Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook
Review 1 for The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book illustrates true Christian evangelism.

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr Mom
Location:Houston, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved reading this book. It was very inspiring and I could not put it down. I was truly fascinated with the mystery content. The characters truly came alive in their escapades in solving the mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Glenda Zylinski
Location:Pasco, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mermaid in the basement has all the classic elements of
a "who-dun-it" mystery, complete with clever clues and
an end with a surprising twist. The characters were
bold and believable, the story plot intriguing and creative.
All in all, a great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Frances Stone
I HAVE NOT FINISHED THE BOOK YET, BUT FIND THAT I DON'T WANT TO STOP WHEN I HAVE TIME TO READ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathryn Hupp
Enjoyed very much. Love to have small children in books. They add a spark of realism to all the characters. Lady Trent's are catchy mysteries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wanda Nichols
Wonderful story. I found that I wanted to keep on reading the book until the end right after I started reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda Kocher
Enjoy reading Gilbert Morris' books especially those that are a series: Such as "The House of Winslow"--40 books and "The Wakefield Dynasty" series. I'm looking forward to reading further books in this current mystery series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chloe
The Mermaid in the Basement by Gilbert Morris, was a great book. I could not put this book down, I loved it so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Weddle
Gilbert Morris has done it again!!!!Excellent series. Different from his historical fiction. Can't wait for the next edition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cay
This was a suprisingly good book. I say that because I've not able to get into most of Gilbert Morris books. So when Mermaid in the Basement came out and I was asked to read it for work,(I work in a Christian bookstore) I was not looking forward to it. But I was pleasantly surprised. It was a one hundred percent different style of writing. The Characters where fun and easy to get to know, the plot was well thought out with a few twists, and I really was pleased the way that God and Jesus were spoken about. With the exception of the part where they roam the streets marching and preaching, most conversations about Jesus and the cross where done through conversation, just people talking, the way Jesus did it. I really am looking forward to the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Johnson
I'm a fan of cozy mysteries (the Agatha Christie type), and I don't think I'd ever read a Christian mystery before enjoying "Mermaid in the Basement." Wow--what a treat! It is almost unbelievable to me that Gilbert Morris could write such very special Biblical fiction as the six of the "Lion of Judah series," and also this mystery. It is exceptional. First of all, it's a mystery with a totally unexpected ending. In addition, the author causes us to absolutely fall in love with the characters, especially the splendid and totally committed Christian, Dylan Tremayne. There is only one problem here: that of waiting for the second book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dee
I have read everything Gilbert Morris has written, some I have liked, some just so-so, but this is by far my FAVORITE! This new mystery series starts with this terrific book, now I cannot wait for the next one. Mysterious without the gore and violence in secular mysteries, Morris has a winner here!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2008
I'm not normally a mystery fan, but as the book's back cover promised, the historical details and the time period were enough to get me hooked. I loved getting to know Serafina, because even though I am a self-proclaimed idealist with a wide creative streak, I have always wanted to be a super-sleuth. I also loved the development of her relationship with Dylan (who I fell for instantly--oh, that he truly existed!), and the scenes involving David. Aldora and Matthew Grant provided the fodder for a wonderful double romance as well. I will eagerly await the next novel, A Conspiracy of Ravens, to see if Serafina finds faith and gets her imagination back. I'm rooting for you, girlfriend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Mermaid in the Basement - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2008
I just finished the book and think it may well be the finest Gilbert Morris has written to date. I really enjoyed it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.