Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marcher Lord Press To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2

Marcher Lord Press To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2

They have no choice. Chased by an evil prince, Achan, Vrell, and the Kingsguard knights ee into Darkness. They head north, for Tsaftown and Ice Island, where they must free an army that can help them fight for Er'Rets.

Darkness sickens Vrell. How long can she keep her secret without being caught? Achan already suspects her of lying. If she is not careful, he will suspect her of treason as well. She hopes he will let his suspicions go until they reach her home.

Achan wanted freedom, but this new journey has bound him more than ever. Sir Gavin's claims are so far fetched. First, that there might only be one God, and second, that this God chose Achan to push back Darkness, the magnificent curse of Er'Rets. Him. Achan. Barely a man himself.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Review 1 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just as Great as the First!

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
JR Parker
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To Darkness Fled picks up right where By Darkness Hid left off and continues the excellence from that point to the final page. Readers will draw even closer to Vrell and Achan and company, if that were possible, and love every second of it. This sequel is quite different from its predecessor, as would be expected; much has changed since Achan stumbled toward the barn as a stray in book one. But this story is equally as deep, riveting, and powerful. Highly recommended, but read book one first!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An EXCELLENT 'Middle' Novel

Date:May 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading By Darkness Hid, Jill Williamson became one of my favorite authors instantaneously. I was so excited to see her first novel win a Christy – it was entirely deserviced. I have read a great deal of fantasy over the course of my reading career, but I can say without a doubt that the Blood of Kings series is everything that an epic fantasy novel should be. Better yet – the author’s Christian approach to fantasy imbue the work and character with great integrity, honor, and struggles that lead them closer to their one-god (called Arman in this world).
To Darkness Fled, the sequel and middle book of the trilogy, is everything I hoped for, and more. Classified as a young adult novel, it is still an incredible read for fantasy-loving adults as well! Williamson’s characters continue to become fuller and richer, growing in likeability.
Picking up where By Darkness Hid left off, the story follows Vrell, Achan, and their renegade party into Darkness, where no sun shines. Fleeing from the false prince Esek Nathak they are relentlessly pursued by bounty hunters and the allies of the impostor who has formally seized Achan’s rightful place as King of Er’Rets. Battles ensue, rescues take place, armies are raised, and Vrell continues to masquerade as a humble lad while growing fonder, and fonder of the rightful (yet still displaced) King.
One of the most delightful aspects of To Darkness Fled is that Williamson rarely needs to concoct conflict for Achan and Vrell – they make it for themselves; it springs intrinsically from them as they stumble over their own faults and innate character flaws as their struggle towards maturity. Many times other authors seem to be flinging unnecessary obstacles in the path of two characters finding one another, but Achan and Vrell do a great job of this themselves….no matter how frustrating it is to me as a reader! Still, I can see how any pat resolutions at this point would be so contrived, and not true to the characters.
Williamson has also crafted one of the most realistic transitions from displaced hero-boy to a fledgling King that I have ever read. The growth of Achan from a heroic stray into coming to understand his place in the world as Arman’s chosen sovereign is skillfully wrought, and therefore entirely believable. We are also treated to a deeper understanding of how Arman and His Son Caan parallel YWH and His Son Yeshua as we see Achan growing in his knowledge of Er’Rets’ one-God.
The only frustration is that the story ends with a cliffhanger – of course! But still, now that the third, and final installment in the trilogy is completed, readers won’t have to wait to get their next dose of Vrell and Achan in. I know I certainly can’t! Fans of Christian fantasy owe it to themselves to check out this series – they won’t be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most exciting book!

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joanie
Location:Aiken, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you don't have time to read, don't start this book because it is very hard to put down! I enjoyed it and so did my teenage neice. Both of the books in the series are excellent. They have a good story line with well developed characters and lots of action with a Christian mindset. I can't wait for the third book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Second book!

