I would not say to not purchase it, just be prepared to glean over the repetition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristi Farrow
The Love and Respect concepts discussed by Dr. Eggerichs in this book are great truths for any marriage or relationship!My husband and I had the pleasure of watching the Love and Respect DVDs before I read this book. Personally, I preferred the DVDs as we could do it together, at the same time, and have immediate discussions afterward. Because I already knew a lot of the information, this book was quite repetitive.But, if readers don't have the chance to see the DVDs, I would totally recommend the book!The truths discussed are so helpful for any relationship between males and females, especially marriages. I think it acknowledges and gives understanding to the different ways men and women think, feel and act. This book is filled with practical suggestions, clear explanations of concepts and good reminders.One of my favorite parts is the Rewarded Cycle. "The Rewarded Cycle is not primarily about you and your marriage; it is about you and Jesus Christ" (p.230). How true and what a great refocusing on the things that have ultimate eternal value.My marriage has personally benefited from the concepts found in Love and Respect and I would suggest that every married couple find the book or the DVDs and learn these concepts together!Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly
I am struggling with my review on this book for two reasons:1.The Language of Love & Respect is an extemely insightful,"dead-on" accurate description of communication between a husband and wife. If you have ever felt like you were speaking German and your spouse was speaking French, this book will help you translate. If the two of you feel like you love each other deeply and are both trying to make your marriage work, but you just can't seem to stop arguing, you will find answers here.2. This book was at least twice as long as it needed to be. The points were often over emphasized. There were so many letters and examples for each point. They were all helpful, but as a whole it was overkill. There was also a lot of extra time in the beginning chapters devoted to clarifying things for "political correctness." There were also too many acronyms used. So should you buy this book? I would still say "yes." I think the information is too valuable to your marriage to pass it up because it is wordy. The helpfulness outweighs its tedious style. I just think that a book that is intended to help marriages should be written to a wider audience. Many couples need to hear the information that it contains, but would never pick up a 300+ page book. A much lighter "handbook" style would have been more appropriate.I am a Booksneeze blogger, and a copy of this book was provided to me for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christi S
Altogether this is a good book full of sound advice and practical tips. It wasnt anything incredibly earth shattering for me because I knew that one of the largest needs for men is respect. The Language of Love and Respect is helping me to see areas that I need to improve and ways I have been unintentionally wounding my husband without meaning to do so. I also really liked that this was God centered because God is a very important part of a Christian marriage.Would I recommend this book to others? Yes because I think it has something to help almost every marriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
The Language of LOVE & RESPECT, Cracking The Communication Code With Your Mate by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs shows married couples how to apply his Love & Respect issues to their marriage. As we all know one of the biggest problems in marriage is communication, but actually it is mutual understanding. We just do not understand each other. We think differently and above all we speak different languages.Dr. Eggerichs explains how as married couples we can learn how to stop The Crazy Cycle and step into The Energizing Cycle. He takes easy principles and shows you how to apply them to your life. You can use C-H-A-I-R-S to energize your husband or C-O-U-P-L-E-S to energize your wife. When we learn how to energize each other and apply biblical principals to our marriage, we will not only be closer to each other but closer to Jesus Christ.I felt like this was a very informative book. As I was reading it I would shake my head and think, yep that is us. I would recommend this to any married couple, or anyone planning on marrying. It is not fast read book, there is a lot of information to digest, but it is a very interesting book. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Erin Miller
This is a book that you will want to take notes throughout! I got about 20 pages into it and realized I was going to have to grab a pen and start over, making notes along the way. As the subtitle of the book ("Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate") suggests, the whole book is about communication. Eggerichs points out that men and women are, by their very nature, as different as pink and blue. Women see through pink glasses and hear through pink hearing aids while men see and hear in blue. Therein lies the problem. He goes on, however, to show how couples can work around those differences, since trying to change them will only leave couples frustrated and in what he calls "The Crazy Cycle." Behind all of the advice on how to deal with day to day conversations, how to make your spouse feel loved/respected, and how to better understand how your spouse feels, Eggerichs' main point is that the solution lies in your relationship with God. For a marriage to thrive, a wife should respect her husband as herself, and a husband should love his wife as Christ loved the church. (Ephesians 5:33) The key is that this love and respect must be unconditional. As Eggerichs writes, "Yes, the two of you are very different, and I am telling you to love and respect unconditionally anyway." He later points out that this unconditional love and respect can only be offered to a spouse "by being faithful--to God, to His Word, and to your spouse." I highly recommend this book or any other books/DVD's by Eggerichs. He has a great insight into men and women and into marriage itself.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wendy
Recently I read The Language of Love & Respect by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs. This is not a book Id ordinarily go for, but I thought a little brush up on marital communication might serve me well. It served me adequately. It might be important to understand Ive explored so much on this topic before. Ive read up, attended classes and listened extra carefully whenever our pastor preached sermons on communication. I thrive on improving my marriage. This book inspired me only a fraction in that arena. I learned some new acronyms though and for that Im grateful. I also appreciated how Dr. Eggerichs uses multiple examples from his own marriage within the book. That vulnerable authentic approach appeals to me. The book is written for the pragmatic, systematic thinker, of which Im neither. Im all for outlines and examples but something about this read felt overdone, as though I attended a lecture three hours too long and was forced to doddle while tapping my leg, anxious to exit my seat.I laughed when I read about the crazy cycle, agreed with scriptural references and overall felt the book could prove beneficial for some marriages. The concept = valuable. The acronyms = helpful. The repetitiveness = longwinded & aggravating. Im thankful to read all kinds of books (this one included) for BookSneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Morris
