Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Charisma Media The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God

Charisma Media The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God

What is missing in your church, your prayers, and in your personal life? What will build a deeper intimacy in your relationship with God? What can make your life more purposeful and focused? What will transform you into a truly Spirit-led child of God? The Fear of the Lord. Updated with a new cover, Bevere exposes the need to fear God and challenges you to revere God anew in your worship and daily life. God longs to be known, and there is only one way to step into that deep intimacy and experience it fully. Now you can give God His due honor and reverence in a way that will revolutionize your life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
Review 1 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Fear of the Lord

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amber
Location:Burnsville, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our weekly adult Bible Study group is using this series. We show the DVD and then our pastor leads us in a discussion.
It has been a blessing to the group with tremendous insights from scripture. We need to hear this message series as many have lost sight of the fear (awesome/majesty/reverence) of the Lord. John Bevere teaches the basic principles of God's
character and brings back balance of the fear of the Lord and the love of the Lord. It is proving to have a great impact on those attending the study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must have for your library!!!

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reverend Rodney
Location:Rugby, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I felt led by the Holy Spirit to buy and read this book, and it is one of the most truthful and needed books in our world today. I love and repect John Bevere as an amazing, honest, truthful, loving minister, author,and man of god. I am greatful that he is led by the Holy Spirit and not moved by greed, popularity, or any other pressures on leaders in our society today.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
This review is fromFear Of The Lord Rev - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

conjecture, poor exegesis, bad teaching

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandra Plate
Location:NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Scripture is very clear regarding the fear of the Lord. John Bevere, however, has muddied it up by taking a topic and twisting it to fit a particular agenda. His blatant misuse of scripture is appalling. While he pats himself on the back claiming encouragement and confirmation directly from God, he uses scripture in a very loose way and with extremely poor exegetical application. Quite often he uses scriptures that refer to unbelievers and applies them directly to believers, which makes it seem that his point is sound but is actually teaching of the worst kind. He will also search out different translations in order to conjure up a point he wants to make, changing the meanings of words to fit into his concept. The worst offense: the session about Ananias and Sapphira was blatant over-the-top conjecture, minimized the atonement, and absolutely broke the boundaries of covenant.
My review would not have any stars, but I was not permitted to eliminate the star from this review. Pass on this errant filled, pseudo-spiritual, self-promoting drivel. For those who have seen it and liked it, I would recommend some time spent on good biblical word study using well affirmed and good quality commentaries as opposed to this hyper-spiritual mess.
Bottom-line: John Bevere misuses scripture to make his main point: that the church has to get it's act together and display a proper fear of the Lord so that God can move mightily in our age (the whole highly disputed "latter rain" doctrine). Hogwash. If God is depending on human beings to do anything before He moves we are all in a great deal of trouble!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good book for personal growth

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good book to help you develop a deeper relationship with God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
This review is fromFear Of The Lord Rev - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Spirit filled
Location:Loisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i absolutely recommend this book,for Christians who want to go deeper in their walk with God!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
cindy9084
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book. Our church is using this book and the DVDs for our small group session.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for a deaper walk with God

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
AParton
Location:Missouri
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great for anyone wanting to learn how to walk with God closer. I would recommend this book to everyone to read. It is life changing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
bosshogg
Location:Grove Okla
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good beliver book to study, We all need to realise that we need to honor God .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marthlee Wallace
Location:Poland, ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not even a quarter of the way through the book and I have already gotten my money's worth. Great book. It is time that we get back to the basics. If you want to draw close to God than first you must have this Holy Fear and revere Him. We can not count the stars in the sky yet, God placed each one with his fingers and He calls each by name. We are so busy praising God that we have forgotten that even Jesus told us to fear God. When I tell people I fear God, they say there is something wrong. Thank you, John Bevere, for getting me back on the right track. Everyone needs to read "The Fear of the Lord".
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Juanita Whittington
This is more than just a book. It is a tool to help you understand the reverance due the holy and mighty Lord JESUS. I would recommend this book to all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anthony Fields
Another Awesome and Anointed book by John Bevere! We are actually using it for our adult bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Richards
It's not your average everyday just another Christian book. It brings a balance to an out of balance Americanized Christianity. But then you find out its not just here but everywhere. Jesus deserves so much more from us.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nelson
I am grateful for John Bevere in bringing the whole counsel of God in a time when preachers want to tickle the ears of their congregation and are not addressing the whole counsel of God in favor of pop psychology doctine, Anyone that would bash this book, should re-read it & learn how to have an intimate relationship with God
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tim Lovegrove
Bevere has some good things to say, but he seems distracted by lots of other themes that have little to do with the fear of God. In the end he definitely doesn't provide anything close to a thorough study on the fear of God, as the title would suggest.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Fear of the Lord: Discover the Key to Intimately Knowing God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Henry Emens
John Bevere is an outstanding Christian author. "The Fear of the Lord" exposes our failure to stand in awe of our Creator. Bevere challenges us to honor God in the way writers of many books of the Bible tell us we should. Christians tend to gloss over scriptural references to "fear of God". Bevere brings our focus back to our responsibility toward God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.