Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible

Zondervan Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible

This is the book that many pastors, counselors and theologians consider to be the most biblical and the most helpful on the issue of marriage and divorce. The author examines the relevant passages in both the Old and New Testaments so that his readers can consider the many issues and interpretations that arise in trying to establish a consistently biblical position. As a result, you can see more clearly and accept more firmly the truth of Scripture.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible
Review 1 for Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Howard Carmicle, Th. D.
With understanding, insight and a solid research, Adams answers many questions asked about marriage/remarriage. He approaches this subject with compassion, knowledge, and counseling expertise in a candid way. He will help the reader to better understand what the Bible says and to experience both encouragement and hope. It is an excellent and effective tool for pastors and counselors. Likewise, I recommend it to anyone who has gone through divorce as well as those who are remarried.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Scott Dossett
Based strongly in scripture, but a number of the interpretations are overstated and - in my opinion - questionable. Supportive of divorce only in cases of unrepentant infidelity (sex outside of the "marriage bed") and in cases of existing "unequally yoked" marriages (between believers and non-believers).A few observations:1. Makes a distinction between adultery and adultery by fornication, implying that adultery is a distinct, yet linked, act. This seems contrived based on what we find in scripture and Adam's position is largely based on extra-biblical resources.2. Overemphasis on church discipline in divorce, implying "proper" church discipline would resolve most problems with divorce. From the experience of one who has worked within a context of strong church discipline, this is a strongly held but not factual statement.3. Rigorous analysis of marriage and proper procedure seems to assume that later, more detailed (and some extra-biblical) marriage ritual and procedure are normative and binding rather than the loosely undefined essential elements of marriage found earlier in scripture (consider Isaac and Rebekah's "marriage" in Genesis 24:67, for example).4. Approaches marriage/divorce/discipline issues from a disproportionately legalistic perspective. Chapter 14, for example, includes a ridiculously intricate scenario for resolving conflict and divorce obligations spanning two churches. One would think that Jesus himself should be held accountable for not acting more responsibly/procedurally in John 4 (The Woman at the Well) and John 8 (The Woman Caught in Adultery).Summary: Worth reading and thought provoking at times, but consider carefully the assertions and build-up of interpretation for yourself. Certainly one of the stronger examples of meticulous scriptural exegesis in this area. Acknowledging that, it still seems to miss the heart of the matter. Short but dense reading.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joanne Ransom
You can tell this book was written by a theologian. Too complicated of a read.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Zina Stabenow
I thought this book was very good;speaking to the need I had in finding out what the scriptures had to say on this subject.I feel I am more knowledgeable about this subject. It is a well written book that is not over my head theologically. I recommend it to the lay person as well as pastors and elders.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2008
The authors desire is to have the book be Biblically based and that is good. There was comment that I felt was Catholic bashing that I felt was unnecessary. Good scriptural references. I do not agree on his statement that separation is not Biblical and he stated that he has never seen it have any redemptive purpose. That may be his experience, however, working in divorce recovery, most people I talk that had biblical divorces and separated for a short time would disagree with the author. All would agree that limbo is NOT a healthy place to stay for an extended time, however, to give the unrepentant spouse a set amount of time (maybe a year,) to repent, is very beneficial. Look at Luke 13: 6-9, the tree is not fruitful for three years, yet even it gets one more year before being cut down, wouldnt it seen that a marriage might be given the same consideration?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
Lori Fisher
A very helpful book showing many sides of some complicated issues. Both my husband and I enjoyed reading this book; it is very thorough. For a helpful, Biblical, hope-filled look at the same questions, try reading "Happily Remarried" by David and Lisa Frisbie. It is a very positive, very practical book on this same topic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2003
Customer Avatar
Derek R. Iannelli-Smith
This is one of the BEST books on this highly controversial topic. I am thankful for the hard work that Jay Adams has done on these topics and it is evident. This is a must have for any pastoral leader...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2002
Pastors increasingly are facing questions from parishioners regarding how the Bible itself defines marriage, divorce and remarriage. Offering answers based on church tradition is not sufficient -- persons want to know what God's Word has to say. In this book, Jay Adams provides a very concise summary of the Biblical understanding of marriage, divorce and remarriage.I commend Adams for his loyalty to the Scriptures in this volume. On the one hand, he departs from the ultra-traditionalists who would say that any remarriage after divorce is sinful. On the other hand, he doesn't join ultra-progressives who would imply that divorce really isn't a major theological issue in today's society. While I do not agree with his interpretation of the Matthew 18 passage as applying to divorce proceedings among two Christians, he offers many other excellent, helpful points.This small yet substantial book is the best treatment I have found to date on what the Bible itself says on this knotty church issue. Every church leader's bookshelf should have a copy. This volume is well worth the price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2002
Customer Avatar
Peter
An excellent book on the biblical guidelines for marriage, divorce, and remarriage. This was used by Dr. Barcley at Gordon College in the Corinthian Correspondence class I took.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.