Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook

The Guinness tale began in the late 1700s when water in Ireland was rancidly undrinkable leaving the Irish to consume only cheap gin and whiskey. When Christians like Arthur Guinness began brewing beer that provided a healthier alternative to the putrid waters and hard alcohol of the time, a new business was birthed. Now a beloved global brand in 150 countries and one of the most consumed beverages in the world, the Guinness establishment continues to craft its hallowed beer, while remaining one of the most socially responsible businesses in the world. Catch the true events behind the Guinness story in Stephen Mansfield's informative new biography!
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Review 1 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

About More Than Beer

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
wjcollier3.wordpress.com
Location:College Station, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While it is impossible to truly separate the reviewer from the review, I believe that a book review should be focused on the book rather than the reviewer. That being said, I think a little context is in order. I do not drink beer or other alcoholic beverages. I do not promote the use of beer or other alcoholic beverages. I pastor a church whose official position is to not partake in any alcoholic beverages. The book I am about to review is about beer and the family that made this brand of beer. The Search for God and Guinness by Stephen Mansfield (2009, Thomas Nelson) is the story of beer, of Guinness beer, and of the Guinness family. Let there be no question, Arthur Guinness was a committed, Protestant, evangelical Christian. His life and family legacy certainly bear that out. For those of you who, like me, do not drink nor promote alcohol to others, I think the end of the review will be interesting to you.
While beer predates the founding of the Guinness brewery in Dublin, Ireland, by Arthur Guinness in 1759, Mansfield makes the case that Guinness was one of the first breweries to make a quality, consistent beer.
The Search for God and Guinness is about 260 pages and only 6 chapters. The sheer length of some of the chapters made it a little difficult to read, as I tend to read in short bursts as I have the time. Mansfield would have done better to have labeled these chapters as sections with shorter chapters within them. The chapters would have made really good sections. They are:
Before There Was Guinness: This is basically the history of beer. Mansfield goes back as far as the ancient Sumerians, Babylonians, and other ancient cultures. He estimates that, largely through a series of accidents, these people learned how to use barley to bake bread and that likely led to a discovery of how to make beer. The author then spends considerable time describing the role beer has played in various cultures throughout history, including the history and culture of the Christian church.
The Rise of Arthur: Young Arthur Guinness learned to brew beer from his father who served on the estate of Dr. Arthur Price, the Archbishop of Cashel. After the death of Dr. Price, Arthur was left the generous inheritance of £100. Arthur Guinness used this sum to invest in his own education and experience in the trade of brewing. Then, in 1759, Arthur Guinness founded the Guinness brewery in Dublin by signing a lease for the famous property at St. James’s Gate—a lease that gave him rights to that property for nine thousand years! And this is where the dynasty began. He married, had children, and operated a successful business.
At the Same Place By Their Ancestors: In this third chapter, Mansfield tells the history of the Guinness brewery and the branch of the family that led it. These were talented businessmen who were gifted in their field. They made the brewing of beer a more scientific process. This allowed a more consistent product and made it possible to export the beer to many markets. In all honesty, this was the least interesting portion of the book. It has value, but you do not really see it until the end of the book.
The Good That Wealth Can Do: Because of the corporate and personal successes of the Guinnesses, there was a decision constantly before them: Is our wealth for our own benefit of for us to benefit others? Really, this is a question that all believers face. Does God gift and bless us for us or for others? In both cases, the answer clearly is that it is for others. The Guinness family built a corporate culture of generosity to their employees, their community, and their country. Some examples of this are:
* A Guinness worker during the 1920’s enjoyed full medical and dental care, massage services, reading rooms, subsidized meals, a company-funded pension, subsidies for funeral expenses, educational benefits, sports facilities, free concerts, lectures and entertainment, and a guaranteed two pints of Guinness beer a day. (page xxviii)
* During World War I, Guinness guaranteed all of its employees who served in uniform that their jobs would be waiting for them when they came home. Guinness also paid half salaries to the family of each man who served. (page xxviii)
* A Guinness chief medical officer, Dr. John Lumsden, personally visited thousands of Dublin homes in 1900 and used what he learned to help the company fight disease, squalor, and ignorance. These efforts also let to the establishment of the Irish version of the Red Cross, for which Dr. Lumsden was knighted by King George V. (page xxviii)
These were all things the company and the Guinness family chose to do. None of this was mandated from the outside by government, unions, or any other organization. This is also the first chapter in the second half of the book. I found the second half to be much more interesting.
