Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Holman Bible Publishers KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather

Holman Bible Publishers KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather

2011 marked the 400th anniversary of the King James Version of the Bible, a landmark that gained worldwide media attention and researched estimates that more than one billion copies of KJV editions have been sold to date. Indeed, the beloved, historically rich rendering of Scripture is an ongoing favorite among Bible readers.

Holman Bible Publishers is excited to present the KJV Study Bible, a new edition modeled after its own 2011 ECPA Christian Book Award-winning HCSB Study Bible, where every well-conceived study help is practically placed on the same page spread as the related biblical text.

Check out its wealth of features:
  • Full-color page designs
  • Full-color maps, charts, and reconstructions
  • Extensive book introductions and commentary notes
  • 40-page concordance
  • Essays on practical and theological issues
  • Feature-length articles on the origin and transmission of the Bible
  • 41 photos
  • 62 timelines
  • 59 maps
  • 20 articles and essays
  • 16 illustrations and reconstructions
  • 15 charts
  • A helpful glossary of 17th century expressions relative to the KJV’s signature phrasing
  • Two-column text setting
  • Center-column cross references
  • The words of Jesus in red
  • One- and three-year Bible reading plans
  • Presentation page
  • Family Registry
  • Two ribbon markers
  • Silver page edges
  • 9-point text size
  • 9.50" x 7.00" x 2.25"
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 out of 2095%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Review 1 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unique - A Good Bible for Daily Reading

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Swanny
Location:Dallas, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had this Bible for about 6 months now, and so far I have enjoyed it. It's a good size to carry and read, so I have been using it for my daily reading.
The notes, from what I have seen so far, seem to be of reasonable depth, and sometimes alternate interpretations of a passage are presented. But as is always the case, the notes should be read with caution - I have seen at least one that caused me to raise an eyebrow. But in general, I've found the notes to be helpful.
The leather cover is very smooth. Mine has a black cover, and the page edges and stamping are silver, which adds to its uniqueness - most black bibles have gold page edges. It has two ribbon markers - one black and one light gray. The pages seem to be a little thicker than those of most Bibles.
When I first got the Bible, the pages were quite hard to separate. Patience and caution are in order when "breaking in" this Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Large Print

Date:January 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
swanny
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this Bible. I have one & bought 2 for my grandson's. But would really like to have exact same Bible in Large Print.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Quality Outshines Competitors

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trailblazer
Location:New York
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Holman KJV Study Bible Lavender has exceptional ink color and quality in the text and pictures. The cover is stunning in appearance and easy to hold in your hand as opposed to leather. Printed in the USA and lots of notes and comments that are fresh and new will make this a valuable purchase. Weighty Bible in notes and physically.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is one great Study Bible.

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thomas Ratliff
Location:Hopewell, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had in the past purchased a B&H HCSB and found it to be an excellent addition to my reference works. Being an "OLD" KJV guy I was very pleased to see this added to the line-up. I look forward to the NKJV that has been added to the product line and will purchase one when available. I hope the NKJV will include a self-pronouncing text. Next to my New Scofield, the B&H Study Bibles get the most use.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great addition

Date:September 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elma
Location:New York, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
..to my collection...altho I haven't been able to actually keep one for myself! This was my third order--first one was for me--but a friend liked it so, I gave it to him..and he gave it to a preacher friend of his who loved it. The next 2 were ordered for friends who saw that one. The saddle brown cover was quite handsome, and the last one--lavender color--was surprisingly very nice (didn't want anything too loud!) I liked the way it's laid out, and the notes are very informative. For me, the various colors mixed within the pages, maps, etc. bring everything out a little more since my eyesight isn't what it use to be, and draws my eyes to the page. THAT's the aspect that made me get it..altho the chapter text itself , for me, could've been a teeny bit darker! But, this bible is worth it nonetheless since every study bible has its own rewards.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Bible!

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gracie
Location:Arcanum, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
When my son asked me about a bible, I asked if I could buy him one. This was the greatest gift I have ever given him. He is so proud of his new bible and having his name on it makes it more personal for him. Thank you CBC for having a variety of bibles to chose from.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellant Bible for the Family or the Indiviual

Date:April 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dusty
Location:West Bend, Wi
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Absolutly beautiful Bible!!!!!!! It is the Bible that I have been looking for!!!!! I Love the Maps and the related verse summaries are the best. It is nice to know that the summaries are given be educated people, a different one for each Book!!!!!!!!!!! The Quality is also Superior
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
rsjfarm
Location:Idaho
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional teaching tool. Absolutely love this bible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jim K
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My pastor at our church highly recommended this Bible and he indicated that all of the study notes he saw so far were not inconsistent with the basic Bible beliefs for an Independent Fundamental Baptist Church. The maps and charts are great also. I use this for both church and home devotions as well.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

color is great feature

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
blake
Location:Oklahoma
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice Bible love the color just wish it went into a little more detail on some versus. The simulated leather binding is great
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super Bible

