Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oasis Audio LLC The Shack - Audiobook on CD

Oasis Audio LLC The Shack - Audiobook on CD

Mackenzie Allen Philips' youngest daughter, Missy, has been abducted during a family vacation and evidence that she may have been brutally murdered is found in an abandoned shack deep in the Oregon wilderness. Four years later in the midst of his "Great Sadness," Mack receives a suspicious note, apparently from God, inviting him back to that shack for a weekend. Against his better judgment he arrives at the shack on a wintry afternoon and walks back into his darkest nightmare. What he finds there will change Mack's world forever. In a world where religion seems to grow increasingly irrelevant "The Shack" wrestles with the timeless question, "Where is God in a world so filled with unspeakable pain?" The answers Mack gets will astound you and perhaps transform you as much as it did him.
Average Customer Rating:
4.402 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
9
7 out of 1070%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Review 1 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
RB54
Location:Antioch, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book makes you think outside the box, and goes right along with the theme of the scriptures
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God is Big

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Memobo
Location:Union, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. I found it very uplifting and very thought provoking. I spent many an hour researching & rereading my Bible to get down to what I truly believed vs. what I had been taught by denominations and traditions. After all we alone will stand before our God, so work out your salvation with fear and trembling. Know what you believe and why you believe it and don't be afraid of things that might make you question your beliefs, they only work to make you stronger, dig deeper and put down better fed roots.
Something I do believe & enjoyed in this book is GOD will not be placed in a box and stay there so that He doesn't offend you. HE IS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Unscriptural but good story

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Colquhoun
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although there is some value to the elements of this book which deal with the personal nature of God, the power of forgiveness and the need to express one's pain honestly - it is deceiving in that there are many unscriptural views woven into the story which readers who are unfamiliar with the Bible will not realize. I had to read this book because it was sweeping through my congregation. I recommend that if you choose to read it, read carefully and prayerfully in order to enjoy what is good while protecting yourself from the lies.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A Shift in Thinking-My Big Mistake

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
June
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was led to "The Shack" by a relative who considers herself to be a Christian. She highly praised this book. I found the audio version at our library and listened for days while home cooking and cleaning.
Initially, I was excited by this unconventional depiction of God. What if everything that I had been told about God was a lie and the Holy Bible isn't the true word of God? I began to wonder if Christianity itself was just a mere construction to control the masses and to comfort the weak. Had I become nothing more than an indentured servant tied to a home and children-a virtual slave to my husband? What if instead of being saved out of living a homosexual lifestyle in my youth, I was merely misunderstood?
If the bible isn't the inerrant word of God, maybe God is female as well as male, so maybe I was really born that way instead of being in rebellion to God's word. Why should I struggle with conquering "sin" in my flesh when there is no wrong for me to repent of? What if salvation itself is not necessary, because there is no judgement by an all-powerful God, and a sentence to burn in everlasting hellfire?
The shack abandons the world of absolutes in favor of foolishness that chips away at a Christian's foundation-his/her belief in the God of the bible. Instead, God becomes a black woman, an Asian woman and a Latino carpenter-those 3 in one. If a Christian is defined as being Christ-centered, then this is not it.
I regret ever taking the advice to let "the Shack" into my consciousness. I left my home and my husband and tried to return to my old ways, but God loved me enough not to let me get too far with that. He closed off every door and lovingly showed me the truth (in his word, the KJV, for myself). It was a hard road back, I thank God for everyday that he has restored to our family.
If it was only to keep someone from a similar fate-please don't take that first step into The Shack's "alternate world." I wish I could give negative stars...Please be warned, this can really ruin your life.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book broke through the box most put God in.

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
From the Heart
Location:Turlock, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is sad when I read the negative comments made towards this book. Too many people have stern ideals about who God should be in their attempt to give God His due credit of Holiness and in that way make themselves feel like they stood up for God. Let me say that God doesn't need you to stick up for Him. God can handle that on His own.
God meets each person where they need to be met and nothing you perceive can contain God in a box. He becomes all things to all people and nothing we can say or do surprises God. It's your heart He wants, not your self-discipline or self-measured righteousness.
This book has allowed millions to realize there's a down to earth God who will do anything to reach your heart, so down to earth he came to earth to prove it.
Yet, the box is where some prefer to put him just like the Pharisee's did in Jesus's time. It's not who you are, it's who He is. It's not your sacrifice of obedience, it's what His sacrifice was. Open your hearts.
The conversations between Mack and each member of the Trinity are profound and uplifting. The Author puts a new perspective on the table about God's loving character towards each one of us and the lengths He will go to to reveal Himself.
If we all had an encounter with God on this level, we would be broken by our own misconseptions.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I endured the whole thing