The Guinnesses For God: I mentioned earlier that Arthur Guinness was a committed Christian. This was true of many of his descendants as well.
"Historians of the Guinness saga tend to divide the family into three lines. There are the “brewing Guinnesses,” of course, who are the best known due to their connection to the wildly popular global brand. There are also the “banking Guinnesses,” who descend from Samuel Guinness, broght of the first Arthur, and have grown an empire that began with gold beating in the 1700s and continues in global high finance today.
"Then there is the line that Guinness historians tend to call the Guinnesses for God.” These descend from John Grattan Guinness, the youngest son of First Arthur, and continue through the centuries in lives so turned to God and so given to adventures of faith that, as Frederic Mullally has written in his thrilling The Silver Salver: The Story of the Guinness Family, they make the other Guinness lines “seem almost pedestrian.”" (pages 155-156)
This is the line of Guinnesses that became missionaries and ministers. They preached alongside the likes of Moody and Spurgeon. They helped make missionary endeavors like those of Hudson Taylor possible. They established schools for missionaries. They disciple other individuals who went on to found orphanages and schools and become missionaries.
Twentieth-Century Guinness: In this final chapter, Mansfield returns to the story of the brewery and the changes it underwent in the past century. While the Guinness brewery experienced unprecedented growth, it was not all good times. The biggest challenges it faced were the two world wars and prohibition. They managed to weather those storms and rise to dominance again. In 1954, they introduced what has become one of the best-selling book series of all time: The Guinness Book of Records. It was originally designed to contain the types of statistics that would come up for discussion at pubs and sports clubs. As the popularity of Guinness continued to grow, the leadership decided to diversify. They made the decision to go against a 250 history of intentionally only dealing in beer. They diversified into liquor and other alcoholic beverages. In 1987, for the first time, day-to-day operations of the Guinness breweries was not overseen by a member of the family. In 1997, Guinness merged with another company to form Diageo, the largest alcohol beverage company in the world.
Mansfield does a good thing at the end of the book. He draws some lessons from the Guinness story that we can emulate today. These are true regardless of your stand on the use of beer. I will only list them; he goes into more depth in the book. These are some great lessons I may write some more about later.
1. Discern the ways of God for life and business.
2. Think in terms of generations yet to come.
3. Whatever else you do, do at least one thing very well.
4. Master the facts before you act.
5. Invest in those you would have invest in you.
This was an interesting look at a well known company and the family behind it. Regardless of whether you agree with their line of work, it is worth examining a 250 year old institution to look for lessons to apply today.
I would recommend this book to those who enjoy history, trivia, and the culture of Ireland and the UK. What are your thoughts?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Search for God and Guinness

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
yennus
Location:Sydney
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best biographies I've read regarding a man who sought to use his God-given talents to bless the world around him... using alcohol! Amazing! Truly this story serves to inspire us all to use our God-given talents whatever they may be, for the glory of our King.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris
I finished this book late night in London, after visiting an Irish pub, drinking Guinnesses with some Irish friends. A few Englishmen had come in on my left to watch the nights football (soccer) match. To my right, the drinking Irish. And me, the American, stuck in the middle. There was shouting, bantering, and insults. And all I could focus on was how much better my Guinness tasted coming out of this Irish pubs tap. As one who is not a fan of books on history, I found this one fascinating. Most likely it was the subject matter, but i think Mansfield did a great job on organizing his thoughts. As I grew up, I was told many times that alcohol was the devils water. But as I got older, I began to understand that it is merely a cultural issue. I first read this passage that Mansfield wrote, aloud to my wife.I found myself looking in on the world of beer very much like a little boy with his face pressed against the window of a candy store.She looked at me and said, Thats how you feel, right? She was right. I was first struck on how alcohol, even beer, had such a strong presence in the church. St. Bartholomew was the patron saint of mead drinkers. St. Arnold was the patron of saint of beer. The term bridal comes from the two words Brides Ale, when the bride would serve her guests with the house ale. Martin Luther was known for joking, Do not suppose that abuses are eliminated by destroying the object which is abused. Men can go wrong with wine and women. Shall we then prohibit and abolish women? The rest of his book does a great job surmising the life and legacy of the Guinness family. I learned, I laughed, I drank with Irish. A great read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie McCoy
