Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books HCSB Minister's Bible, Black Genuine Leather

B&H Books HCSB Minister's Bible, Black Genuine Leather

This newly designed and gift-boxed edition of the HCSB Minister's Bible is ideal for pulpit use with its large type, wide margins, and extensive ancillary notes from many of today's top preachers and church leadership voices.

The perfect presentation item for a variety of special occasions including Pastor Appreciation Month (October).

Features
  • 72-page HCSB concordance
  • Table of Weights and Measures
  • HCSB Bullet Notes
  • Eight 4-color maps
  • Articles & resources for Ministers
    • "8 Traits of Effective Church Leaders" by Thom S. Rainer
    • "21 Essentials of Authentic Ministry" by James T. Draper
    • "Four Kinds of Expositional Preaching" by Ed Stetzer
    • "30 Keys to Giving an Invitation" by O. S. Hawkins
    • "Leading a Child to Christ" by Bill Emeott
    • "Reaching Students with the Gospel" by Lynn H. Pryor
    • "The Importance of Baptism and Communion" by Rick White
    • Where to Turn When . . .
    • Plan of Salvation
    • Various wedding and funeral outlines by Jim Henry
    • Initial grief counseling
    • Funeral preparation
    • Commitment Counseling
    • The Apostles and Their History
    • The Christian Year and Church Calendar
  • Introduction to the HCSB
  • Lifetime guarantee
  • Easy-to-read single-column black-letter text
  • One inch outside margins for taking notes
  • Presentation page
  • Two ribbon markers
  • Genuine leather
  • Two-piece gift box
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for HCSB Minister's Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Review 1 for HCSB Minister's Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the format!

Date:March 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
revmed
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently ordered this bible in order that I might use it in ministry to those in hospitals and shut-ins. I love the HCSB translation and the single column format; making this bible very easy to read and understand. This bible is very well made and appears to be very durable. To my disappointment, this bible has no helps to minister in hospitals and such. I had to order a Christian minister's manual to get these helps. Holman dropped the ball here and should consider adding these helps in future editions. This would save having to carry two books. It would be so much easier to carry just one book instead of two. Other than this, I love this bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB Minister's Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great..as indicated below

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor G Bennett
Location:ny
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my primary bible for preqching and study. Love the space for notes, easy to read, translation is accurate. Mr Terry below stated it best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB Minister's Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I think that this is an excellent edition.

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
cterry
Location:ny
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
just received a review copy of the HCSB Minister’s Bible in the mail. Anyone who reads this blog knows that I really like the HCSB translation. My first impressions of the Bible is that the formatting is the best I have seen. I absolutely love the single column paragraph format. It is also a black-letter Bible, thank you B&H Publishing! The Bible itself has all of the technical textual notations at the bottom of the page. It is not a reference Bible. I have absolutely no problems with this at all. Typically the references do not run parallel to my train of thought.
There are some articles in the back of the Bible that would be helpful for those in ministry. The Bible does include the normal HCSB text Bible features: plan of salvation, concordance, bullet note index, and several tables. I will have much more on this Bible in the future. Everything that I has seen so far is absolutely wonderful.
The Bible is smyth sewn which makes it possible for the Bible to lay flat and will also ensure that the binding lasts longer (kudos to Holman for making the majority of their Bibles with sewn bindings – we appreciate it). The cover itself is genuine cowhide leather, which in my opinion is just as nice as many of the calfskin Bibles on the market.
The font is very easy on the eyes in regard to size. It is a different font character than I have seen in other Bibles. It is different than the font in the original HCSB Minister’s Bible, but it appears to be the same font utilized in the HCSB Study Bible. I like it. It gives it less of a “bubbly” look that the original edition’s font had.
Christians are unique when it comes to Bibles. There is a large segment which does not want to see any variation between Bible translations (font, format, translation theory, etc…) so I don’t know how this will effect potential customers. I like that this is a black letter text. The truth is that there was no such thing in the original letters. A black letter text forces readers to recognize that every single word in the Bible carries equal inspiration and weight.
The text is in a paragraph format with a single column of text. I prefer this layout of the biblical text. It allows you to focus on the text at hand rather than all of the visual noise on the rest of the page. It does feature the textual notes at the bottom of the page which is very a useful feature. The notes provide pertinent information for alternate renderings, Hebrew or Greek textual manuscript information, or literal translations.
This is a wide margin edition. It has ample amount of space on the outside of the text which allows users to record their own studies and thoughts on the biblical text. I have been able to record notes from my own studies in the margins and have had sufficient room to write. I think that this is an excellent feature in a Bible. The Bible paper is better than average. There is some bleed through from the text on the opposite side of a page. The boldness of the font on the facing page actually makes the bleed through less of an issue. The font on the facing page grabs your attention and minimizes the distraction.
There is a pastoral helps section. I am a pastor but do not choose to use the helps. The helps are well done and could be very useful. I choose to use this as more of a study/teaching/preaching Bible, not a minister’s manual (not that there is anything wrong with such a use). There is a full concordance in the back of the Bible.
Since the HCSB is an optimal equivalence translation such a feature is a useful tool. All things considered, I think that this is an excellent edition of the HCSB. I would encourage others, who like the HCSB and want a Bible to record their study notes in, to purchase this Bible. Check out pictures of the Bible on my blog, "Walking in the Way of Christ" (http://crt010304.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/updated-hcsb-ministers-bible-with-2009-text-revision/).
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB Minister's Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Bible.