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kaybee
Location:DeLand, FL
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the new KJV Color Bible. The footnotes are so helpful. The new maps and charts are wonderful. So helpful. Great job and endeavor. Thank the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I was disappointed, and sent it back

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emjay
Location:Morrow, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had been eagerlay awaiting this bible, and could hardly wait to get into it, found the binding to be of great value, Genuine Leather, but the notes were vague and the pictures were so poor it was hard to figure out what was in them, one was supposed to be the Eastern Gate in Jerusalem and it was a picture of some countryside!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Value, good features

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kamoda
Location:Sydney
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dad liked the coloured pages and the commenteries.
Bible build is good considering the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best KJV Study Bible On The Market

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
BibleFan1
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start off by saying that I absolutely LOVE Study Bibles. I have close to 40 Bibles and I read them consistently. I like to read from different translations and compare various features provided from each of my Study Bibles. I received my copy of the Holman KJV Study Bible two days ago and I have spent a lot of time going through it. I do own a copy of the HCSB Study Bible, but I wanted this version because I love the KJV. I have to say that Holman did a fantastic job of putting this together. I do wish that the word studies were included as they were in the HCSB, but that is my only complaint. The commentary is non-biased as each view point is presented and the conclusion is left to the reader. The color is beautiful and the articles are usually very good. This is the best KJV Study Bible on the market no question. You can buy it in hardcover, imitation leather or genuine leather. If you buy this Bible, you won't be disappointed at all unless you hate KJV for some reason. Order a copy today! Ordering from CBD is a simple process and I have little doubt that you will receive your order on time and in good condition just as I did.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall good product

Date:November 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
cryinglion
Location:Warren, RI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I obtained this bible as a gift from my beautiful wife the other day, and I truly enjoy it. I already had the HCSB Study Bible, and enjoy it very much. So, of course I HAD to get a KJV version. I'm so glad she was able to get it for me. The binding quality is excellent, in my opinion. I chose the Saddle Brown version, and it's top notch. The pages are of good quality, and the text is very clear. Nice to have study notes at the bottom which really help. The only "glitches" that I would have to say is that one the first few uses, the pages tend to stick together. One must be careful about seperating them so they don't rip. The other is that in certain few passages where I expected clarity through the notes at the bottom, it was either not there or was vague. But, overall this is a "must have" for anyone who enjoys study bibles, and especially who prefer the KJV.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the most engaging bible ever!

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My husband and I got two of these bibles. One for each of us for our anniversary. This bible has an amazing concordance, loads of cross reference, and the full color photos and maps make the word of God shine even brighter! Love, love, love this bible and would recommend it to new and seasoned Christians alike!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bible! I use it everyday in my study. Pictures are clear and I really enjoy the verse numbers are blue while the verses themselves are black and red, it really helps them stand out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Draws attention

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:LA, California
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When the Grandkids get bored with the church school handouts they seem to enjoy this very dynamic KJV. It's exactly what they hear from the minister but with a more colorful depth that they are able to connect with (similar to walking through with the NIV Archeological Study Bible). My only disappointment is that it doesn't have those occassional greek translation bubbles that the HCSB had. My joy is in their interest. It also gives me a couple of years before I have to explain about the differant versions.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent study bible

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Jefferson, Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great study bible. The publishers produced a great product. The helps are so well done that I probably will purchase another one....but in The Holman version. I have no cons to report about the helps, construction, type of paper etc. Pictures are clear and crisp and print size is good also (and I am 64 and wear glasses). I am truly a "happy camper".
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Holman KJV Study Bible (full color)

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stephany
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I truly recommend this awesome study bible. I LOVE it!!!.
I bought 3 of them. I bought one for my teenage son who had lost interest in reading the bible as he got older. Over the years it seemed like every bible I purchased for him set on the shelf. So as a parent I wanted to changed that. So, I bought him the Geniune leather full color KJV Study Bible.
He opened the study bible and smiled. He said to me, " Now this is the kind of bible I can really get into and read."
(thank you Jesus)!!!!
I'm going to purchase more of the Holman KJV study Bibles to give to my nephews and nieces too!
I really love the way the Word of God reads and look in this bible.
I LOVE THIS BIBLE!!!!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.