From the author who wrote about The Faith of George W. Bush and The Faith of Barack Obama comes a book about the Guinness family and their impact on society. At first glance, one might ask how God and Guinness can be in the same title. However, in just the introduction of the book, the reader will become delighted to learn of the impact Guinness has made in Ireland to so many generations. Not only that but the Guinness family also were a very religious family.I thoroughly enjoyed the beginning of the book where the author wrote about the history of beer. He talks about the pilgrims and the importance of beer to them. He wrote about Charlemagne and the use of beer during that time. And he writes about beer and it's use during the beginning of America. My knowledge was thoroughly expanded and I appreciated the history lessons.Being a Christian and growing up in a non-drinking family, I don't have much experience in this subject. To this day, I don't drink beer, partly because of the taste. Partly, I don't drink because of it's effect on some of our relatives who abused it. But I'm not against it if it's not overly consumed.Furthermore, I learned a great deal about the Guinness family and the things they did for their employees. I found it interesting how they encouraged its employees to continue their education. Mainly, I enjoyed hearing about the way they treated their employees. I even learned the process of beer making. I had no idea how it was made.This book is fascinating and the author did a great job presenting his material. From a Christian standpoint, he brought to attention a subject that is often avoided in the Christian community. For those who enjoy learning something new, you will enjoy this book. For those who want to understand the history of beer and how it affected society through the ages, you will enjoy this book. This book is full of information and was very well done. Thanks for the great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Adam B.R. Clarke
Note: Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program.To be honest when I saw The Search for God and Guinness on Thomas Nelsons Book Sneeze program I was a little skeptical. I had no idea the social impact that the Guinness family had on society, nor did I know the strong moral code their company would portray to first the people of Dublin and eventually the world. I thought the title was very fitting for the book as it is a strong historical look at the family, the role God played in their lives, and Stephens own search for answers.What I found distinguishing about this historical look at Arthur Guinness and the Guinness is the strong teaching that influence and good actions, with a strong calling from God goes beyond family, it impacts society as a whole. They knew they had the means to help Dublin, so they put their wealth to work, improving Dublin, its people, and its image. However, my favorite sticking point of the story is the role of apprenticeship. You see that through the Guinness line great men didnt just happen. They were given the support, trust, knowledge, and experience of the older generation, so that they could excel and continue the good work God had blessed them with. They exemplify what many fathers today are attempting to do, teach their children quality lessons. The only problem is many times fathers today forget the key component, time and energy. The Guinness men had plenty of patience to pass on these traits. I did find the book very difficult to focus on at times. It came across as a history text, more often than not. As a history major I loved the historical lineage and facts about the Guinness clan, but if there is no historical interest in the readers hearth this could be a tough book to make it through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aaron B. Reddin
While this book was highly informative from a historical standpoint, it was largely lacking on the God part. Let me explain:I learned more about beers history, how it was made, and how it shaped culture than I had ever know. I didnt realize just how influential beer has been on the history of man. I had no idea how closely beer and Christianity were tied. I learned about the history of Guinness and the life of its founder, Arthur Guinness. While all of this was mildly intriguing, it got boring about half way through. I guess I expected to learn, AND to grow in reading this book. Unfortunately its all pretty much knowledge. The title lead me to believe that we were going to go after God. That there might be some level of spirituality involved. While the heart of Arthur Guinness is depicted as that of an awesome believer whos faith lead him to bless the lives of everyone else around him, the search for God part was far from personally applicable, in my humble opinion. This book should have had a more relevant title. If youre a history buff, youll love it!! If youre actually searching for God, look elsewhere!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
James Muyco
As someone who works for the leading beer company in the country that has grown to become one of the largest food and beverage corporations in Southeast Asia, reading The Search for God and Guinness by Stephen Mansfield is absolutely one enriching experience.It would be impossible not to draw some similar and contrasting points. Perhaps the similarities are a few of the reasons behind my companys growth over the years but there sure are a lot of other things to glean from the Guinness brand 250 years now since Arthur Guinness bought a property at St. James Gate in Dublin.What really impressed me while reading the book though was how the company genuinely cared for their own employees. Sure, they were passionate in selling beer but they were equally concerned of their workforce as well. Their people enjoyed salaries and benefits that would shame most modern companies today. All these, in a time when labour laws still are non-existent something that would attest to their sincerity. Today, we have companies who are barely hanging by the tread of compliance. Still, others never get to comply at all.As I continued to read, it turns out that there are many more inspirational stories about the Guinnesses after Arthur on how they impacted their own workers but Ireland, their country, as a whole. Reading about them cant help but make me teary-eyed. Matter of fact, as early as the introduction, I was already pushing back the tears. My secret desire now is to get this book on the hands of the powers that be in my company. I dont know how, but Im praying that somehow, it will. As we set our eyes internationally, Im sure there would be a lot to learn from Guinnesss 250-year legacy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