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Millard
Location:Oregon
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Achan—or rather, Gidon Hadar is on the run for his life, straight into the darkness. Fleeing into it is his only hope of escaping capture and death from Esek. So with Sir Gavin leading the way with his nose, they plumb the murky depths. The darkness will play tricks with your mind, make you go crazy; the only way to overcome its mind twisting properties is to focus. How to focus in the dark without making noise? Bloodvoicing. During a simple training session, his bloodvoicing almost kills Vrell when his untrained storming attempt goes overboard. However, even beyond that, his voice is still leaking out and it will only help his pursuers if he can’t master blocking. Will Achan ever master his blood voicing and grow into his birthright?
Vrell’s life is only getting more complex as her stay with the rightful heir lengthens. He’s getting more suspicious of her, and she’s starting to worry about how she feels about the prince. She’s supposed to marry Bran, she needs to get away and back to normal life, right? But if Achan has his way, she’ll also give away her secret. When Achan storms her during bloodvoice training her fainting is the only thing that saves her. And her secret is almost lost--again. Only Sir Gavin knows---but in typical Sir Gavin fashion, he’s not helping much. Will her secret be found out?
This book was good, great!! The writing quality was excellent and plot was engrossing cubed!(Math Reference) Achan just can’t seem to win and I had to keep turning the pages hoping things changed for him. Vrell was easy to follow, her life too had plenty of bumps in it and will she ever tell the prince? Mrs. Williamson painted vivid pictures for the reader giving almost a cinematic texture to the book. With the extra length on this book compared to other fantasy reads it gave me a chance to really bite into the materials and get engrossed in the story. As opposed to most of the second in series books I read I found that I actually enjoyed this book as much, if not more than the previous book.
The only problem I might have with this book was that the romantic angle of the book was about as big as I’d go in my reading. So, I don’t think it would cause a problem for people, but there’s a heads up.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Krystine
Location:Lincoln, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'd read By Darkness Hid, and enjoyed it immensely, so I was thrilled to be given the opportunity to read the sequel.
To Darkness Fled didn't disappoint. I wasn't able to put it down. If it hadn't been a PDF file, I would've been flipping the pages; as it was, I kept hitting the arrow key to find out what would happen next!
The main players: Vrell Sparrow (aka Lady Averella Amal); Achan Cham (aka Prince Gidon Hadar); and evil Prince Esek (formerly, falsely known as Prince Gidon Hadar). The story picks up where By Darkness Hid left off, with Achan Cham and Vrell Sparrow in a boat rowing through the Darkness with several men who've pledged Achan their service: Sir Gavin, Sir Caleb, and Inko. The Darkness is both mist and lack of light; it's disorienting and dangerous. It can only be fought by staying close together and speaking among themselves.
There are also dangerous creatures in the Darkness: ebens , gowzals , and cham-bears - huge, fierce beasts that breathe fire. Achan Cham got his Stray surname from the cham-bears.
Worse than the dangerous creatures are the dangerous people, like the Sakin Magos (Black Knights) they encounter, all of whom have some reason to either enslave or enthrall Achan, or torture and kill him. In a few places, they also meet people who believe Achan is their true ruler, chosen by Arman (their name for God). These people greet them in peace, and help them, giving sacrificially to them.
Travelling in the Darkness takes its toll. It creeps into the brains of the weak-willed and drives them crazy. With stronger souls who are focused on their purpose or distracted by activity, the Darkness cannot invade their minds and spirits, but it lurks about the edges of their consciousness and if they should become lost in their own thoughts and cease other interaction, the Darkness will invade and seek to take them over.
Vrell and Achan learn that the Darkness is growing; that only the true king anointed of Arman can drive the Darkness back by teaching his people to put away their false beliefs and wrong practices in favor of worshipping Arman and doing what He says is right instead.
Some of the things that I really liked about To Darkness Fled:
Personalities. The main characters are quite well-developed. Their personalities are unique and memorable. I liked it that Achan would think or mutter "Pig snout!" as an expression of disgust every time something bad happened. This reminded me of where he began; taking care of the livestock as a humble Stray.
I liked that Vrell struggled with maintaining her disguise, and wrestled with her feelings for Achan even as she fussed over him like a mother hen about his battle injuries. I also liked how the author dealt with a girl's reasonable objections to certain aspects of masquerade as a boy.
I still have trouble with the whole concept of bloodvoicing, though in this book the concept seemed more natural and reasonable than in the first of this series.
I highly recommend To Darkness Fled for ages 13 and up. This is an excellent Y.A. book, but it's also a good read for those of us who are older, with a great deal of spiritual food for thought.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amazing Read!