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
55youthpastor
Location:Farwell, Tx
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bible is just right and has some great helpful detail. I love the fact that it has plenty of room to write notes or thoughts on each page. Would recommend to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB Minister's Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice wide margin, but pages are too

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
north48813
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good quality. Nice wide wartime, but pages too thin to write on. Thin pages will limit longevity of Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB Minister's Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Stuff From Holman

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Isaac Curtis Johnson
Location:Clinton, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A few things I REALLY like about the HCSB Minister's Bible - Black Genuine Cowhide (Leather) Edition:
LEATHER: The box states that it is "Genuine Cowhide" which is very flexible, soft and supple. It practically melts in your hands. If I were to compare this to another, I would compare it to Crossway and Tyndale's calfskin leather. The grain pattern on the Crossway and Tyndale calfskins are more `pronounced' and noticeable than on the HCSB Minister's Bible, however in regards to flexibility and softness, they're in the same league since the interior is leather lined.
BINDING: Smyth-sewn. Enough said. And if this wasn't enough, it is one of the rare Bibles these days that have what is referred to as "overcast stitching" in the front (pages 10/11) as well as in the back (pages 1786/1787). What this essentially means is that this Bible has reinforced durability all over it and will probably last long beyond the time you leave this earth.
FONT: The font is somewhere in the area of 9 and 10, and the text itself is VERY easy on the eyes.
LAYOUT: Single-column PARAGRAPH format (as opposed to VERSE-BY-VERSE format). It has 1 inch margins on the sides for notes and extensive footnotes on the bottom of the page. I thoroughly enjoy this layout, without the clutter of cross references in the gutter OR down the middle of a double-column layout. If you like "text only Bibles" (with just footnotes at the bottom) this layout will suit you perfectly.
PAPER: There is very little bleed-through (aka, "ghosting") and the paper seems to be MUCH better than many Bibles I've laid my eyes on. The times where you can see the other side of the page (barely) are in the poetry sections (Psalms, Proverbs, etc) where it is a verse-by-verse format and the space to the right of the text is more white than normal. But that is quite common in Bibles where the layout is single-column.
RIBBONS: There are two, skinny, 3" long ribbons and they're certainly nothing to write home about. I actually removed the two short original ribbons and added 3 wider and longer 5" inch red ribbons since I like a little better quality ribbons in my Bibles.
MAPS: 8 very colorful maps in the back.
OVERALL: In my humble opinion, this is THE best HCSB on the planet. The quality and craftsmanship of this Holman Bible is TOP NOTCH and dare I say, in the same league as an Allan, Cambridge or Oxford Bible...and yes, I own all three of these superb Bibles.
Be Encouraged:-)
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB Minister's Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Garbage quality - Very, very disappointed

Date:August 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
TheMushcow
Location:Glendale, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User submitted photo
Let me start by saying that I never thought I would ever have any reason to give the Bible a negative review. But, Holman proved me wrong. To sum things up for those short on time, I have just three words... "Made In Korea". If you care to read my elaboration, read on: After discovering the HCSV translation on Biblegateway.com, I couldn't wait to order my own copy. I love everything about this translation. As for this $99 (MSRP) Holman Minister's Bible, I cannot say the same. I paid the extra $30+ to get the "leather" cover version. It says "Cowhide" on the box alright, but I have my doubts. This thing is printed on just about the thinnest paper I've ever seen. So thin, you couldn't take notes on it if you wanted to - which makes the "Wide Margins" feature totally useless for taking notes. A highlighter would easily go through both sides of the page. I have many bibles with "thin" paper, but this one takes the cake for "thinness". And, as this is my primary study Bibly, I'm sure it will see many torn pages (Yay for tape!). It reminds me of tissue paper - no joke. The "Large Print" is, however, a complete joke. Guess I should have listened to the other negative Homan "Large print" reviews ("D'oh!"). Break out the reading glasses for this one. Plus, the cover is so thin and cheaply made, the "leather" is already seperating from the cardboard in areas after less than one week, and one spot was coming unglued right out of the box before I even touched it! Very, very poor quality, and for the price, and I'm blown away that this thing cost more than $20 retail price. I own many Bibles, and this is the lowest quality of any printing in my library - except for one I picked up at the Dollar Store. I feel bad for this review, but honestly, I'm very disappointed. I've bought nicer quality bible's for $25 (not counting my .50 cent thirtstore finds, of course). On the bright side, it has a "Lifetime Guarantee" (which I'm convinced I'll be forced to take advantage of in the near future). Of course with any Bible, it's the content that counts, so... A+ for the Holman translation. As far as quality or value for the money? Try again Holman. And try MUCH harder.
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB Minister's Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Favorite Bible

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Todd
Location:Vancouver, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bible! I teach from it, preach from it and use it for personal study. Everything about it, I like. The HCSV is becoming my favorite english version of the Bible. I like that fact that it put back in texts that have been left out of most newer translations. My only suggetion for future revisions is that Holman put back ALL of the texts that have been removed from KJV by newer translations.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.