Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carpenters Son Publishing Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!

Carpenters Son Publishing Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!

The Badeaus have shown, in a way few others have, what it means to live an abundantly fulfilled life. Are We There Yet? is a journey of immense faith, immense joy, immense love, immense capacity. It's the journey of one couple opening their arms, their hearts, their home and their lives to "the child most in need of a home and least likely to get one."
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!
Review 1 for Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Are we There Yet?
By: Sue Badeau
Wow title of this book brings back memories of growing up. Even now that I have my children they have said that and now our third generation gkids are saying It to me. So I can’t imagine what it would be like with 22 kids. Wow! I really give you credit on raising this many children for the Lord. To raise them honoring God is wonderful. Sue and husband have raised all these children. A few theirs, some special needs kids, international children and adopting siblings. It takes a heart of pure love to do what they have done. I give them credit. I just know in heaven you are going to have a big reward. Sue and Hector went through a lot of heartbreak during these years of raising children. All kinds of things they have been through with these children and still do it. It is through their loving hearts. I can’t imagine all the tears that have been shed not for sad times but also the joyous times. The joy they must feel in their heart. What you have done is amazing. On that day I just know you are going to hear “Well Done My Faithful Servant” ! God Bless them for all they do. I would recommend this book to all. I wish there was more then 5 stars I could give.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You Will Be THERE in Their Midst

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janice Garey
Location:Decatur, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hector and Sue Badeau are a beloved couple who have made a world of difference in the lives of 22 children in their own household and countless others that Sue has advocated for on the national level. They decide early on to take the ones who would be most difficult to find homes for. They expand their hearts along with their houses as their family grows. They witness the magnitude of God's provision to those who put their faith and trust in Him.
Their story is honest in portraying their struggles over which children to adopt and which would be better with someone else. They leap over preset boundaries of how many can be adopted, which races are suitable to be included in a family with white parents, how a family with young children can integrate with a group home of teenage boys, and finally how a large family can adopt children with terminal diseases.
Situations of pregnancy outside of wedlock and drug and alcohol addictions touch this family. After showing honest responses of shock and disappointment, the situations are handled with loving sensitivity and corrective measures for the addictions. Love wins out and Christ is honored by all the decisions and attitudes of the family members. I expect all their earthly joy is a tiny taste of the rewards they will know in heaven. Read this book and be blessed.
I received this book from bookfun.org in exchange for posting my honest review after reading this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational Story

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such an inspirational story! This family is truly a family you can admire and strive to be more like. I gave this book 5/5 stars. The story of their family is told with ease. It is easy to follow and well written. I was entertained, moved to tears and laughter and shown just how much love can really change a child’s life. What a blessing this family is! I would recommend this book to any family dealing with issues with their children. I would also recommend it to anyone thinking of adopting and needing some real life examples of what life might be like. Overall this was an excellent book!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How did they have time to write a book?????

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
KGD history teacher
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an incredible story of great faith. As a young couple, Hector and Sue Badeau, decided they would "have two and adopt two." Within the space of just a few years, they "had two " but had adopted way more than two. The Lord gave them a deep love for those children who had no one else. They wanted to become the "forever parents" for those who had been moved too many times to count.
The Bandeau's share the triumphs and the sorrows that most families have, just on a much larger scale. They have become advocates for adoption and proper foster care both on the state and national levels. When they began their journey, they were just one, young couple trying to make a difference in a couple of lives. They followed the leading of the Lord one step at a time. Over time and through God's provision, they have impacted many. Would that we could each follow their example and take that first step.
I received this book from The Book Club Network
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Making a Difference - One child at a time

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
memakf
Location:Ephrata,PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the title to this story - it is so appropriate to go with the story of the Badeau family as they journey through foster care and adoption with their growing family. I was surprised to see how big this book was when it first arrived, but I quickly became engrossed in their story and couldn't put it down. I loved how the story was filled with honest accounts of the ups and downs they experienced over the years. It was gratifying to read the bad times and see how their faith pulled them through. Sue and Hector have such a positive outlook on life and have so much love to give. The foster family system is a much better place because of the work they are doing and the lives they are touching. Blessings to their entire family. I would recommend this book to anyone contemplating foster care as well as parents already in the system. Actually I would recommend this book to anyone! It is filled with hope and love and life lessons in how we can make a difference - one child at a time. I received this book from the Book Club Network, bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational Family Story

Date:September 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although this is a big book, it keeps your attention throughout the whole story. Hector and Sue are two amazing
parents, both individuallly and together. Their priorities are on target. They are consistent in both routine and
expectations. Although with the household they had, I can't imagine it any other way. But you can see the love
of God and family from the two of them as individuals and then as a couple. Then it just continued with each child,
grandchild, and great-grandchild. After working with foster children before and after placement in homes, I
understand alot of what these children have gone through and have empathy for the foster parents for what they
also have to deal with. Overall, this is an inspiring book.
I recieved this book from The Book Club Network for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heartwarming!