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Griep
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yee-haw! What a ride. Author Jill Williamson serves up a non-stop, action-packed adventure in this second installment of The Blood of Kings trilogy. To Darkness Fled is a snappy Narnia/Tolkien mix with a bit of a contemporary flair. Intrigue and danger combined with humorous dialogue and sassy wit make for a satisfying fantasy read…way satisfying.
Many of the same characters I grew to love in the first book, To Darkness Hid, are alive and well in this story. The bonus is that new secondary characters are introduced. I especially loved Kurtz. What a hoot! He’s a playful frat boy/puppy dog type of fella, obnoxious yet endearing.
The plot is intense, so much so that yes—I’ll admit it—half-way through I skipped to the end just to make sure everything turns out all right. Without giving away too much, let me just say that when I finished, I was none too happy with heroine Vrell. Hero Achan often says pig snout, but she’s just plain pig-headed—which makes me all the more eager to get my hands on the final novel, From Darkness Won, as soon as it’s available.
Do yourself a favor and escape this summer to the fantasy world Jill Williamson has created. To Darkness Fled is a fun read for all ages, imparting Biblical truths through imaginative story weaving. In fact, if that’s what you’re looking for, check out any of Marcher Lord Press’s titles. You’ll be delightfully surprised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Follow Up!

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first book, By Darkness Hid, is basically the story of the stray boy, Achan Cham, discovering who he is, combined with the story of Vrell Sparrow, disguised as a healer boy, hiding from the imposter prince who’s claimed her hand in marriage. At the end of this story, they, along with several knights, travel to the Dark side of Er’Rets to escape from the imposter and to create a plan for a comeback.
In this second novel, To Darkness Fled, Achan, Vrell, and their guardians make their way through Darkness with the goal of freeing the former King’s men from prison and thus raising an army to retake the land. Vrell continues to hide her identity and gender while Achan struggles to come to grip with his destiny. Not only must he, a boy raised as a stray, learn to become royalty, he must also learn to depend on the one God, Arman, plus learn to use and control the royal gift of bloodvoicing.
Then there’s the small matter that he will need to marry a suitable girl and secure an heir. Some of the most humorous bits of the novel are when Achan bumbles his way through his romantic life, but Vrell, whom Achan still thinks is just a pansy boy, is not amused as she watches. She hates to admit her jealousy, but she’s falling for Achan. Stands to reason she must escape from the growing army as it nears her family’s home duchy, thus saving her from becoming one in the list of ‘eligible females’ that Achan is making a fool of himself over.
If it wasn’t clear from the end of the first book in this trilogy, it is so by the end of the second: Achan and Vrell are meant for each other. Still, Williamson has left herself a lot of room to bring this story to a close in the upcoming third and final installment. Their journey is far from over, both in a romantic sense and in a political sense. I’m very much looking forward to reading the third book–and then hoping that Jill Williamson has another world up her sleeve.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Second book is just as good as the first!

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
TammyB
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book two was just as good as the first! The journey continues and is exciting every step of the way. Jill has captured my attention with her wonderful imagination. I have enjoyed the journey with Achan and Sparrow and anxiously await book three! I wonder how this trilogy will end?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Hard Journey

