Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook
Review 1 for The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mitch Blackburn
I'm sure many leaders have read leadership books. I know I have. In fact, we read, notate, study - we work at understanding the concepts, figuring them out, determining how they apply, and what we can do.This book will give you something of a break - not from learning and improving, but from the amount of work involved.I his book The Right to Lead, John Maxwell has created a very practical guide to leadership. He provides 7 core principles, and delivers them in a way that will be immediately understandable and actionable. He relies on stories quotes from people we've heard about, and illustrates these principles. No heavy theory, no deep philosophy, just clarity.I'd also add that this is not just your typical business leadership book - it can apply to parents leading their children as well as a CEO driving a multi-billion dollar enterprise.I would heartily recommend this book to anyone that recognizes their need to develop as a leader.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamie Booth
At first glance it seems like a good book for a graduation gift, or great coffee table decor, but when you open The Right to Lead you find that it is much more. In this short book John Maxwell retells great stories of sacrifice and risk, shares poignant quotes regarding vision and integrity, and speaks to the necessity of action, determination, and service on the part of every leader.A few of my favorite quotes from the bookYou will never do anything in this world without courage. - James AllenWe set young leaders up for a fall if we encourage them to envision what they can do before they consider the kind of person they should be. - R. Ruth BartonBeing the first to cross the finish line makes you a winner in only phase of life. Its what you do after you cross the line that really counts. - Ralph Boston, Olympic Gold MedalistThe ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stand at times of challenge. - Martin Luther King Jr.The harder you work, the harder it is to surrender. - Vince LombardiTrue heroism is remarkably sober, very undramatic. It is not the urge to surpass all others at whatever the cost, but the urge to serve others at whatever cost. - Arthur AsheThere are dozens of other great quotes in this short book. If your looking for a short, easy read on leadership this is a great book to pick up.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill
I just finished reading The Right to Lead by John C. Maxwell. Wow. I thought this book looked a little "light" at first. It appeared to be a loose collection of tidbits from other books that had been repackaged for resale. I was half right. Much of the content is not new, but from other Maxwell books et al. However, it is not loose. The content is a soul searching look at what a leader is, and is not.The main premise is that leadership is a right, not a title. People will follow you based on title because of the structure of authority setup in certain places. However, that does not make a person a leader. John tackles 7 key qualities of leadership: Action, Vision, Sacrifice, Risk, Determination, Service, and Integrity. Each section has key insights in small and concise summaries. Additionally, many biographies show real life examples of these qualities in action and the resulting leadership of the individual.This is a fantastic book. It made me look at myself as a leader. Am I living up to the potential God has given me? Am I honoring the place God has put me in? Am I trying to be better? I have read this book several times already and will probably do so several more.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tiffani
The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage, by John C. Maxwell, is the kind of book any potential leader would be thrilled to read. It is a gift bookso its good for a coffee table book or a quick read - but the content is very inspiring.The book is broken down into 7 different sections. Each section then consists of stories of leadersthroughout time, inspirational quotes, and tips on how to be a great leader. It seems that some of the pages were pulled from other Maxwell book's, but didn't affect my interest in the bookat all. I especially liked the story of Harriet Tubman and how she was an unlikely hero. No matterhow much I already know about her, I love learning more. I would recommend this gift book for either someone who is going to lead, orfor someone being called into a leadershipand is lacking the self-esteem or courage and might just need a spiritual boost.I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Philip Wade
Leadership, like character is not bestowed by decree, it is earned, and earning it takes time. The Right to Lead: Learning and Leadership Through Character and Courage, by John C. Maxwell, is a book which reminds the reader of what it takes to be the kind of leader people would want to follow. The Right to Lead is a gift book from Thomas Nelson. The book is broken into seven sections with each being named after the character trait it covers. Each section contains a story about a leader who exemplifies the section title with quotes and observations backing up the theme of the chapter. The book is short in length, it can be read in about half an hour and the information is simple to understand. Sometimes, it is the simplest ideas which make a connection with us deep down at our core. Maxwell simply reminds us of what is needed to be an effective leader with a presentation which on its surface is simple, but covers some profound wisdom about effective leadership and life. If you are looking for a book with twenty chapters and in-depth analysis on the subject of leadership, this is not the book you are looking for. If you are looking for a gift for a graduate, a person who is new to leadership or even for an experienced leader, this book would make an excellent gift. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
This is a "gift book", which in this case means a sort of miniature coffee table book. It's nice looking, full of quotes and stories on leadership. It's meant to inspire, but was hit-or-miss for me, because a) the quotes from the author's other books were not that inspiring, and b) the stories only inspired me to search snopes to see if they were true.My favorite quote:"I am only one, but still I am one.I cannot do everyting, but still I can do something.And because I cannot do everythingI will not refuse to do the something that I can do."-Edward Everett HaleI received this book free from Thomas Nelson publishers through their BookSneeze program. I was not compensated or required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Godspoetic1
