Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook

This charming story for children illustrates how a loving farmer can turn a simple pumpkin into a simply glorious sight. In the same way, Gods transforming love can fill each of our hearts with joy and light. Liz Curtis Higgs created this parable as a way to share the Good News with her own precious children each harvest season...and now with children everywhere. Recommended for ages 3 to 7.

A Gold Medallion Book Award Winner!

Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Review 1 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Phoenix
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book brings a wonderful, positive insight to pumpkin carving and also has beautiful illustrations.
We began a tradition with our grandchildren, using this book, to carve pumpkins and then putting the light inside as a symbol of Jesus' light shining out of us. A wonderful way to enjoy the harvest season without the fear part of Halloween.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
momoh4
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book that brings out the good in Halloween. My daughter read it for children service at church and everybody loved it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irmee
Location:Pittstown, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used the book for my pre-k class at church. I saw some references to it on line last year and finally got it this year. A great way to explain christ in us for Halloween.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book -

Date:November 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
mamaL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome book. I love it!!!! We use it every year in our Sunday School Class for 3 Year Olds - they love it !!! This is a must have for your children!! Great the way it walks you through the plan of Salvation !!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Singing Angel
Location:Millville, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed using this book with my kids at church. It will become a tradition from year to year.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not bad

Date:October 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rochelle Delain
Location:Inman, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 3 year old son loved this book. I thought it was okay but a bit pricey for an e-book. Also I was hoping for a little bit more of a story plot but I guess for the age group it was written for this was okay. Found several misspelled words in the text. Over all the book was pretty good and I did love the illustrations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nana
Location:Thibodaux, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great material for our Church to use during our fall Pumpkin Patch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Hall
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book. Can be used to tie in Halloween with Christian values. Kids really enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paula Ildefonso
They are great, very pleased and will be ordering more great things soon. I will be using your products to teach my Sunday School Class the kids are going to love it.Paula
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
St. James Umc
Great story, but I was hoping for a clearer explanation of how this story relates to the gospel.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul Bauer
Great illustrations and a wonderful story for children to understand how the things of this life don't just happen, they are God created.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Edie Baldwin
Jack o'lanterns may have a negative tradition attached to them until you read this and realize it is all about the one who created them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christine M. Irvin
The story is about pumpkins, its not about Halloween, as the author points out in the introduction to the the story It is about a farmer who grows pumpkins. Each year he tends them and watches them grow. When the pumpkins are ready for harvest, he picks them and chooses one for a jack-o-lantern. The farmer turns the pumpkin into a beacon on his porch for all his neighbors to see and enjoy. Bible verses throughout the text illustrate how God wants us to shine our lights for all to see.The story was different, and I liked that. The main character was the farmer, but I guess you could also count the pumpkin as a character. The story wasnt written with children as the main characters, but any child who is familiar with pumpkins will enjoy the story. And, the illustrations throughout the book are as bright and colorful as those on the cover. Christine M. Irvin - Christian Children's Book Review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
City Mama
This is a sweet story, but it's not as rich as Higgs' Christmas tree parable. The story drags a bit for 3 year olds (and mine has a great attention span). Good alternative to all the spooky Halloween books out there.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Parable Series: The Pumpkin Patch Parable - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Traci Bjork
I believe God calls us to see him in everything and this book certainly does it. What a wonderful book for children and childrens ministries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.