Date:October 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grace Bridges
It's a tough welcome back to Er'rets this time around, involving leeches and slime which will no doubt appeal to young male readers. Achan, only just discovered as the true Crown Prince, and Vrell, still masquerading as a boy, are whisked away by three brave knights to keep them safe from the impostor Esek while raising an army. And it is into Darkness they travel, a Darkness brought over half the land by evil.
A land in Darkness - yet people live there, banishing it from their homes with the flames of their torches. This aspect I found most fascinating, that there is no physical way to tell day from night, and yet societies keep on running. The descriptions are rich and immediate, the many characters distinct.
There is much talk of marriage - Achan as future king must choose a bride, and soon. Yet he is reluctant, torn by feelings for ladies he cannot have, and hearing no end of advice from his counsellors on what kind of queen he requires. Vrell of course is party to many such discussions and finds her own feelings strangely piqued.
Though this book starts out slow, the pace increases at an unstoppable rate throughout. It is even larger than Book 1 and this means it's one of those fantasies you can be marooned in for days on end - and I mean that in a good way. The ending is very cleverly done, wrapping up the tale and yet leaving so much open for Book 3 to take care of. That will certainly be one to watch out for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chawna
I liked this book even better than book one!To Darkness Fled tells an emotionally gripping but satisfying tale with humor that made me laugh out loud and spiritual threads, deeply threaded throughout, worth thinking about. Highly recommend for teens and adults, especially to those who like the fantasy genre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Kenney
An enchanting sequel to By Darkness Hid. This book kept me fascinated by Achan and Vrell's world and their adventures. The pace lagged a little about 2/3 of the way through, but picked up again quickly. The characters are richly drawn and the fantasy world is consistent and interesting. The cliff-hanger ending left me eager for the next book. A definite must-read for those who enjoy a top-quality Christian fantasy novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
I eagerly anticipated this book and couldn't wait to start reading when I finally got it (although 700 pages can seem a little daunting, when it was over I couldn't help thinking that I really wish it was 1,000!). It had been a year since I read the first one, but Jill has a wonderful way of refreshing your memory without talking down to you. I caught up quickly and then just submerged myself in the story - so much so that I zipped through this book in record time (1 1/2 days!) and almost cried when I realized I had to wait 8 more months to read the third installment in this series. These books are on my permanent keep shelf and after book #3 comes out I can't wait to sit down and read through them all again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachel Bentz
This book won't just hook you; It will drag you in and won't release you until the very end, And you'll be screaming for more. The subtle draw of darkness on the characters fighting for survival, the madness of those who succumbed to the darkness long ago, the hope of a nation waiting to be freed-all collide in an epic tale of two teenagers trying to find their way in an ever-changing world. I have eagerly devoured the first two books, and I anxiously await the third and final, which could leave Er'rets in darkness... Or draw it into the Light of the world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leighton Hajicek
Mann, the only thing keeping me from saying that this book is my ALL TIME FAVORITE is that the first book of the series is equally awesome! I wish I could give more than just 5 stars. To Darkness Fled is a gut-ripping rapid fire novel by Christy Award winning author Jill Williamson chock full of suspense, intrigue, action, romance and coolness. Can't put it down. Again, one word: AWESOME!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kerry Nietz
Middle books in a trilogy are tough to write. As an author you are saddled by the fact that this book isnt the last in the series, and everyone knows it. You have to tell an engaging story and please your fans while still saving the big climax for a later book. Tough!Thankfully, To Darkness Fled succeeds wonderfully as a middle act. It is every bit as an engaging as the first book, with lots of action and intrigue to speed you through what would otherwise be a long haul for most readers. (The book is nearly 700 pages.) By nature the book is episodic, with sections of great action broken up by character growth and story progressing dialog. At times I was reminded of the hero with a sword books I loved in my youth, written by masters like Robert E. Howard and Edgar Rice Burroughs. Lots of fun!Id also like to add my two cents on the preaching that some reviewers have complained about. First, to reach the section that I would guess is the cause of the furor; a reader would have to have suffered through 600 pages of a really fun story. Plus, the section is only a few pages long and seems natural to the journey that Achan is on. People who call this book proselyting clearly have no grasp of history, where kings were often the spiritual leaders of their countries, along with being their political and military leaders.Again, To Darkness Fled is a great book. Read it without hesitation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
This is one of those books that leaves me nearly speechless, I loved it so much. Jill Williamson is a truly gifted writer. She has the ability to write a story that completely captivates you. She weaves her story lines brilliantly. It is so masterfully done that you never know what is going to happen next, but you cant wait to find out what it is! I believe that Jill is one of my top 5 favorite authors of all time. In my opinion, this book (and the one that precedes it) should be moved to the top of your to-be-read list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for To Darkness Fled, Blood of Kings Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
696 pages of nonstop adventure. This is one of the best books I have read in a long time, ranking up there with Bryan Davis, Donita Paul, Wayne Batson and more. To Darkness Fled is the continuation to Williamson's bestselling novel By Darkness Hid. It starts up just where the last book left off and adds so many wonderful new threads to explore in the story of Prince Achan and his friend Vrell a stray boy/ Lady and Heiress of the prominent Duchy of Carm. We learn more about Vrell and her family, come a little closer to finding out what happened the day The King and Queen died, and finding out who is behind the usurping of the throne and head straight for a showdown of cataclysmic proportions.This book and BDH are definitely books you don't want to miss. It's definitely a perfect book for teens and even adults.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.