At first glance some customers in the market for a well-written and informative Christian book, may shy away from Stephen Mansfield's newest book "The Search for God and Guinness." Contrary to some first impressions, this book is a wonderful story of how God can and will work through willing vessels to change the world.The Guinness family had a strong positive impact on their country. A devastating problem was overtaking Ireland in the mid-seventeenth century. By founding his brewery in Dublin, Arthur Guinness worked to solve the serious issues facing his hometown. He not only brought a solution to certain health problems but also to a struggling economy.In addition to his brewery, Arthur Guinness also founded the first Sunday School in Ireland. He and his family worked hard in their service to God for many generations and touched the lives of thousands of impoverished and unhealthy families. There are many lessons to be learned through the story of the Guinness family and while their example is applicable to the lives of all, it is especially relevant to those in business leadership.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
James Offhaus
I have recently finished reading In Search for God and Guinness, by Stephen Mansfield. I have to say that this book took me totally by surprise. At first glance I thought it would just be an entertaining read about beer, and more specifically, the history of the Guinness brand name. From the very beginning of the book, describing the ancient history of beer making, through the content listing the impact of the Guinness family upon the world, it was a complete learning experience.I am almost ashamed to say that I had next to no prior knowledge of anything that Mansfield had written in this book. The Guinness name to me was nothing more than a label on a bottle of dark beer. To find out that the company of Guinness was interested in the social quality of providing an alternative to the filthy drinking water of the day, and the over-consumption of hard liquor was a real eye opener. They also were pioneers in the superior treatment of their employees, which stands in stark contrast to the corporate culture of today. In the area of their amazing Christian heritage, I was completely unaware.From start to finish, this book was engaging in its style. I found myself encouraged by the spirit of excellence that carried from Arthur, the founder, on through the successive generations. Mansfield did a superior job in conveying the heart and history of Guinness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christi S
It was a fascinating look on the history of Guinness beer and the Guinness family. I was impressed that one company, one family could do that much good and it shines an even harsher light on the modern companies whose main focus is following the almighty dollar.I didn't know that Arthur Guinness - founder of the company - brought the first Sunday Schools to Ireland, and they were controversial. Rather than a short class after church, they were an all day class and an out reach to the children of the poor slums. I didn't know that one of the Guinness descendants was a revivalist compared to Moody and Spurgeon and then founded a school to teach missionaries how to mission in China.I admit to being a bit bored by the descriptions of how many barrels per year were sold and some of the other business-ey business. But it is a business type book so that is expected. And some of they business-ey stuff was interesting - like the talk of Guinness going into advertising (which it avoided for a long time).All in all, it was a very interesting book. I would recommend it with one caveat - it is not an easy or quick read (though I suppose that depends on your background). I am a history buff and so found the history fascinating but someone who didn't and also is not interested in business would get bogged down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mitch Blackburn
I was immediately captured by the simple, but striking, cover. A pint of Guinness, back-lit by a heavenly glow.It was no coincidence. This book indeed reveals the heavenly glow of the Guinness family.In the prologue, I was drawn in by Mansfield's account of an encounter where he concisely shared the Guinness family story. He went beyond the history into describing how the Guinnesses went beyond brewing beer to serving their employees, and the community with a Christ-like heart. Further, many became ministers, missionaries, and government leaders that made a significant, Godly, positive difference.Mansfield approached the book as a historian, using a variety of sources, garnished by anecdotes that season the history lesson with intimate insight and excitement. He provided an excellent foundation including: beer history, economic and political pressures, and interesting (potentially little known) facts.I did not realize that the 'beer' Guinness and the 'world record' Guinness were the same family!I would recommend this book, to history lovers and beer drinkers alike. While thorough and well developed, it reads like a good history book more than an exciting epic.NOTE: I am a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program: http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robin McCoy
It was the history, the passion of one family and the higher calling they felt God had given to them that captured my mind and heart as I read through this story of love, compassion, ambition, generosity, ingenuity and creativity. It is not only the story of one family; it is also a story of one company that has survived incredible circumstances Now in full time ministry, I wanted to truly know how two apparently different worlds are connected. It is now clear to me how our American culture has created this conflict in me, and in the Christian community. Our American history and much of our early church history included this healthy and pure beverageWhile, the book in some places is choppy and does not seem to flow well, the author takes you back in time when everyone not only drank beer, they brewed it as well. It was not for the sheer pleasure of the drink, but it was also a healthier, safer beverage to consume as the water had