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
tmurrell
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hector and Sue have a plan. They will have two biological children and adopt two children. But when they requested children that no one else wanted, something happened to their plans. Several years down the road and they find themselves weathering the joys and sorrows of parenting 22 children. Life isn't easy, but it's always an adventure.
This book is huge! I was a bit intimidated by the size (507 pages) when I picked it up. But don't let this bother you, it's well worth the time. I really enjoyed the casual, family feel that the authors used when telling their story. They were able to portray their children and other family members as authentic and lovable. Anyone looking into adoption should pick up this book. Anything worthwhile can have its challenges. This book will give you a glimpse into some of the challenges that the Badeau family faced and how they dealt with them. Towards the end of the book I did get a bit confused with so many people coming into the story. But considering my memory, this isn't surprising. This was an inspiring, heartwarming book that was definitely enjoyed.
I received this book free of charge from Book Fun in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True Story of a Family of 22 Children

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book starts with a young couple just married. Their ideal family is to have two children of their own and to adopt two that "the Lord sends who need them most". Their journey is told by Sue and the father's part by Hector. This is one book I enjoyed reading the foreword, introduction and each chapter is about each of the 22 children they raise. They do have two of their own but the adventure keeps on chapter by chapter. Be ready for a few tears, some chuckles and a lot of love from and within this wonderful family. Come and share the ride of their life, the thrills, tears, love, faith and marvel at what God has done through Hector and Sue. The book is told in present tense and it truly makes this book an easy read.
I was given this book by www.bookfun.org to read and leave an honest review on my personal opinion. I truly loved this book and if I ever get a chance to meet them it would be a treat. May God continue to bless this family on the rest of this trip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a winner!

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
CynRogalski
Location:Easton, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a hit!
This book is chock full of the ups & downs of raising a large family. While Sue travels to advocate for forever homes for fosters & adoptees, (& to encourage families who make that decision), husband Hector is uniquely qualified to deal with the day-to-day realities of their sometimes-hectic lives.
As the Badeau's have chosen to adopt those children, "who need it most, but are the least likely" to be adopted, they have had their share of tough issues, heartache, & mental overload.
HOWEVER!
Because of their unflinching belief that the Lord has been with them every step of their journey, they have experienced joys beyond measure, blessings untold, & family bonds that cannot be broken. They know they are impacting future generations--TRULY changing histories!
The emotions are real, the faith is deep, & the love is abundant. This story has God's Handprint all over it; the depth of commitment can be found on each page. Truly a story for everyone!
I received an advance copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspiring Read

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Are We There Yet?
Hector and Sue Badeau, the authors of Are We There yet?, adopted and raised many children with the children that they had biologically for a total of 22. They adopted children from different countries, different races and ages, children with disabilities, and different physical, mental, and emotional states. They wanted them to thrive in a loving, nurturing home. Children of all ages and capabilities are represented in the Badeau family. They not only opened their home, but also their hearts to these precious children. Many challenges present themselves along the way, some expected, and some that they were not prepared for. Once the children were a part of the family, the parent stood by them, no matter what they did whether good or bad.
I liked the way the parents did not put labels on their children and seemed to be aware of their strengths and weaknesses. They seem like real people when they discuss their accomplishments and failures as parents. They certainly had a heart for children of all ages and capabilities and felt called to love the little children like Jesus did. They started two adoption agencies together, Root Wings and Adoption Resource Center and have made a difference on behalf of adoption and children in foster care. I am thankful for children and family advocates such as these. This story is very inspirational in the way it tells how the Badeaus devoted their lives for these children and the cause of adoption.
I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring and convicting!

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
releight
Location:Gainesville, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an incredible book written about an incredible story! I so appreciate this couple taking us through the journey of their lives and letting us experience it with them. You cannot read this book and not feel convicted and inspired to follow the Lord with boldness wherever you feel He is leading you. For years, long before I ever married or had children, I desired to adopt - and yet, after I had two of my own and was happily and comfortably settled into our "perfect" American life, I started avoiding the topic in my head and in my heart. I didn't want to be confronted with the need because I didn't want to be inconvenienced. I've been praying for months for the Lord to soften my heart again - and He sent this book! Hector and Sue didn't carefully consider their own comfort or convenience; they simply followed where the Lord led and opened their hearts and home to the least of these. After reading their story, I realize what a glutton of pleasure and prosperity and comfort I've been, hoarding my time and love and lavishing only my precious children with everything I have to give when I have so much more to give those who are desperately in need of it. I no longer want to only take the easy road that requires the least from me. Truthfully, it didn't take until the end of the book to bring me to this place - it took two chapters! But even as I know my story will look different than theirs, I have been inspired to live my life with courage and faith and the wisdom that comes from God and not man. Speaking of wisdom, I am so thankful for all that they shared, not only that specifically dealt with the challenges that can come with fostering and adopting or of raising special needs or terminally ill children (or children in general!), but also all the insights that are applicable to any believer. Wonderful, wonderful book!! Thanks to bookfun.org for the opportunity to review this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Are We There Yet?: Adopting and Raising 22 Kids!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Journey with the Bandeaus

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a former foster parent, I have a weakness for tales of children taken from troubled circumstances and given an opportunity for a secure and loving home We had several “special needs” children but never tried to parent more than three children at a time. I am in awe of Hector and Sue Badeau but fully understand of their sense of being called to this life. As Hector mused, “ . . . some people think are completely crazy and others think we are saints. No one seems to believe we are just a normal family trying to live out our faith one day at a time. "
We accompany the Badeaus on their life journey as their family grows—and grows. We see the nitty gritty of everyday routines, low moments, sorrows and disappointments as well as the joy and love and triumphs. “ We ‘ll take you through some of the deepest ruts and rocky patches we traversed and we hope you will rejoice with us each time we experienced a mountaintop moment.” As each child enters this family, we can’t help becoming absorbed in their stories and sharing the Bandeaus hopes and prayers for him or her. Very interesting real life adventure that raises awareness of the need for permanent, forever homes for sibling groups and special needs children—just like any other child. I thoroughly enjoyed traveling this road vicariously with them.
I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.