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
David Nielsen
Location:Seattle Area
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a terrible experience listening to this whole bunch of nonsense that totally twisted and misrepresented the nature of God.
The story grabs your attention at the beginning as the protagonist suffers intense grief at his loss. We run right off of the road and into the ditch very quickly though. It was a battle constantly to decide to dump the whole thing or continue listening.
Listening to this twisted representation of God was pure torture, but I endured to the end and found that it did not get any better as it went along.
You would do well to pass this one by.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a very touching book.

Date:June 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barb
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I feel this book allowed me to see the personal relationship that God wants with each of us and how "especially fond" He is of each one of us!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story, nicely read.

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Messianic
I love this book. My daughter prefers to listen to it. The reader does an excellent job. Highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
SUNFLOWER
Location:SAGINAW, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ENJOYED READING THE BOOK AND NOW ENJOY LISTENING TO THE BOOK IN THE CAR WHEN I'M WAITING FOR SOMEONE.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
April Manzo
Location:Merced, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book that everyone should read, especially parents!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Mullins
I have only started it but the voice is easy to listed to and like it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alfred Ragins
I thoroughly enjoyed "The Shack" audiobook. I was able to listen to it to and from the office. I reccommend it to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charles Sanford
My personal thoughts are, that this book may just be the most soul stiring book, that I have read in many years. The story is one that will make you cry, and laugh. It will also make you look deep into your own personal walk with the Lord. Make you envy the realy personal relationship, the story lead had with God, [pappa] don't we all wish for that deep personal relationship with God?I think that every one should read this book if no other this year. It will help you improve your own walk.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Painter
A MUST have for those who are reading impaired A MUST READ OR LISTED TO! So blessed to have been told about it and share it with many others!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Pharris
I have listened to this Audiobook twice. It is amazing. Spiritual thoughts I had never had before were so meaningful. I think anyone who listens will be challenged to grow in their knowledge of who God is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Annette Hillman
Great book, highly recommend especially if you are going through a difficult time with a lost one. It definitely will draw you closer to God than you every have been before.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
C Leahey
VERY GOOD! I hope to do a study on the book next year wirh the halp of this product. Service was great, quick. Thank You and Merry Christmas!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa R
I thought this book was amazing, and I recommend it to anyone who desires to be challenged out of the "American Evangelical Box." He states in the very beginning that it is not a theological work and it is fiction - there you have it. It's fiction - just one man's journey of processing intense, extreme pain in his life, seeking God's role in the equation of it, and trying to deal with the vast reality of it. It was great. I agree that it stretched my thinking in asking the question, "Can (or will) God come to us using any medium or form to get at our hearts?" - Many people have been drawn to God through the strangest of circumstances. And it is consistent with Paul saying in I Corinthians, "I become all things to all men so that some might be won." Of course, his visions of God were very unorthodox, but I like people who challenge the standard - Jesus was the first to do this - and he was very respectful, not undermining the Bible at all, as some accuse him of. Even the main character admitted that the vision of God was wild. Yet God responded that He needed to come to him in a radical form that he would accept. God was saying in effect, "I need to reveal myself to you in a new and different way so you can see Who I really am." Does that undermine the Holy, consuming fire of God? I don't think so - He came to moses as a burning bush. C.S. Lewis is famous for approaching the mysteries of the spiritual realm in creative ways - no one has a problem with The Great Divorce or Screwtape Letters - and they were both very unorthodox at that time, yet also extremely poignant and thought-provoking. The author is very compassionate and has a deep connection with pain, or else he would not have been able to write some of what he did in such a profound way.So, I would say read it! Enjoy it! Don't over think it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christie Noble
Not really sure as we purchased for gift. Book was excellent so I hope our receivers will enjoy audio!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Shack - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gail Jaquez
I had read the book and decided to get on cd. It was even better, through the tears and just wanting to renew my own relationship with the Lord. It touched my heart. I am going to order some more to just pass out for family and friends to read and or listen to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.