"The Right To Lead-Learning Leadership Through Character & Courage" By: John C. MaxwellWhen I first received this book I was pleasantly surprised by it's appearance! It is a very nice size, perfect, both for gift giving & sitting on a coffee table as a reader for guests. The book is mostly a compilation of sayings and quotes to both lift up & inspire both leaders & future leaders, hence bringing forth great character to the reader. This book is definitely a keeper for sure, great as a Father's Day or Graduation gift. John C. Maxwell did a great job writing this book, bringing out some wonderful character traits through his many quotes for leaders to build upon in their growth in character & leadership. I would highly recommend this book as a great gift for any grad, dad, or leader within the church ministry. As per FTC guidelines, I must state that I did receive a copy of the book complimentary from Thomas Nelson Publishers, in exchange for a review. My opinions are my own & nobody else's, receiving a copy of the book did not influence my opinion in any way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul K
The Right to Lead is another great book by John Maxwell. It took me around 2 hours to read through this book.In this book John writes about people who have earned the right to lead others. Because of the courage they found and the character they displayed other people recognized their admirable qualities and felt compelled to follow them. John Maxwell states "It wouldn't be accurate to say that no one can be given the right to lead. The right to lead can only be earned. And it takes time".In the preface John Maxwell writes about "What gives a man or a woman the right to lead?" He writes that "It certainly isn't gained by election or appointment. Having position, title, rank, or degrees does not qualify anyone to lead other people. And the ability doesn't come automatically from age or experience either. He insists that "The right to lead can only be earned and it takes time."The different sections in this book talk about various aspects of leadership. They are Action, Vision, Sacrifice, Risk, Determination, Service and Integrity. In each of the above sections John writes about various people who are leaders in their own way by displaying these characteristics. They include US Army General Normal Schwarzkopf, Nelson Mandela, George Washington, Eric Liddell, Harriet Tubman, and John Wooden to name a few. We definitely need more leaders in our world who display these characteristics.Like other books by John Maxwell this book contains a lot of good inspirational quotations. I love reading the quotations from his books. This book will be a perfect gift for Church Leaders, Corporate Leaders, Graduates and Dads. Thanks to Mr. Maxwell for another great book and I highly recommend this book.Disclaimer: Thomas Nelson provided me with a complimentary copy of The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage to read and review. Opinions expressed are my own and not those of Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jonathan McPeters
John Maxwells book, The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage, offers 121 pages of stories and anecdotes of great leadersboth famous and not-so-famousand quotations. The stories are very concise summaries of the stories of the likes of Norman Schwartzkopf, Nelson Mandela, Eric Liddell, Harriet Tubman, and even Moses. There are also vignettes sprinkled through the book including other Biblical characters. The chapters cover seven essential traits of leadership and the stories and quotations are very carefully selected to exemplify the trait being discussed. The traits include: action, vision, sacrifice, risk, determination, service, and integrity.If you are looking for a collection of thoughts on leadership, this makes a very nice volume. However if you are looking for application, and ways to become a leader or maximize your potential, you may want to turn to one of Maxwells other books. The cover is very attractive, and the size of the book makes for a very easy read. The page quality is excellent and the typeface is very pleasing to the eyes. Summary: A good book, a nice gift. High on inspiration, low on application.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
The Right to Lead is a nice little gift book for those in a leadership position or that desire to lead. In his book, Maxwell, explains that leading comes with a price and can only be earned through time. Maxwell shares with his readers quotes and saying about leadership, statistics and facts about leading, and stories of how leaders rose in their position. You will gain insight from Biblical leaders as well and modern leaders, such as George Washington, Schwarzkopf, Nelson Mandela, Harriet Tubman and others. Each chapter deals with a different aspect that it takes to become a leader. The book is very masculine and would make a very nice male graduation gift or Father's Day gift for any man in your life that is seeking to lead or is presently leading, of course women can learn from it too but it more with male leaders in mind. I as a woman enjoyed reading the book.A copy of this book was provided by Thomas Nelson for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
This most recent book from the John Maxwell library is a compilation of material from previous Maxwell works with the addition of a few stories and quotations. It follows the classic Maxwell format of material including stories, lists, quotations and thoughts. Maxwell notes 7 characteristics (Action, Vision, Sacrifice, Risk, Determination, Service and Integrity) that are the marks of exceptional leaders. He notes that, ultimately, it is the character of an individual that makes them a good leader.If you are a fan of Maxwell's material, you'll be interested in this book. It might make a good gift for a soon-to-be-graduate that you know. But don't expect anything really new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Right to Lead: Learning Leadership Through Character and Courage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daryl Neipp
As expected, this is basically a book full of stories and quotes from Maxwell's other books. As a result, the information is a bit of a hodge-podge with no real cohesion. Having said that, I think this is meant more as a gift book in which case I think it probably accomplishes its purpose. This would be a great book to have sitting in a business workplace lobby or office setting. It contains great quotes and stories that can be read quickly and would be found interesting to anyone with a leadership role.In an attempt to provide full disclosure: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.