the potential to be contaminated or poisoned. Beer was and still is regarded as a gift of God. But, the story is so much more as we walk through the generations of this family owned business, and their deep passion to brew their beer for the glory of God, to give back to their community, their nation and the world. The Guinness family chose to leave a legacy.The Search for God and Guinness is a history book, an inspirational business story and not least, a story of a family that birthed a way of life for the advancement of the Kingdom of God. Henry Grattan Guinness, Arthur Guinness grandson, was one of the great preachers of his age. Souls were converted, churches began bulging. He chose to research and teach students how to address what he believed to be the most insidious lie of his age. I think you will have a greater appreciation for the beverage we call beer, the company called Guinness and the family that truly believed and lived life with the passion to do the will of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dave
Stephen Mansfield invites you to take a look at history through the lens of beer in his book, The Search for God and Guiness. Mansfield masterfully tells the story of the Guiness family's work and impact over the last 250 years. The story begins with entrepreneur Arthur Guiness and his twofold pursuit to not only provide his countrymen with a safe alternative to hard liquor and contaminated water, but to also produce a superior product. To quote Mansfield, "In the minds of most of the people in the world, Guiness is beer and that is all there is to the story. But this is far from true." To prove his point, the author paints a picture of generosity and faith passing from one generation to the next, and as the family business grows, so does the giving.This work conveys the importance of the lost art of handing down a trade through the generations. It also shows how the values of hard work, commitment to excellence, generosity to the poor and innovative thinking all stemmed from a deep faith in God and a sense that a man can fulfill God's calling in any chosen profession. The epilogue was a refreshing call to return to ethically sound business practices which contrasts greatly with the greed that preceded our current economic state. This book would be a great read for anyone looking to practically live out their faith and their calling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Scotty Strickland
What a privilege it's been to read Stephen Mansfield's "The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World". I was especially intrigued by the title and it was immediately a must read for me. The respect that Mansfield gives the history of the Guinness family is quite apparent as he gives account of the lineage from the first Arthur Guinness through each generation, the apparent heirs along the way and how each made their mark in making the brand "Guinness" into what it is today. He tells the story of the God-given talents given to many in the family that resulted in three main categories of Guinnesses, the Brewing Guinnesses, the Banking Guinnesses and the Guinnesses for God. He also provides a very good overview of how beer was accepted and its purpose through the ages in accordance with religious views of the times. I truly loved this book. Having grown up in a small denomination that embraced the Prohibition, my own views of alcohol use has evolved slowly, albeit it has evolved. I loved the time travel through religious views through the ages and how beer and alcohol was part of the culture and easily accepted as a healthy choice and necessary choice, in many cases. The religious overview was very helpful and held my attention. The only problem I had in reading this book was keeping straight which generation accomplished which milestones and accomplishments due to family names being passed down from fathers to sons. But I certainly don't blame Mansfield for my confusion. I highly recommend this book to anyone that is interested in history, business practices and how one person's faith and integrity has built a brand and a family that is still highly revered two hundred fifty years later. If you are like I was, open your mind and consider something that is bigger than your box. You'll be so glad you did. Member of Thomas Nelson ook Review Blogger Program http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bill Colburn
I do not believe that the average Joe would expect a biography about beer to uplift one's spiritual being. Yet a more than ordinary man, Arthur Guinness, was full of surprises - as you will discover in this book.Mansfield takes us, as usual, on a delightful journey. He prepares us with a rather comprehensive, yet intriguing, tutelage on the history of beer. From the Fertile Crescent fields of barley, washing down Roman roads, into the hands of papal beer saints, and all the way north into the mug of Irish reverends - beer has delighted and distracted humanity for millennia, Monasteries, Wittenberg, Institutes, the Awakening, and Cape Cod miracles were not unusual shared drafts between brewers and the faithful. Christians have consistently favored a moderate consumption of malted barley as part and parcel of vibrant faith - as a gift from God. Arthur Guinness took this art to newly appreciated heights, teaching the world how faith in God, good business principles, love for fellow man, and ethical living is always a win-win blessing to community. The Guinness family has been, over several centuries, an incredible example of the good that god-fearing people of wealth can do for the less fortunate. The Guinness family has produced not only excellent leaders in business, but also many influential clergymen, legislators, and servicemen. Their steadfastness to tried and true principles as well as a willingness to do the research necessary to lead in new ventures has enlightened our whole world. Whether you like beer or not, whether you are a teetotaler or not, Mansfield's story of the Guinness family will uplift your soul and offer the reader a set of principles worthy of the attention of all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.