Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Oak Inside the Acorn - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Oak Inside the Acorn - eBook

In his touching picture book, master storyteller Max Lucado reveals that each one of us was created for a special purpose. The Oak Inside the Acorn is a heartwarming parable that encourages children to be the best they can be for God. This parallel to the bestselling book for adults, Cure for the Common Life, reminds parents to focus on their children's God-given abilities, while Children will see that all they need to do is to "Just be the tree God made you to be."

Little Acorn sees himself as very small and he's unsure of what he's supposed to do in life. Eventually, he grows into Big Oak, but he still wonders about his purpose. Though he tries as hard as he can, he can't grow oranges like his friends the orange trees, or produce beautiful flowers like his friends Pink Petunia or Rosie. But finally, he discovers that his mighty branches were created for a very special purpose! Recommended for ages 5 to 10.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Oak Inside the Acorn - eBook
Review 1 for The Oak Inside the Acorn - eBook
This review is fromThe Oak Inside the Acorn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book for all ages.

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shoo
Location:Oroville CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll be using this book with the children's groups which I teach. It has an excellent message for both young and old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Oak Inside the Acorn - eBook
This review is fromThe Oak Inside the Acorn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful and Touching

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marta
Location:Riverside, California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not finish reading this touching story to my daughter; I found myself moved to tears. Its message is so powerful; it is impossible not to be touched by it. Adults can learn from it as well. Each and every single one of us is special in God's eyes, and He wants us to become vessels into His loving hands. This story is a must read. It is a blessing. Thank you, Max Lucado, for such a wonderful story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Oak Inside the Acorn - eBook
This review is fromThe Oak Inside the Acorn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Moral

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
David
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got one for both of our kids. The moral is great and the condition of the books was excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Oak Inside the Acorn - eBook
This review is fromThe Oak Inside the Acorn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Malanie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grand daughter was sent this book and we could not get thru the first reading without tearing up it was so touching. We sent this to all the kids we know for Christmas as a wonderful reminder of how God works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Oak Inside the Acorn - eBook
This review is fromThe Oak Inside the Acorn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book!

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
mommy
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book and I would highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Oak Inside the Acorn - eBook
This review is fromThe Oak Inside the Acorn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for every soul on planet!!!

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
honeymoon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super metaphor for life! Super book for gifts for any occassion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Oak Inside the Acorn - eBook
This review is fromThe Oak Inside the Acorn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tracy Reed
I absolutely love this story and have bought it as a gift for many children ages 6 - 12. It's a great reminder in a competitive world to be 'the tree God made you to be'.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Oak Inside the Acorn - eBook
This review is fromThe Oak Inside the Acorn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Misty Allen
I love Max Lucado's chidren's books. This story I will have on my bookshelf for the rest of my life. Beautiful story for children and adults, too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Oak Inside the Acorn - eBook
This review is fromThe Oak Inside the Acorn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jane Russett
A beautiful story to give to a daughter or girl that encourages her to become what God intends her to be. It would make a wonderful graduation present!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Oak Inside the Acorn - eBook
This review is fromThe Oak Inside the Acorn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Loretta Mclean
The Oak Inside the Acorn is written by Max Lucado and illustrated by George Angelini. Letting go of your childhood is hard to do, and a bit scary. Nature forces Little Acorn to let go of his mother's nurturing branches and begin a life of his own. Little Acorn is not sure what he is suppose to be. He can't bare fruit like the orange trees and he has no beautiful blooms or sweet scents like the flowers. A farmer plants him in the family's back yard, and there he grows bigger and taller every year, right along with a little girl. When the little girl grows into a young lady, Big Oak uses one of his own little acorns to teach her to be what God wants her to be. What I Liked: I like the lesson, to be what God intended us to be.What I Disliked: I was a little disappointed with this book. This author is one of my favorites, but the message in this book was simply not as strong as I had anticipated. The message was clear, it just didn't reach out and grab me like most of his other books do.Overall Rating: Very Good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Oak Inside the Acorn - eBook
This review is fromThe Oak Inside the Acorn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
This a wonderful story that my 5 year-old and six year-old boys ask me to read all the time. It is entertaining, warm and uplifting. My kids have well over 100 books on their bookshelf right now and this book is one of the their absolute favorites! Well written! Not just for small children. Highly recommended!! It would also make a "they'll-love-it-for-sure" gift!!! I can't say enough good things about this book and it's important message. Buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.