I've only been married for two years, but in that time I've read a plethora of books on relationship and marriage. I feel that marriage takes work, and we should take advantage of those resources that can help our marriage to be the best it can be. Dr. Emerson Eggerichs's book The Language of Love & Respect was an excellent resource. You don't have to be familiar with his previous book Love and Respect in order to glean from this study. He breaks down all of the principles in the first chapter of this book. I've never read the first book, so I was unaware of cycles of marriage. Learning about the Energizing Cycle, the Crazy Cycle, and the Reward Cycle was a fresh way of looking at the different phases of marriage. This book breaks down in a non patriarchal way how to use the language of respect toward your husband to stay out of the Crazy Cycle.I found the overuse of acronyms slightly annoying, but I did find that they were a help in remembering what actions to take when you find yourself slipping from the goal of being a respectful wife. I didn't like the constant change of Bible versions. Even though I looked up all of the verses in KJV, it seemed that by switching versions so much he was trying to make a point that wasn't really there. Some of the book was quite repetitive.Regardless, this book has a place on my keeper shelf. It challenged me to be a respectful wife, and I'm sure it will be a repeat read.This review was written for Booksneeze. I was provided a copy of the book by Thomas Nelson Publishers to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan@CreativeBibleStudy.com
Like many other Christian books on marriage, Eggerichs The Language of Love and Respect addresses the God-given differences in men and women. However, this book takes this one step beyond and brings out how these variations in the sexes come through in our communication with each other. I love how he says that men speak blue and women speak pink! This gives such a visual of the reality of the way we not only speak differently, but also how we hear and interpret each other differently. Dr. Eggerich has included numerous stories of actual couples that have applied these principles along with Biblical teachings straight from Gods Word. Even after almost twenty-five years of marriage I learned new things not just about communication, but also about myself. To me, a good life skills book not only gives you information, but helps bring about change in ones life. This isnt just another book about marriage. Although, I would highly recommend it for any married couple, this book can enhance our communication with anyone coworkers, children, neighbors, church members, etc. The bottom line: God has created a need in men for respect and a need in women for love; these both are affected by our communication with each other. But dont just know the bottom line, let this book help you to live it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mom of 4
This book provides techniques for husbands and wives to improve their communication. The text is a follow-up to the authors Love & Respect written in 2004. The book breaks down communication from a male and female perspective. The book explains how to decode messages from the opposite point of view. The last section explains that Jesus words gave us a model for communicating in our relationships.I enjoyed the book, but I would only give it an average review. I think the book was written to help couples with poor and struggling relationships. My relationship is in good shape and I walk away with only a few new things to add to my toolbox. My favorite part of the book is where Eggerichs suggests that your spouse most often has your goodwill in mind. Many times we misunderstand the spoken word, but if we would only slow down and consider that our spouse is trying to help us it would reduce or eliminate many disagreements. The chapters on Jesus communication are worth reading, and I believe they accurately reflect biblical truths. I would recommend skipping the early sections if you read the original 2004 book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather Jones
This is a great resource on better communication in marriage. The personal examples and illustrations throughout the books show that learning to speak a language of love to a wife and respect to a husband pay huge dividends in marriage. The first section of the book summarizes Eggerich's earlier book, so it is easy to pick right up with this one and to begin using the pronciples of love and respect to have the sort of marriage God intends. The sections on the Jesus Way of Talking are applicalble to all interpersonal communication, not just married couples. I highly recommend this.Book Review Blogger for Thomas Nelson publishers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen
The Language of Love & Respect written by Dr. Emerson Eggrichs and published by Thomas Nelson. This is one of the best books Ive read on marriage issues. The message of the book is how men and women have different languages and that the wife needs love and the husband needs respect. When they understand this simple concept and put it into practice, they can in turn respond to each other in a way they understand and have a wonderful marriage. It is written in a way that makes it easy for anyone to understand and apply to their marriage.I never knew how important respect is to my husband and this book really helped me understand how to give him respect. There is an acronym for husbands and wives to follow and when they do, their marriage will be happier, stronger, more biblical, and more honoring to God. I loved that Dr. Emerson used biblical references throughout his book. This is a great book to go back to and re-read over and over in the many stages of marriage. I would recommend this book to all my friends and family.I am a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program: http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Language of Love and Respect: Cracking the Communication Code with Your Mate - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wendy
"The Language of Love and Respect" is an excellent addition to any married couple's library. There is no need to read "Love and Respect" prior to this book, as Eggerich thoroughly covers the 'Love and Respect' basics before tackling more specific communication challenges couples typically face. There are tons of practical helps for women and men who literally don't know how to respond when their spouse says/does something that seems unloving or disrespectful. As with anything, the suggestions and helps in this book are not a 'cure-all' nor are they a formula for a marriage that is perfectly happy all the time... marriage takes work... but with the tools presented here, a heart and mind open to the Lord, and a willingness to living up to God's calling as a wife or husband, anyone can make a blah-marriage into a great one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>